We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”
Review of citizenM Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Rotterdam
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Excellent boutique hotel in Rotterdam. Our room was not very large but it was perfectly furnished with a huge kingsize bed right next to a large window which offered a great view.
The room came with a variety of technical features such as an ambient light system and free movies to watch controlled by a tablet computer.
It was very clean, the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious.
We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobi_Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    404
    54
    14
    11
See reviews for
117
664
105
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The service was exceptional, check in was do-it-yourself (with assistance available) which made it quick. They only take debit card or credit card (with a fee for credit) but if you pre-pay online you can avoid the fee.

The rooms are super small but very functional, funky and have a great layout. There's a tablet which allows you to control everything in the room from one place as well as surf the Web and watch the free movies.

The beds are comfortable, the pillows are fluffy and the shower is great. The soaps smell good as well. No fridge/minibar in the room but the bar is open 24 hours. The walls are a little thin but not enough to really bother us.

Overall, the experience was great and I would definitely stay in another one of these hotels again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mentallini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent value for money, good location, good priced and quality food (certainly for a hotel) good customer service, relaxed atmosphere. The small rooms although well designed are a little claustrophobic. We stayed for only one night so might have felt a little cramped. The lobbies and bar as are very nice for relaxing in though. Well recommended. We open the electric blinds and it was a bit dusty behind.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olgiati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

On their website Citizen M does not indicate that the rooms are not conducive to the over 60 age group. Could not unpack our suitcases as there wasn't any bureau. We are on the go, but we like to put our things away. Staff was unfriendly. It is not handicapped accessible. Had to crawl into bed and it was quite challenging to use the bathroom during the night when I had to crawl over my husband and almost fell out of bed. Also not conducive for families. Only one chair in room and there were two of us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leona1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The room itself was fine. However, looking at the bed and the 1 chair in the room, we quickly realized that the room my father was in would not work for him. He has a hard time walking and the chair was not stable enough for him to use. My father didn't want to leave for the first night since would be charged for it regardless. We went to the desk to ask about the remainder of our stay, which was paid for, since we were required to pay at check-in before seeing the room. The woman at the desk basically told us too bad and that the rooms look exactly like they do on the website. She was extremely rude and pretty much turned me off the hotel then and there. I will say I went back up to my room to pull up the website and the room pictures and guess what - there were none. I just received an error message saying the page I was looking for couldn't be found. Someone else was able to send me a picture and there is nothing that would indicate how high the beds were. My father plans to sleep in the chair since he can't get onto the bed and we plann to check out and into another hotel. I'll see if there's anything I can do with my credit card company for the cost of the hotel. While I would have stayed here in the future; based on the staff treatment, I definitely won't.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ack624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The guest experience in this recently opened and well located hotel is really well designed, everything from the self check in with nearby young caually dressed staff to help to the funky furniture and decor in the public areas,i macs in tthe business area and the 24 hour cafe/canteen and witty commentary on walls and lifts. The room have an array of socket types for travellers from all corners, tablet controls, really comfortable bed, choice of mood lighting in the room and showers, good tV and film choices and really excellent wifi. The rooms are not big which could be an issues for couple or families but for a solo or buiness traveller ideal. I had brekfast there each morning and though the choice was not huge the food and barista coffee was delicious. I am looking forward to trying out this hotel chain in their other locations

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeve Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Like practically everybody else here my review of this citizenM hotel and the concept is very positive.
Great location: in easy walking distance to the heart of the city: the Plein 1940 square, the Maritime Museum, the pedestrian zone around Beurs Plein. Immediate neighbour to the Blaak train station (trains to Amsterdam central and to the airport!) and the Cube Houses which almost 40 years after their construction still can surprise the visitor.
Small but well- functioning room, lovely common space.
Attentive staff.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,196 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
762 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,323 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Rotterdam

Property: citizenM Rotterdam
Address: Gelderseplein 50, 3011 WZ Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Rotterdam's historic yet hip Oude Haven with lovely views of the port, citizenM offers 151 rooms of affordable luxury. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, a chic Vitra living room style lobby with free iMac access for your convenience, a MENDO library collection for your reading pleasure, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, hi-tech tablet MoodPad in every room with free movies, wall-to-wall window for peeping the view, high pressure rainfall shower and bespoke amenities, and of course the ever popular XL king-size bed with luxurious linens to sink into. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing