We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, nice, different, great views”
Review of nhow Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
nhow Rotterdam
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 July 2014

With my usual rider that someone else was paying, this was an excellent choice of mine corporate hosts.

Location seems odd but then you get to the room (21st floor in my case) and get a 180-degree view of Rotterdam harbour and the Erasmus bridge, as other reviewers have noted. Stunning.

The room is uber-styled but (most) of this style and cutting edge design is not at the expense of practicality. Unlike Lisbon's odd Evidencia Belverde Atitude, reviewed recently, the bedside tables actually reach to the bed and the AC outlets are close enough to keep your phone/alarm plugged in all night. Lighting is good, too, wifi works in all areas, a/c actually responds to the wall 'stat and, bonus, there's an unusual opening vent to let outside air in though, if you open the hall door at the same time, the gale force draught is amazing... And be warned, trams heading on to the bridge make a right row (clang, bang, roar) in the middle of the night! This is minimised with that vent shut, though.

I'm not sure if every couple staying here will appreciate the 100% see-thru bathroom and it's either have the outer glass door shut - to minimise the draught round nether regions while showering - and the loo open, or vice-versa, which is odd and, post morning constitutional, annoying unless they start supplying air freshener to complement the extractor vents. Some form of bathroom heat would be nice, or at least a heated towel rail - there was nowhere to hang towels handy when showering or to allow them to dry afterwards. A nice selection of amenities was included, along with a 'pod' coffee maker, safe (as usual, too small for my huge laptop) and minibar.

Architecture in places like floor lift lobbies was minimalist (lots of bare, polished concrete) but imaginative (seats on top of heating radiators).

Staff ran a cocktail event and set-menu dinner with professional aplomb.

'Town' is, apparently, a 10-minute walk. Parking is available but, if driving here, research the entry point on Streetview before you arrive as the entrance is not obvious and you can't drive in to the front door.

Even on my own dime, I'd stay again. With pleasure.

Room Tip: View versus noisy bridge trams is worth it. Shut the vent if it bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredmarkone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I spent a night at this great hotel and was most impressed. A fantastic design by Rem Koolhaas with floor to ceiling windows, beautiful hardwood floors and a pristine, modern vibe, the Nhow is already a favourite. The view I had from the 18th floor over the Erasmus bridge was exquisite. Top marks all around and Ed the bartender on the 7th floor bar is a master of his trade.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank JA1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is brand new. It's located in a beautiful building (designer Rem Koolhaas) at the river the Maas. The city center is a 10 minute walk.

The signage of the building is not very obvious. So it is a little bit difficult to find.

The rooms are contemporary and beautiful. The sleeping quality is excellent.

The terrace has a view on the city and the river. Great spot to have breakfast or drinks.

In small things you notice that the hotel is still starting up. The elevators do not respond well to the room keys. The reception staff is very kind and helpful, although not very knowledgeable. The spoons provided at breakfast don’t fit in the yoghurt containers. Getting your eggs takes a long while. The intercom of the parking meter is not functioning etc.

Give it some time and then this is a great hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Without this sounding like a list I want to simply point out hopefully to management what changes or improvements I think the hotel could use to their own benefit. The Mirror/TV is great but only if you want to watch it at night as is not possible during daylight. The remote with mouse pointer is ridiculous and a normal simple remote would be better. There are insufficient towel hooks in the bathroom. The shower floods the entire bathroom. I love the glass cube type bathroom set up though. the pillows for the bed are poor but having stayed in five different hotels in The Netherlands in the past 4 weeks it appears to be the norm everywhere. The sheets and duvet mind you were terrific. Your toiletries in the bathroom are magnificent. The shower head in our shower did not work and simply dribbled out. Rubbish. The safe was not attached to the wall or anything for that matter. Good mini fridge selection as well as tea and coffee thank you although the beer expired this June. No wifi in the hotel except something called swisscom which did not work anywhere. All in all a very comfortable room if you don't mind showering in front of your partner and don't need TV. Great views from the 21st floor where we were and very good curtains to block out the light.
Now to Breakfast. What a fantastic display of good good good variety and choice. Well done. We loved our breakfasts on all three mornings and rate it as the very best buffet breakfast we have had in Holland and probably ever.The bar area on the 7th floor and having the opportunity to go outside and take in the view is wonderful of course.Finally the staff were all particularly pleasant and happy and helpful. I would recommend the hotel and will certainly go back and honestly the bathroom issues didn't bother me but they certainly will some and especially elderly individuals would find the bathroom dangerous after a shower I think.

Room Tip: Two sides to choose from. Sunrise you get the morning sun but a limited view looking away from the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have stayed a weekend at NHow Rotterdam! What a nice hotel! Perfect rooms, clean, modern, trendy and with a lot of facilities, as free wifi, nespresso machine etc! The late breakfast we had on Sunday (till 12.00 o'clock) was great, a lof choices! The service in the hotel was so good, everybody was friendly, always a great help when we had some questions about where to go and what to do! I really advice everybody who is going to Rotterdam, to stay at the Nhow Rotterdam!

Room Tip: Perfect location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titine70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Nhow is extremely modern in design, very minimal but where do you put your clothes and suit cases? Only about 50cm hanging space in wardrobe and you have to leave your suitcase on the floor. No mirror in a practical place. The shower floods the rest of the bathroom. We also encountered problems with electrical sockets coming off the wall, the TV not working and numerous trips to the reception to get room key re activated having been stuck in lift and unable to access room. House keeping removed the soap but did not replace it, coffee & water not replenished. However, the staff are friendly & accommodating, hotel needs a womans touch. Would consider staying here again if the problems we encountered are rectified

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Melcar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Mr Rick van Schijndel was so kind as to show us a couple of rooms. Those at the back also have a pleasant view, but having the Erasmusbridge at your feet is something of a thrill. Sleeping in a Koolhaas building somehow feels quite grande…So don't hesitate !

Room Tip: ask for 'Maas view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loutje1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,275 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 53 in Rotterdam
452 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nhow Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nhow Rotterdam

Address: Wilhelminakade 137, 3072 AP Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £87 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — nhow Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Wilhelmina Pier and close to the center of Rotterdam, the nhow Rotterdam hotel is an ideal destination for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your nhow Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing