We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in an art gallery with bed and breakfast!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Art Hotel Rotterdam
Ranked #42 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed 23 April 2009

From the outside the Best Western Art Hotel is uninspiring, high rise glass and concrete, but go through the door and it's a world of art, craft, quirks, colour and fantasy. The public areas, restaurant, lounge and bar areas are a fabulous mix of zany patterns, beautiful upholstery, antique furniture and a wild collection of bric-a-brac. Go up in the glass lift and even before you get to your room you are amazed by the corridors and landings. Each room number is a work of art, in different media and individually made by artists. Walking along the corridor is like wandering through an art gallery.

The room was spacious, colourfully funished and upholstered with some unusual ideas, a good mix of old, antique and new furniture. Quiet, spacious and with huge pictuire windows looking out over Rotterdam (not the best part of Rotterdam but not bad). We were surprised by the little kitchenette complete with microwave and crockery, and the bathroom did not disappoint for colour.

Breakfast was an excellent hot and cold buffet, with live musicians!! We couldn't believe it, one morning a pianist and the next a duet who played and sang (not amateurs either!): a lovely touch. We didn't try the restaurant in the evening, the menu seemed disappointingly pedestrian.

Location is good, the area is residential, the metro and tram stop are right next to the hotel, only a few minutes by metro from Central Station. Only critisism was there were no eating places nearby, but a few minutes on the metro took you right into the centre.

All in all staying here was a real experience, a hotel I will always remember, not something you can say about most city hotels. Excellent value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariadenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2009

I stayed at this hotel in October 2008, while on a business trip. I have to admit the location is not that great, it took about 30 minutes by foot to get to the Erasmus bridge and if you use the metro it's about 4 stations from downtown, the station is right next to the hotel. The neighborhood did not seem all that safe but we had no incidents on our 3 day stay. My room was pretty good: very large, nicely furbished (50's style), the best thing was an amazing view of the harbor especially at night. Both the room and the bathroom were clean and so were the sheets and towels. The room had a little kitchen in the hall so you can easily have your breakfast or a snack there. We had breakfast in the hotel (it was rather expensive, about 18 euros) but with a large variety of food: cheeses, butter, hams, cakes, cereals, salads, eggs, bacon, beans, fruits, tea, coffee, juice. What I did not like was the reception staff: not very friendly nor professional. They could not help me connect to the wifi in the lobby, they did not know the access code....even though it was advertised as a facility of the hotel and we also had problems getting the receipt for the stay from them. The lobby was another nice thing about this hotel, having unique decorations and furniture. All in all it was a nice stay, but if I were to return to Rotterdam I would choose a hotel that is closer to the center of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irinuk_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

The hotelsite looks promissing. But showing not too many pictures from their rooms should tell you something. This hotel is an old building transformed in a hotel. The lobby looks fresh and modern. Quite different from my hotelroom. In a few words: old and not so clean. Bathrooms probably date back from the 70s. Remote from the tv didn't work. Lot's of powercords and connector boxes on the floor. Showercurtain is smelly. Dirty spots in the carpet. Old, wobbling furniture.

Rooms on the higher floors have a great view.

Area is not so safe at night. Make sure you reserve a spot in their car park.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Elmer&Lizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

I was weary of this Hotel having read the reviews, but I have no idea what all the fuss is about. Sure the area isn't great, but its safe enough and you have to have some common sense about you!

The rooms are funky, with reclaimed furniture, but all new beds as far as I could tell. It's a good place to get your head down and relax, only 4 stops on the excellent train system into the city centre.

Well worth considering.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gwilymbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

Our nightmare started when we were transferred to this hotel as our original choice had double booked...we called ahead to say we wouldnt be arriving until 2am (ferry delayed) and we were assured there would be someone to help with our bags etc..
It took ages to rouse someone,there was no porter,so we were given a trolley and at 2am in a thunderstorm started to unload the car ourselves.Area is very dodgy,hotel is next to a flyover for the metro line and there was a kebab van parked outside,very shady characters both outside and inside the hotel...suite was a weird mixture of 1950's furniture with ultra modern touches such as a leather bed,which looked great until we pulled back the sheets to find faded blood stains in a spurting pattern..needless to say we didnt get in the bed,or sleep,and couldnt wait to get out the next morning.Luckily our original hotel sorted out their mix up,apologised and paid for the night at the Art Hotel..we certainly wouldnt have.
p.s we didnt stay for breakfast!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babsBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2007

I visited the nice city of Rotterdam during my student years and now decided it was time to go back and better my choice of hotel, instead of the youth hostel I had back then. At first sight it's a nice looking hotel for as the name suggests it has some arty look over it. The main problem with the hotel, I learned, is that it offers long stay rooms, but some of these seem it to be home to a number of, let’s just say, the mentally challenged people. Some 'guests' look like they just got out of either prison, rehab or a mental institution, giving it quite an uncomfortable atmosphere. I also learned that the neighbourhood is infamous all over the Netherlands as one of the worst in crime rates and urban problems. The hotel is beyond walking distance from the city centre, staff seems inexperienced, rooms are indeed quite small (viewing a concrete wall) and the hotel hardly offers any amenities, which all don't justify the rate of it. I’m really puzzled as to why Best Western has put its tag on this one. My advise; try something else. Really.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SimonLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2007

Stayed in this hotel for only 1 night on 28th of March 2007. Even though we booked 2 rooms, when we arrived we were told there was only one room booked for us. We had to wait 20 minutes until they could assign us a second room. Room was very small with a kitchenette in one corner. Shower room was very simple without even a shower tray to stand on. Water drained through a hole on the floor. There is no air conditioning and the room was very hot and stuffy. Some rooms overlook the railway so if you want fresh air you will have to listen to trains passing by. However, that was not the worst part. The soap dispenser in the toilet dispensed not soap but some dirty black liquid! Even after having asked for soap a couple of times, we did not get any. There is also no hotel toiletry provided. So if you happen to be staying only for 1 night on business and did not bring your own, you are in trouble. The IKEA bed did not have a headboard and the sheets were torn and holed in a few places. The room was so cramped that in order to get into the bed you had to climb in from its foot. The walls, doors and the sofa were dirty with marks and there were what we thought to be dog hairs on the carpet. When we expressed our discontent all we got was an insincere "oh such a shame".
We paid a whopping 175 Euros for one night for a room which is not any better than a cheap student dormitory. I do not intend to stay in this hotel ever again and will only recommend it to those I despise.

Location:
The locals were not very complimentary of the area where Best (!) Western Art is situated and -it may have been a slight exaggeration- we were advised not to go for a stroll after dark.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BSLj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
824 reviews
Hotel Rotterdam
#26 of 53 in Rotterdam
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#10 of 53 in Rotterdam
996 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
H2OTEL Rotterdam
H2OTEL Rotterdam
#17 of 53 in Rotterdam
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Rotterdam

Address: Mijnsherenlaan 9, 3081 GA Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Art Hotel Rotterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range: £40 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Art Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotterdam Best Western
Best Western Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing