We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool rooms, great location, tasty cocktails”
Review of citizenM Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Rotterdam
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were on holiday in Amsterdam and decided to come to Rotterdam for a night away. We got off the train at Rotterdam Blaak and 2 minutes after exiting the station we were at the hotel. We were given a nice room with a harbour view. Everything is controlled by a tablet which is really cool especially changing the mood lights in the shower when someone is using it. :)

Whole place very nice especially the bar/lounge area who serve very tasty cocktails. Bar staff really friendly too and gave some recommendations of what we could do in Rotterdam and of cocktails to try.

Room Tip: Harbour view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

This Citizen M doesn't have the adorable wacky glass cylinder bathrooms the one in Amsterdam Zuid does, but . . . GREAT location, friendly staff, and the overall outstanding Citizen M community experience. Love this place. Super fast internet, great comfortable "living room," and rooms that are quiet and delightful comfortable to sleep in. If you haven't stayed at a Citizen M before, do it--it's not ideal for families because the rooms are TINY but the community environment downstairs is unique. The warmth and friendliness of the world's best youth hostels scaled to an adult comfort level. :)

Room Tip: They only have huge king beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ResultsWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A super hotel with everything a business or leisure traveller could want. Immaculately clean, super facilities and great location.

The visit was slightly sullied by a follow-up mail saying I was being charged for taking a stuffed animal called Marvin from the room and hadn't paid a part of my bar bill. I wasn't impressed and told them so. It turned out that there was some internal mix up and I was offered 25% discount and free breakfast on my next visit - and an apology.

So - any business can mess up but it's how you deal with it . . . and they did so very well.



Howard Bellaby


Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Howard-Bellaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the citizenM in Rotterdam. Really nice hotel- very modern, staff are very friendly and all, of course, speak fantastic English. Room is space age modern- bed is massive and super comfy, rainfall shower is very good- loved the shower gels, which come in massive bottles with pumps- esp the 'AM' one. Mood lighting, free movies on demand, all very clean and new. Only bad thing was the 'heating' was a bit cold for my liking (I am a lizard)- room controls are via a tablet and even though I turned the heating right up it still wasn't getting any warmer. Breakfast is tasty. The hotel is located opp Blaak station- was in Rotterdam for a meeting at Centraal- very easy to get there via the tram (you can buy tickets on board, 3 Euro for 1 h travel). Highly recommend- I will def look for more citizenM hotels when I am travelling, looking forward to the opening of the New York one :)

Room Tip: I had the harbour view & it was nice (and also quiet)- the 'courtyard' view (from what I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaClaireBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Wonderfully modern and nice public areas and very friendly staff to help with the 'self' check in.

Vibrant bar and seating areas, iMacs free for all to use, incredibly quick free wifi and more films than conceivable to choose from.

Tablet controlled room features and clean stylish rooms. Not the largest available perhaps but that really didn't matter.

Would I stay here again on my next visit to Rotterdam? No question at all, and at <€60/night it really can't be beaten.

Well done all round to all concerned.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Cocoda-Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Nice and trendy rooms. Good location near the 'Cube houses' and next to the 'Oude Haven' (old harbour). You can easily walk to all shops in the city centre of Rotterdam. Easy self service check-in. Rooms are small but all required facilities are in it. Room control are in a tablet. Breakfast is simple. Good movies are available in the room for free.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OV83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked this hotel after checking out the reviews on here, and it was not a disappointment. Immediately on entering the hotel the staff were just amazing, really friendly helpful type, and that is alway welcoming! Now the room is something out of the back to the future part 2(which probably isn't to futuristic anymore) but automatic blinds and windows, coloured themed lights and mood, all entertainment, being control by a tablet mounted by the bed - mind blowing experience! Loved the theme of the hotel, loved all the beautiful decor, and a bunch of iMacs downstairs, all free to use! Also did I mentioned the internet speed in the entire hotel connected to my phone was approx. 40mb/sec 15ms ping (those not tech savy, FRICKING FAST!!!!!!) which is pretty nice. The room had a great entertainment centre, with an enormous bed!! I went there with a group of friends, who also were completely blown away by this place, added on with the price of the room!!! this place is one of the best hotel nights sleep i've ever had!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,274 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,659 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 53 in Rotterdam
452 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Rotterdam

Address: Gelderseplein 50, 3011 WZ Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £68 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Rotterdam's historic yet hip Oude Haven with lovely views of the port, citizenM offers 151 rooms of affordable luxury. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, a chic Vitra living room style lobby with free iMac access for your convenience, a MENDO library collection for your reading pleasure, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, hi-tech tablet MoodPad in every room with free movies, wall-to-wall window for peeping the view, high pressure rainfall shower and bespoke amenities, and of course the ever popular XL king-size bed with luxurious linens to sink into. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing