We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really poor”
Review of Quartier Du Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quartier Du Port
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really poor”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Hard to believe this is a four star hotel. Cold. Impersonal.ugly. Nothing positive to say. Would go out of my way to find an alternative.described in places as boutique, why? Must be somewhere nicer in rotterdam for half the price

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    50
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
57
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel.
When I have received my bank account I have noticed I have been billed twice for the room.
10 days after the hotel is still unable to refund me the money. After mails and mails, only vague answers, we don't knows... DO NOT TRUST THEM.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toffinlyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Did not sleep in the Hotel but, had dinner in teh Restaurant at Hotel Quartier du Port. Excellent. Food great, portions, great, and service ecellent, price reasonable. Nice and informal surroundings, where you also can sit in the pittoresk little terrace/garden if the weather is nice. Definetly going back

Room Tip: Did not sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirienesral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Had a good stay here however only arrived late and left early in the morning. Nice building, friendly staff. Very spacious room. No complaints and fair value for money (although can't compare to other hotel in Rotterdam).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannesF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, NL
Level Contributor
378 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I stayed here for only one night for a meeting by the end of August. It is a nice boutique hotel in an old shipping office close to the waterfront. The building has been beautifully renovated and a lot of old style remained. My room was large, nicely decorated, clean, good bed and bathroom. I think all rooms are different.
I found the facilities in the hotel rather limited. The reception area downstairs is quite basic, in fact limited to the bare minimum. To me the facilities are comparing to a three star hotel. But I really have nothing to complain about my room or my stay.
The hotel can be easily reached with the tram (number 7) from the central railway station.
Dinner tip: walk to the waterfront and have dinner in the restaurant of the Wereldmuseum. Amazing quality!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Good location for access to Ahoy stadium, large room, comfortable bed, well-functioning air con, and large bathroom made the stay comfortable enough, but at 150€ a night (without breakfast) it was too pricey. There were no comfy chairs in the room, even though there was plenty of room for them, no mini-bar or fridge, no tea/coffee making serice, no room service, no bar or food service in hotel, no public space for meeting with friends or reading, nothing to justify the 4-star classification or room price. Could be a good high-end hotel if they develop the building and improve room facilities but it's not there yet.

Also, how many days are hotels allowed to go before changing the sheets? I'm all for saving the environment and not encouraging excessive water use, but when I'm paying premium rates I don't expect budget service.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alternatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

There were some lovely original period architectural touches that set this place apart from others. However, for a supposed four-star hotel, it didn't feel like much more than a two-star in terms of quality. The room was very clean and there were good quality towels, but some lightbulbs were not working in the room and little things that make a hotel a hotel in the first place were missing (e.g., there was no shampoo for hair available -- only body wash). It was quite loud by 8 am, with people running in the room above us; voices in the corridor could be heard rather easily and the opening/closing of doors was quite noisy, too.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kikimora79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Nieuwe Werk
Thon Hotel Rotterdam
Thon Hotel Rotterdam
#22 of 52 in Rotterdam
384 reviews
STROOM Rotterdam
#18 of 52 in Rotterdam
198 reviews
Cool
A Small Hotel
A Small Hotel
#31 of 52 in Rotterdam
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,287 reviews
Oude Westen
Hotel van Walsum
Hotel van Walsum
#21 of 52 in Rotterdam
272 reviews
Bilderberg Parkhotel
#11 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quartier Du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quartier Du Port

Property: Quartier Du Port
Address: Van Vollenhovenstraat 48-50, 3016 BJ Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Philadelphia)
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quartier Du Port 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Quartier Du Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rotterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing