We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous apartment, great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ape Calypso

Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
The Calypso building Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Living room
The Calypso building
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Balcony living room
Balcony living room
View from the living room balcony
Balcony master bedroom
View from the master bedroom balcony
Fitness room
Fitness room
View on the Calypso building from within the Central Station
Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rotterdam, South Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
2410SueC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous apartment, great location”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed in this apartment when visiting Rotterdam for our sons graduation. The apartment is in an excellent location with wonderful views. It is superbly appointed, spotless and comfortable - even better than in the photographs! The parking in the basement is a real bonus. For visitors arriving by train, the station is a very short walk away. Alex was very helpful, meeting us on arrival and explaining everything to us. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. We hope to return next year. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort, parking.cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoo-Sun C
1 review
“Fabulous apartment in centre of Rotterdam”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We (family with 2 young children) stayed 1 week in Alex' apartment and it was just great! It really felt like home away from home. The view is amazing, the beds are comfortable, it is spacious and clean, our kids loved it as well. We already miss the delicious coffee. The location couldn't be better, walking distance from the central station, close to all the shops, restaurants and the movies. We would definitely recommend this accommodation. Alex was a great host, explained everything in detail and could be reached very easily. Rotterdam is a fantasic city, top end architecture, fine foods, relaxed people and if you are looking for a nice place to stay and to explore this dynamic place, we would recommend Alex' Ape Calypso.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolandukr...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Central, comfortable, clean, tidy. Highly recommended. Alex was always available via email and responded quick to any queries.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefMarce...
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“Look no further !”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

As a Rotterdam native, I enjoy being "in the middle of it" when I return to visit. We've stayed at other apartments , but this one tops them all. The location to everything "Rotterdam", the view of the city's skyline, the interior decorations, the 17th floor, which get you away from city noise but not the sounds :-), the beautiful balconies, (yes plural), and the cleanliness combined with the spaciousness makes this the perfect place to stay. We had the pleasure of staying here for almost 2 weeks, and did not want to leave. Alex is a very gracious and classy host, very helpful and great to communicate with. Either via Tripadvisor message, email and WhatsApp.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness, Cleanliness, and Location
Liked least: That we had to leave ;-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denijomi
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic apartment in a great location”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked this apartment for a long weekend break with our teenage children mainly due to the photos on the website. We were not disappointed when we arrived!!
The apartment is clean, modern, spacious and has everything you could possibly need, even down to a Smart TV and Netflix. Both balconies offer spectacular views of the city; unfortunately for us the weather wasn't brilliant so we couldn't sit out during the evening but the main balcony is a great space. If you are a fitness fan, there is also a gym available to use during your stay.
Another positive thing is that the apartment has its own parking space in the basement and once we parked up on arrival we didn't need to get the car out again until we left as we either walked or used public transport (the tram service is great). The main station is 5 minutes up the road where you can buy all sorts of tickets depending on the length of your stay.
We would like to thank Alex for his hospitality. He met us on arrival and was available should we need his help for anything.
All in all, this is a beautiful apartment in a brilliant location; you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern apartment
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossindra...
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This apartment had been furnished to a 5 star standard complete with a top of the range coffee machine and audio visual equipment. It's a close walk to the main station, shops, restaurants and the market is a short walk away. Alex was very helpful and even offered a 2 for 1 discount voucher for my trip up to Amsterdam. I would recommend this apartment to anyone. It's been furnished luxoriously and is at the centre of Rotterdam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison R
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb - no need to look anywhere else!”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This apartment is one of the best we have ever stayed at. Ultra clean, modern and deceptively spacious, with fantastic views of the city, plus warm and welcoming hosts. We (a couple) stayed for 3 nights with another couple and really enjoyed our time here. It's central to everything and only a stone's throw from the central station. We arrived by car and appreciated use of the free (and safe) parking space allocated to the apartment. We were gifted with a full fruit bowl on arrival, and we really appreciated all the detailed touches and attention to detail throughout the apartment. There was everything you need in the kitchen and bathroom, plus laundry facilities, and a 3D tv. We won't be looking to stay anywhere else on our next trip to Rotterdam… it really is the best of the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness, cleanliness, central position and views
Liked least: The shower spilling out into the bathroom floor a little (design fault - nothing to do with the owners)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing