We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #41 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Spent 2 nights there recently, hotel booked as result of search on price......well worth a stay for decorations, friendly staff and location for visit to city. Every room, corridor and reception are an experience.......don't be put off by any comments about the area!

Room Tip: Any will do! So much space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strudle54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

This hotel is about 4 stops from the centre of the city on the metro. The metro is easy to use and the trains travel back from the city centre until about 12.20 am. The hotel is clean and the staff are nice. Our twin room was spacious. There was even a kitchen area where you can prepare basic foods like sandwiches. There Was a microwave and fridge. We made breakfast in our room.

I would definitely stay ther again.

Opposite the hotel is a row of shops and a pub. The pub doesn't look immediately inviting. It is a local pub but the owners are very friendly. When you get off the metro late at night it is a decent option if you fancy a pint. There is also a coffee shop a few doors down if you prefer a different type of "poison".

Room Tip: The higher up the building the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gisUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This is a hotel for true art lovers. I was coming from Amsterdam, and checked into it on the morning of 7th March 2013.
The first thing when you reach near the hotel is to notice the lack of it's sign board. No where on the building there was the name of Best Western written. It was only because of the cab driver' who knew the place, so I could recognize the hotel.
But as soon as you enter, you are in to a different world. Not the usual hotel lounge. It was colorful and full of arty Knicks knacks. Checkin was very quick, took only one minute and I was on my way up the glass elevators to my fourth floor room. On the floor also, there were lots of art objects placed strategically .
The room was good with a small kitchenette with microwave and utensils.
Though they have provided me with free Internet coupons, but the wi-fi signal did not reach upto my room. TV remote was also not working.
Besides these small inconveniences, overall I liked the experience. The best part was, it was right opposite Mashaven tram/metro station' very convenient to reach city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NishithC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I recently stayed at the Best Western Art Hotel while attending the ABN AMRO tennis tournament at the nearby Ahoy. This was intended to be a fun weekend trip from our home in Amsterdam. Unfortunately, this hotel disappointed on several levels. While our room was quite large, all of the furniture and carpeting was quite old and shabby. However, the bed was newer and comfortable. Most disappointing was the breakfast. I was really looking forward to a nice Sunday brunch, but what I ate instead was mostly continental fair, with a limited selection of some not nice looking deli meats, a few tomato's and some cold eggs. The coffee was nearly undrinkable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

On the outside,the Art Hotel Best Western Rotterdam looks merely very normal. But as you enter into the lobby area, you get a shocking feast for your eyes... a artistic splash of vibrant colors n collection of antiquish stuff. Art on walls looks like the whole art school project !
The see-thru lift in the middle of hotel is an art structure itself.
Other than art, wifi is excellent n room is also well equipped with a kitchenette n bathroom . I love the floor carpet. Every room is different art decor.
Friendly service at lobby. Very informative reception.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterpatterpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

On the outside,the Art Hotel Best Western Rotterdam looks merely very normal. But as you enter into the lobby area, you get a shocking feast for your eyes... a artistic splash of vibrant colors n collection of antiquish stuff. Art on walls looks like the whole art school project !
The see-thru lift in the middle of hotel is an art structure itself.
Other than art, wifi is excellent n room is also well equipped with a kitchenette n bathroom . I love the floor carpet. Every room is different art decor.
Friendly service at lobby. Very informative reception.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterpatterpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Service was very nice - got an upgrade to a big room. Room was clean and very large but dated. Nice firm bed. Temperature in the room was bit too high, with no control in the room other than opening windows. Location was convenient - right across the street from a subway station. Breakfast was quite disappointing. Free wifi worked well. So overall, good experience, good value and if the breakfast wasn't so crappy, I would have given it 4 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
807 reviews
Hotel Rotterdam
#26 of 53 in Rotterdam
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,417 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#6 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Rotterdam

Address: Mijnsherenlaan 9, 3081 GA Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Art Hotel Rotterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range: £41 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Art Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotterdam Best Western
Best Western Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing