We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Rotterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Ani & Haakien
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Ani & Haaiken is a lovely hostel, felt very homely and welcoming. The common room is a great place to relax and chat to other people, the kitchen is modern, and although it was too cold in November to sit outside, the outside area looked great too. Staff were helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was fresh bread, jams, orange juice, coffee etc. I stayed in a double room which is small with a very large and comfortable bed, so was perfect just for me. On the negative side, the room was quite chilly, and was next to the showers and boiler so the sounds from these got noisy at times, although after the first night sleep I got use to it. A friend staying in the dorms here also said her room was a bit chilly as well. However, would still recommend this place as a good budget place to stay in Rotterdam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Ani&Haakien feels more like home than a hostel. The owners are absolutely lovely, they will tell you all of the cool events going on in the city. They advised me about some small shops and told me to stay away from the typical big city shopping area and I was so happy they did, I found some really cool things in the small vintage shops and in the markets. The hostel itself is kept very clean and it has a really cozy feel to it. The rooms are nice and the beds are the most comfortable I have experienced in a hostel. There is a nice common area decorated with things you found find in your grandmothers house giving it a bit of a vintage feel, The kitchen is big and all of the appliances are new, they even have a dishwasher! I love the cozy feel and hanging out with other travelers sharing our stories over a cup of tea or glass of wine. The location is perfect, it's a 2 minute walk from central station in a quiet neighborhood. It is very easy to walk everywhere from the hostel and there is a lot of funky places to see in Rotterdam. There is also a vintage store within the hostel that sells some really cool pieces. This is one of the hostels you plan to only spend a few days and then end up staying for a week or longer! I will recommend this place to everybody :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Beautiful hostel with artistic and domestic atmosphere, a garden with a hammock and free tea of all imaginary tastes.
Breakfast consists of bread with various spreads, cornflakes, milk and coffee.
The two owners are charming and there's plenty information on all the cool events in Rotterdam.
The only serious drawback is the shower, which is literally a torture: it's not possible to regulate neither time of water supply, nor the temperature. For half a minute the water is icily cold, then for half a minute it's burning and then it switches off.
Some secret tips:
there's a box with free pasta, rice and sauces in the kitchen. so basically it's possible to survive without spending money on food.
it's possible to volunteer.

Room Tip: rooms for 14 is way too much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

During our interrailtour me and my buddy Hendrik decided to stay at "Ani&Haakien" in Rotterdam - the one and only hostel we booked before starting our tour. What a good luck we did so!
First you have to say that the owners - Joyce and Daniela (hopefully I spelled it right way) - are both absolutely nice. They are always helpful and you get the impression that it's important for them that you feel welcome at their place. It doesn't seem like checking in in a hostel but as if you were staying in a living community for a few days. There's a big kitchen you are allowed to use (quite important for students without much money, who need to cook sometimes I think), a terrace outside and something like a big living room with chairs and so on, where you can relax after an exhausting day.
The price is also a good argument to spend the nights during your stay in Rotterdam at "Ani&Haakien". In comparison to other hostels you get a clean room, breakfast and great service for only 18 € (six bed room).
I think it's obvious that we both were highly amazed by this hostel and if there was the possibility we would have stayed there one more night on our way back. So... if you plan to visit Rotterdam and you need some place to rest go to "Ani&Haakien".

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yannic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Me and my bud were stuck for a place and chanced on Ani & Haakien. The owner/staff Joyce is absolutely lovely. She helped us out with transport when we messed it up, and gave us a heads up on the best club I've ever been to. Amazing music wafting through the place. Comfy beds. Clean. Beautiful. Thanks! See you again!
Pete

Room Tip: All rooms are nice I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

stayed here for a week and it was a great place the staff are really friendly and helpful and there is a big kitchen to cook in order to save money on eating out. Its really friendly and the beds are comfy too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I really enjoyed to stay in Ani&Haakien for all my 13 days. It has a cozy atmosphere all-around. Daniele and Joyce are doing a great job managing the hostel and you can feel the heart and effort put in this place. Lots of it has been constructed from recycled materials and all I can say is well done! There is a back garden with a hammock to chill in. A room for yoga lessons is also coming in the near future. I am already looking forward to coming back soon and I would recommend it to any traveler.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandras88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
805 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,412 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Ani & Haakien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ani & Haakien

Address: Coolsestraat 47/49, 3014 LC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range: £18 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Hostel Location in Rotterdam! Hostel Ani&Haakien is a backpackers paradise for adventurous travelers who want to discover Rotterdam in a truly unique way. We are a community hostel with nightly dinners and free tours daily! Located just 600m away from Rotterdam Central Station, Ani & Haakien is a short walk from Rotterdam's most popular attractions such as Markthall and the famous Cube Houses! You won't find us on a busy bar street - at Ani&Haakien you'll get a good night's sleep - But no worries, the young and bustling Central District area of Rotterdam with good coffee places, awesome design shops, rooftop bars, jazz and the electronic night life is just a dance away! So, forget about walking around with your heavy backpack... drop it at the hostel, and let us tell you all about the cool stuff to do in Rotterdam. Hostel Ani & Haakien is the perfect hub for day trips! Just 10min to Delft / 40min to Amsterdam / 40min to Utrecht and 20min to The Hague! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Ani & Haakien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing