We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not functional at all.”
Review of citizenM Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM Rotterdam
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Not functional and too small rooms (only 16sqm) Wc is in the shower-box. Cold water have very low pressure. Self service oriented. No very 24h restaurant but only microwave food. Breakfast is very busy. Parking not in-site.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JohnAdvenures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

852 - 858 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

It's just unbelievable!
Great location near the metro, a small harbour, cafés and some of the main attractions in Roterdam. Walkable distance to many other great locations.
Self check-in/out: easy, quick and you get to choose the view.
Service: as friendly staff as can be, with a smile...
Design: as cool as Roterdam, modern decor, cosy, very good taste and sometimes futuristic.
Room: cosey, cool and hi-tech, with a pad to control just about everything. Awesome shower, but the extra large bed that goes wall to wall by the window, with a view, just blew me away...
Price: never stayed in such a cool place that was so cheap... Oh, and free wi-fi...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pabreu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel has a very charming interior design, charming staff and is located practically next to the Blaak railway station. In the immediate vicinity you will find shopping streets and an open market.
CitizenM has no in-house restaurant facilities, but a short walk away you will find both bars and restaurants.
Rooms are nice and clean, but I would have traded some of the king-size bed area for a little more floor space!
The drawer under the bed will take week-end baggage for two, but not anything slightly larger!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaute W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A true feast to come and stay here.
Close to the shopping street, great restaurants nearby, really a great location to visit Rotterdam.
Good service, nice people, next to train & metro station. Nice atmosphere, easy check in quite enviroment, great bed, ...
We had a wonderful time here.
We will surely come back to stay here once more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the white house... you will like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom_Hadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My mom and I had planned a trip to the Netherlands for a week, and quite honestly I was looking forward more to Amsterdam then Rotterdam + other cities. However, we decided to spend three nights in Rotterdam first. I chose Citizen M, quite honestly, based on the location. For any runners out there, it's incredibly close to the water and you can get a fairly long run (at least 8 miles) in. The room was very pleasant, the bed huge, surprisingly while the room was small, I didn't feel as cramped in as I expected.
My mom's one complaint about the room (regarding the touchpad), is that it doesn't seem to serve as a clock, which is a little annoying when you're trying to figure out what time it during the night (but that's a small problem). Also, we could never figure out how to fully turn off the alarm. .
The location was excellent, I truly wasn't sure where it would be in comparison to other attractions (besides close to the water). However it's incredibly close to the cube houses that Rotterdam is well known for, as well as the Willemsburg bridge. The little inlet area the hotel is in, is close to at least four or five restaurants. The hotel is also across the street from the second largest train station, which was convenient, as if (like us), you want to go to Delft or The Hague for the day, you don't have to stop at Central Station first.
All in all, I recommend this hotel, however if you are a family (or more then two people), it might not be the best option just because of the room size.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank briaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed just the one night, but wished it could have been more.
The hotel is brilliantly eclectic, great artwork, and super streamlined from check in, to breakfast to check out, it's all so seamless.
The rooms are a comfortable size and due to clever design and layout absolutely perfect.
The king size bed, free wi fi and movies, make this the best hotel hotel to stay in.
Location is awesome, and all the sights are within walking distance.
And the price? Incredible value.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maurieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

CitizenM has been my home for the last 3 weeks, and I enjoyed every minute of it! Great location, extremely attentive staff, comfortable rooms, tasty food, beautiful and creative interior - everything seems to be carefully thought through down to the smallest detail. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rotterdam, short or long stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,353 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,739 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 55 in Rotterdam
464 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 55 in Rotterdam
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Rotterdam

Address: Gelderseplein 50, 3011 WZ Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £66 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Rotterdam's historic yet hip Oude Haven with lovely views of the port, citizenM offers 151 rooms of affordable luxury. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, a chic Vitra living room style lobby with free iMac access for your convenience, a MENDO library collection for your reading pleasure, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, hi-tech tablet MoodPad in every room with free movies, wall-to-wall window for peeping the view, high pressure rainfall shower and bespoke amenities, and of course the ever popular XL king-size bed with luxurious linens to sink into. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing