We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Ani & Haakien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Ani & Haakien
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Brilliant hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at this hostel for 2 nights in July. Very close to the train station and very easy to find - for us being closer to the train station was the most important location as we had massive bags to carry! Would maybe have booked somewhere else to be closer to the centre. The hostel staff were lovely, very helpful and always there to chat. Breakfast was great and there was a lovely outside area to sit out in.
The room was a nice size - the only problem with it however was that it was so hot - in the middle of the day we couldn't sit in there as it was just too hot. Showers were nice and clean!
I would stay at this hostel again in Rotterdam but maybe in a colder month.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelafaye45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
16
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
167 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

our stay was not something special to remember. the place is clean. 10 min away from the central station. the double room is small and located next to the shower which was very load everytime someone used it. regardless which of the 4 showers in the floor. seems like they are connected to the same main pipe which generated loud noise everytime water goes through. we were not able to sleep till late at night when everyone was done with shower
the staff are helpful and nice to us . the place was tiedy and had a very beautiful lobby

Room Tip: do not book any of the room right next to the shower. the automatic shower noise is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koteiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great location (minutes from Centraal and Rotterdam city proper is incredibly walkable), approachable staff, comfy beds + clean bathrooms, and wifi throughout the hostel. Wide selection of breakfast (continental and eggs as well) and generally friendly vibe. Excellent value. Wouldn't hesitate to return if I were ever in Rotterdam (solo or night, they have private rooms too!).

Room Tip: Request a room on the lower floors if you have a lot of luggage, it could be a bit of a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcctrxlstrng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in june with my partner. We had a private double room. The bed was amazingly soft and comfortable. Room was a little small and floor wad noisy when walking around. Toilets and showers were shared but very clean. My only complaint would be the shower, its on a timer and becomes a little annoying having to keep swiping the sensor to get the shower running again and nozzle sprays off in every direction creating quite a mess. All the staff were friendly and really helpful and we even got a free breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Msmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were on our honeymoon to visit the Benelux countries, and actually stayed a night here at Ani & Haakien Hostel, Rotterdam mainly to save on cost as we had budgeted more for stays at other cities.
We were extremely pleased in that, while we were not particularly expecting much from a hostel stay, we had one of the best stays in Europe here. The staff are really friendly and approachable, and gave us many tips on travelling around Rotterdam and the nearby regions.
When they realized that it was our honeymoon, the staff even gave us a little present and surprised us with a nicely decorated room with special bedsheets and candles just to make our night more special.
The location of the Hostel was very easy to find, just a stone's throw away from Central station, and is also rather close to the city centre and tourist attractions by foot.
Their breakfast and fellow guests gave a very 'homey' feel to the hostel as everyone was chatty and relaxed.
While being a hostel, they do not have facilities like a pool or gym, their accessibility to almost anywhere else in Rotterdam helped mitigate that factor.
We highly recommend this hostel for short term stays, even for honeymooners who desire a change from the usual hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jasmine_Poh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I thought i had already reveiwed this place but i can't find it soooo...I LOVED this hostel!! Such a homely feeling with wonderful staff and people. On arrival my partner and I were greeted by a wonderful staff member (Sarah) who happily checked us in and gave us great advice and tips on where to go and what to do. The kitchen and common areas felt like home with comfy chairs and a range of people ready to talk and share travel stories! The bedrooms are what you expect from a hostel and could do with more powerplugs but nothing to really complain about! Bathrooms were good, everything was clean and central areas are only a short walk away. Definitely stay here if you go to Rotterdam!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieroyal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I checked in late and only stayed for one day but spent a lot of time in the hostel before heading out to see Rotterdam. I have stayed in many hostels and I really preferred the relaxed vibe of this hostel to the almost prison-esque vibes of others. It was clean and with a modest/good breakfast which beats others hostels but not all. Good wifi and very clean in general. I liked the staff here as they were friendly and engaging but not too 'in-your-face' as some try to be. When I was worried about finding a place to stay in Antwerp, Belgium the following night they practically guaranteed me a place in their hostel so that I wouldn't be on the streets, they opened the little vintage pop-up store they had at the time because I was talking about my admiration for this style too! I did find it a little cold at night but the beds are so comfortable, staff so friendly and location so perfect that I would not hesitate to stay here again. They are quite new so I expect they will only get even better over time! Female solo traveller, location felt safe.

Room Tip: Big case = request a lower floor to save carrying up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnobleOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Ani & Haakien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ani & Haakien

Property: Hostel Ani & Haakien
Address: Coolsestraat 47/49, 3014 LC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Hostel Location in Rotterdam! Hostel Ani&Haakien is a backpackers paradise for adventurous travelers who want to discover Rotterdam in a truly unique way. We are a community hostel with nightly dinners and free tours daily! Located just 600m away from Rotterdam Central Station, Ani & Haakien is a short walk from Rotterdam's most popular attractions such as Markthall and the famous Cube Houses! You won't find us on a busy bar street - at Ani&Haakien you'll get a good night's sleep - But no worries, the young and bustling Central District area of Rotterdam with good coffee places, awesome design shops, rooftop bars, jazz and the electronic night life is just a dance away! So, forget about walking around with your heavy backpack... drop it at the hostel, and let us tell you all about the cool stuff to do in Rotterdam. Hostel Ani & Haakien is the perfect hub for day trips! Just 10min to Delft / 40min to Amsterdam / 40min to Utrecht and 20min to The Hague! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Ani & Haakien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing