We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Especially for Proximity to Ahoy Stadium”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good, Especially for Proximity to Ahoy Stadium”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Chose this hotel because we were going to the North Sea Jazz Fest and it is only one metro stop away from Ahoy Stadium. This is an interestingly funky/quirky hotel decorated with eclectic and antique furniture. I liked that when we checked in, just about noon, they offered a shot-glass sized welcome drink of rose wine -- nice touch. The rooms are also quirky and may not satisfy some people's need for same old, same old but I found the amenties (small kitchen), decoration, small couch, and comfortable beds very serviceable. The negatives were only that the hotel claimed free Wifi that never worked (I heard another guest complaining that it didn't work for his entire 4 night stay) and there is no air conditioning so if you need your windows open, it may be noisy--our room was at the same level as the metro line (it is not underground at this spot). I'd try for a higher-level room next time, but I'd definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Try for a room that doesn't face the metro line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alternatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    160
    137
    61
    71
See reviews for
69
167
33
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We spent 4 days there while attending the North Sea Jazz Festival. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The property is very convenient for accessing the transit systen as a metro station is only 50 meters away and is one stop from the Ahoy center. We shall stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddyinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

One redeeming feature, the staff were delightful, friendly & helpful. Sorry, but the compliments are now over........

I was shocked when I entered my room to smell urine; see dirty mirrors; stained, dirty, damaged furniture; appalling decor - everything mis-matched and totally tasteless.

My complaint was dealt with promptly in a professional, friendly manner and without argument. I was allocated another room immediately but unfortunately, the same problems were there too.

My business colleagues held a similar opinion, but the 2 night stay had already been paid for by our employers, so there was little to do unless we paid again to move to another hotel.

The staff asked if I did not like the 'boutique/art/antique' theme of the hotel - I responded that not only was the place dirty, it was full of badly worn 'junk' that should have been taken to the garbage depot rather than use it for a tacky, bizzare, dismal hotel.

The hotel is located in an urban, slightly run-down area with few amenities and quite a lengthy walk from the central attractions/stores. Accross the road is a large 'Quaker' foods processing factory that is busy throughout the night. I was awake from 1am with the noise of a grinding/cutting tool.

The entrance area is littered with grubby, worn-out, gaudy, ornate, gold coloured chairs. The lobby/reception is dismal & badly lit with restricted space for the staff to have contact with the guests.

The room numbers are hand-painted on the walls, in the style of a 4 year-old. Another room number sign is placed to the side of the door & can barely be read because of the abstract design.

The bathroom door obstructs the main entrance door. The lighting is poor. There is a bare electric socket for the haidryer right next to the handbasin. The bath/shower is slippy with no mat to prevent this. There is a shelf right next to the bath - guaranteed to injure you arms when you climb in or out of the bath. The toilet design is very strange and needs to be cleaned with the brush after use.

The beds were comfortable and clean - but the cover had a cigarette burn hole. The small-screen TV was so far away, it was not easy to see or hear.

There are no 'extras' such as complimentary toiletries or drinking water.

We had a good business trip - but spent most of the time away from this 'Worst Western' hotel !

Room Tip: Look at other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The hotel looks good and unique, the service is very good, and the room I had was large and nice decorated, but... I came late May 2012, and it was 30c outside, and the hotel has no air condition... So, they promised me a room with 2 windows that you can widely open. I entered the room, opened the windows and 20 meters under me, found railway line with a close railway station...
So, in hot days - take it into account. And, always ask for a room on the side that is far for this train line.

Room Tip: always ask for a room on the side that is far for this train line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boazsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

A good surprise. For 118 €, I spent a night at the Art Hotel, ideal if you have an event at the Ahoy sports & events center (walking distance). The hotel is surprising : dimensions are unusually large for a BW hotel, and it looks a bit like an art gallery. Very good space in the room, even an ensuite kitchenette. Separate shower in the bathroom, XXL bed (I'm tall, this bed was not only very large, but also had a very good mattress. Nice breakfast area, huge tables, fast coffee. A couple of negatives : TV not working, trains next door but good insulation, and they do charge for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Refreshing type of hotel, and you get more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jprbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I wanted to like this hotel; I really did, however, in my opinion, this was not the place to stay. The room rate of $89 Euros was okay (I stayed for one night), and the room itself was very large and clean for single. Twin sized bed which was odd for a room that size. My room, #1002, had a view of the harbor, which was nice. There was also a kitchen type area with a sink, fridge, microwave, dishes, etc. The subway is located right outside the hotel and is one train stop and 1/2km away from the Ahoy Arena, which was the reason I chose to stay at this location.

In my opinion, the hotel caters to a long term transient population, and indeed, I came in contact with a few long term residents in the elevator. Frankly, there were a couple of times where I felt uncomfortable, however, all was well. The neighborhood where the hotel is located is sketchy, at best, with a pornography store situated across the street. There are also no restaurants that I noticed in the immediate area. There was one sandwich type shop located across the street, approximately six or seven stores away from the porn shop, and their food was absolutely dreadful. I had a sandwich which was thrown out two bites after attempting to eat it. I found I was much better off eating at the food court attached to the Ahoy.

The artsy decor in the lobby area of the hotel also did not work for me, as it made whole place look as though it was furnished with flea market and garage sale finds. Honestly, and again, this is my opinion, it gave the whole place a really old and shabby, kind of sleazy and unclean feeling.

Staff was friendly; however, I was surprised when they didn’t have change for a 20Euro bill. I mean really, this was hotel and they had no change?

The next morning, I had to leave very early for my train to Shiphol airport in Amsterdam. I could have very easily have taken the subway outside the hotel to Centraal Station, then caught the train to Schiphol, but due to the sketchiness of the neighborhood, and the time I had to leave, you can bet I took a taxi.

If I ever have to stay again in Rotterdam, I will spend the extra money and stay somewhere other than the Best Western Art Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsCleo2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Last minute business trip and the Art Hotel was all I could get. First impressions, when looking at the building from the outside, were not 4 star!
Checking in though, the staff were superb. The helpful and friendly junior manager helped me to the elevator with my baggage and showed me to my room. Decor wise, this hotel is an eclectic mix of old and new, with no 2 pieces of furniture the same. Even the bedside units were markedly different. Everything was spotless though, the bed was very comfortable and all appliances worked perfectly.
Breakfast was fine, with good coffee and a cold/hot selection. I particularly enjoyed the bread and croissants which were obviously fresh.
As mentioned, the staff were exceedingly helpful and provided me with maps and advice on the locality - always asking if there was anything else they could do for me, is the room OK...etc
I didn't eat dinner in the hotel, but the restaurant seemed busy enough in the evening.
As a lone guest, my only niggle would be that the hotel is slightly the wrong side of town for easy walking access to dining or bars, however, it's fair to say that this wouldn't put me off returning to the Hotel Arts.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
727 reviews
Hotel Rotterdam
#27 of 52 in Rotterdam
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,471 reviews
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Zuid
#37 of 52 in Rotterdam
153 reviews
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#10 of 52 in Rotterdam
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Rotterdam

Property: Art Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Mijnsherenlaan 9, 3081 GA Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Art Hotel Rotterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Art Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotterdam Best Western
Best Western Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing