We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel”
Review of citizenM Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Rotterdam
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a test night, from 7 tot 8 December.

The hotel was easy to find, about a fifteen to twenty minute walk from Rotterdam Central Station, through the center of Rotterdam. When approaching from the square near Blaak, the building is somewhat hidden behind an office builing, but there's a huge poster in the trademark quirky CitizenM style to guide the way.

Checkin was a breeze, the self-service kiosks are fast and efficient. Since all rooms are the same, you only get a choice of view. ("pick harbourview, it's much better!" the Ambassador attending the kiosk whispered to me). We loaded the roomkey on one of the luggage tags, and were given a quick tour of the lobby and two free drink coupons by a very friendly Ambassador.

Upon entering the room, we were somewhat surprised about the different design from the CitizenM at Schiphol airport, where we had stayed twice before. Instead of the clear glass shower 'tube' and the frosted glass toilet one, both the shower and toilet were hidden inside a small frosted glass enclosed area. Though I liked the clear glass shower in the original design, this design does offer some more privacy, especially on the toilet.

Most of the room space is taken up by the huge bed (2m x 2m I think), which was supremely comfortable. It was very tempting to spend all night in this bed watching the free movies, and we decided to hurry up with dinner and the free drinks, and do just that. We were somewhat dissappointed when we hurried back to the room to watch Despicable Me 2, and found out it didn't work (we got an error message). We watched the Five Year Engagement instead, which wasn't that funny. That really was our only complaint during the entire stay though.

Everything in the room is controlled through a Samsung tablet, which controls everything from lights and the alarm clock to the shades and TV. It worked very well and felt very high tech. We slept like babies on the huge bed, and awoke perfectly refreshed. The bathroom was very good as well, with nice-smelling toiletries and a good rainshower.

The downstairs lobby area deserves special mention: it is a very inviting space for sitting, lounging, eating, drinking and working (and all of these appeared to be happening at the same time). We had a nice cocktail on Saturday night (good cocktails with all premium spirits!), and spent a few hours working on Sunday afternoon. The lobby was so comfortable that we didn't even mind working on a Sunday. Breakfast was served at the bar as well, and was very good and fresh. I especially enjoyed the freshly prepared coffee, so much better than machine coffee. The staff also deserves mention: young, enthusiastic and friendly, but professional and hard-working.

Overall, I loved this place and would certainly stay here again. Every major city should have a CitizenM, and I'm glad to see that they are slowly opening more and more.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. Harbourview has a more 'open' view than courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83Bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    404
    54
    14
    11
See reviews for
117
665
105
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

It¨s such an amazing hotel where everything fits. Is it the awesome mood pad in the room where you can even change to colour of your lights to get into the right mood for party, business, relaxing or whatever, or the great and enormously huge beds.. everything is fantastic. Very easy going, the staff is extremely friendly and if you feel like getting a gin and tonic at 4 o clock in the morning.. well the bar is open 24/7 :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I had the opportunity to be testsleeper for this amazing new hotel, that have opend in Rotterdam.
The Hotel was true luxury and the rooms was small but designed so well that you had just the space you needed. - amazing chreative atmosphere, where you feel home.
Luxury for a fair price. - amazing.
The service was very nice.

Room Tip: every room are amazing. - but if you want the nice view you should take the view to the harper! By...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Høy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

It was our first stay in a citizenM hotel, and we'll definitely return!
citizenM is a great, luxurious, stylish and modern hotel. The staff is very friendly, helpful and enthusiastic, and seems really sincere. The rooms are clean, the beds are amazing, and the whole concept with lighting, music, and rainshower makes it a whole experience and enables you to totally relax. I don't know how to put it, but this definitely has been the best hotel I've ever been to when you're looking for a luxurious stay at good prices!

Room Tip: All rooms are identical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Excellent! I just love this hotel: personnel, interior, food, savvy technology... Makes me want to live there. As they just opened there are stil lsome constructions they are working on but soon that will be no problem. CitizenM is by far my favo hotel chain and CitizenM Rotterdam is no exception. It's really like being at home with that cozy feeling. For budget travelers looking for luxury!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerB1691RH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I love this Design hotel in Rotterdam! It's at a good location, and has nice design furniture.
The service is perfect, 24/7 Canteen, very nice living room / lounge, where you feel at home immediately and very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrisC-MoreInterior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I was one of the lucky ones to be invited to test the hotel at no cost. As a former citizen of Rotterdam and now living 10 minutes from the city I know where the nice places are. The location at the Old Harbor and near the first skyscraper of The Netherlands is a popular place for dining and fun. Also in front of the door Station Blaak is located, with trains, tram and metro access. Getting closer to public transport is barely possible. Within one minute you are on the big market square, which is packed on Saturday. The market square also is the entry of the shopping area, starting at the Hoogstraat.

The hotel has its own style. Though quite modern and tech-savvy, it does have a cosy atmosphere. You will notice the Dutch are great lightning specialists. Wherever you are in this hotel, the lightning has been optimized to obtain the right atmosphere. You will forgive that the hotel itself is just a cubical structure. The room is equipped with mood lightning, a rain shower, a flatscreen with access to a great collection of recent movies (free) and a tablet through which you will control everything. Not to forget to mention is that hi-speed WiFi is available for free without having to log on each time you need to connect.

If this hotel fits your budget, I would recommend to stay here.

Room Tip: Take a harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiederikHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,197 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
762 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,323 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Rotterdam

Property: citizenM Rotterdam
Address: Gelderseplein 50, 3011 WZ Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Rotterdam's historic yet hip Oude Haven with lovely views of the port, citizenM offers 151 rooms of affordable luxury. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, a chic Vitra living room style lobby with free iMac access for your convenience, a MENDO library collection for your reading pleasure, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, hi-tech tablet MoodPad in every room with free movies, wall-to-wall window for peeping the view, high pressure rainfall shower and bespoke amenities, and of course the ever popular XL king-size bed with luxurious linens to sink into. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing