We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming cultural district base with great local knowledge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rene & Mary's B & B
Ranked #2 of 28 Rotterdam B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Welcoming cultural district base with great local knowledge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed with Mary for a very comfortable 4 nights at her homely and bright Bed and Breakfast in the cultured district. If you're looking for a warm welcome, friendly host with great local knowledge, then look no further than this B&B! As people mention, 10-15mins walk from Central Station, a couple of moments from the nearest tram station, with a great range of excellent restaurants, cafes and bars at the end of the road and museums, and port close-by, this makes for the perfect base! The B&B is animal friendly and we met Mary's adorable pet Poodle, Beau but rest assured if you're not a fan of dogs, Mary will check first before introducing you! Mary offered a walking tour which we enthusiastically took-up and really pleased we did. Getting to know an area through a local's eyes was certainly a highlight and made all the more enjoyable while walking Beau! Mary is respectful of your space throughout your stay and while breakfast is served in your room (accommodating own tastes, choices and special requests including homemade delicacies!) she has a policy not to enter the room while you're staying with her, but if you need anything (clean towels, more coffee etc.), just text her and she's happy to oblige.

Room Tip: Double room on first floor has a wonderful garden view and is very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkamh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
leicester, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

A great location within 3 minutes of loads of bars and restuarants. Mary is really helpful and keeps a lovely home. Only two rooms and you have to take your shoes off. A car parking space locked away in her garden behind the house is a bonus.Rotterdam is a surprisingly nice place for a short break, the people are friendly, and all life is all all there. The station is 10 minutes walk and fast trains to the rest of the Netherlands are easily accessible. We drove from Leicester (400 miles) via Eurotunnel on easy driving motorways, and had a great time.

Room Tip: the top floor has a quiet balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Rene & Mary's B & B has been my home away from home for 6 months. While working in Rotterdam and living at the other side of the Netherlands I found a new home to stay. For 3 nights a week this was home. Mary is lovely and makes you feel welcome and secure . The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The B&B is perfect located, in the centre of the town, and was near my work at the museum. If you need a place to stay in Rotterdam I would recommend Rene & Mary's B & B!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marieke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

They have thought of every little detail - so that every bit of the stay is comfortable and inviting. There is a street nearby with a lot of restaurants to choose from and the metro and trams are within 5-minutes walking distance. Very handy.

What's most important to me is that the room is comfortable, modern, and clean, but this room was also quite stylish and gave me a feeling of being at home (even though it wasn't mine!) I will definitely go back next time I'm in Rotterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Rene & Mary's B & B was a fantastic place to stay during my trip to Rotterdam. Mary is so warm and welcoming, you instantly feel at home. The rooms are furnished very nicely with the most warm and comfortable beds. I stayed in the City View room and was completely isolated from the noises of the city, even though there is a plethora of shops and restaurants just right around the corner. Mary is also very knowledgeable about the city of Rotterdam and is great at providing information and suggestions on things to do while there. I cannot recommend this B & B enough!

Room Tip: The bed in the City View room comes with a warm electric blanket to make it extra cozy. Wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolly_Page
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I had a very nice stay at Rene & Mary's B & B. I stayed in the Garden room and it was very quiet! My bed was comfortable and the room was clean and bright. Mary was such a wonderful host as she was very helpful with directions and things to do in Rotterdam. She made me feel right at home. I would definitely recommend it and would certainly return on my next visit to Rotterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliekorhumel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I was the first to arrive and was given a choice of two well-equipped and spacious rooms, both offering a large bathtub - which I promptly enjoyed! Mary has an eye for detail and the room was attractive and clean, with a genuine feeling of home. My bed was very comfortable and I could easily sleep late without being awakened by the morning sunshine, as the black-out curtains did the trick! What else? - I was really impressed by the fresh breakfast. And the location is great - central, close to everything and yet still quiet as the rooms are in the back of the house. Also, Mary is a wealth of information (and enthusiasm) about Rotterdam. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Both rooms are attractively equipped. While the top floor room offers a balcony onto the colorful ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALA51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rene & Mary's B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rene & Mary's B & B

Property: Rene & Mary's B & B
Address: Eendrachtsstraat 17, 3012 XH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Rotterdam
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our brand new B and B is right in the center of Rotterdam's cultural and museum neighborhood, and just a block away from world class shopping in the famous Lijnbaan. We are in view of the best cultural street in the Low Countries: the Witte de Wittstraat, filled with cafes, restaurants, and art galleries. The world famous The Doelen concert hall with the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra is within a stone's throw. We have 2 rooms with private bathroom en suite. We have one extra room for families or friends who want to be together. Our rooms are spacious, elegant and quiet. On the top floor room you have your own balcony overlooking an 85 year old sycamore tree that is protected by the city of Rotterdam. A stay with us includes an optional walking tour of the neighborhood and recommendations for all our favorite local places. Come for a few days. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing