We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best brownie ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Koekela

Koekela
Ranked #1 of 8 Bakeries in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best brownie ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The best brownie I've ever had in my life!!! They have an enormous choice of cookies, brownies, cakes, chocolates... If you have a sweet tooth this is a must visit, really nice people also!

Helpful?
Thank AstridWitteveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    35
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best cake in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just thinking of Koekela makes water run in my mouth. Several years ago I paid my first visit and had the best cheesecake with cherries. Ever since, everytime I near the Nieuw Binnenweg, I cannot pass by without entering. Besides delicious cakes, they have a variety of cookies (chocolate chip, walnut melts that I highly recommend), brownies, bars, muffins (raspberry white chocolate is my favorite) and many other tasteful treats. Also a nice place to have coffee. So do yourself a favor and go spoil yourself. You can't go wrong here. They also deliver cakes!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it! Even after 10x”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Koekela is the place to indulge. I always make up a reason to celebrate something at Koekela. Their cakes are delicious just as their scones (unfortunately they serve it cold). The plain scones are usually finished around 16.00 so make sure you schedule your teatime a bit sooner. As for their cookies, we usually buy a whole box when we visit friends and families. It is always a hit and we receive many requests to bring it again when we visit. Their Latte Macchiato isn't too strong and served perfectly hot, unlike many other places where you can drink it away in one go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollandVespaTou... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
683 reviews
469 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“The best cakes in Rotterdam!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I can't believe there aren't more reviews of this fantastic bakery. I have lived in Rotterdam for 6 years and it has always been the best for cakes, muffins, scones and coffee alike. They used to have a small store and had to upgrade as it became so popular. The quality and service have remained perfect, the prices not too high. The lemon meringue cake is my favorite but I could absolutely eat everything from there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LOLANetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This place is great for cakes. Their assortment includes fresh cookies, muffins, brownies bars and slices, scones and cake classics including carrot and red velvet. You can eat in, although it's very popular and tables are limited. The coffee is pretty good too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koekela also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Koekela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing