We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing venue but meals were a bit average ”
Review of Hotel New York

Hotel New York
Ranked #131 of 1,501 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

You must take the water taxi to this beautiful hotel, it's the best way to get there. The hotel itself is very interesting, amazing architecture. The staffs are friendly, however, when it comes to food, I wasn't that impressed unfortunately. Both my starters and main course we're not bad but it's just above average. To me, the food seems a bit "mass produced". Food arrived in less than 5 minutes after order, that's not necessary a good sign as they were all prepared in advanced, literally no cooking involved. I am not writing a bad review but as far as for food, it's really just above average.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank KevinT616
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 425 of 2,688 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

What a beautiful place for lunch, overlooking the docks and rivers. This is the original place where ships used to dock and set sail for New York.
The building is surrounded by history and inside the restaurant there is a set up of being on a ship.

It has a very busy and vibrant atmosphere inside. Places like this that are run well, usually have responsive and efficient staff, good food and understand well about giving customers the best experience possible... But unfortunately our experience was far from that.

We had a friend who lives in Rotterdam take us out to this restaurant as it's quite a popular destination, but he hadn't been here for a while. We were served by a waitress who took our drinks order and started to take our food order then decided she wasn't going to take all of the food order and bring us our drinks first instead.
10 minutes later we received our drinks and 30 minutes later we were still waiting for our food order to be taken. We then realised our server had left for the day hence why she didn't want to carry on taking the rest of our order... and I don't think she had handed over to anyone either! After a 30 minute wait my friend had to get up to find someone to take the rest of our order, who eventually came over to take our table.
The order was taken completely wrong, food came out in the wrong order. Main courses came out with starters, side dishes were missed with the main course, a real shambles.
My friend ordered tuna but without chilli, so whoever decided to serve it from the kitchen decided the best thing was to pour about a cup of soy sauce over the tuna, killing the whole dish!
We complained but as my friend had started to eat the tuna, the staff were unwilling to do anything about it. Very, very unprofessional.
My wife ordered chicken soup, it was more like chicken stock-cube soup with a hint of real chicken pieces, it was over salted probably because of the amount of stock cubes that are used to create it.

It seems in this restaurant that they are trying to cut costs without regard to the effect it is having on the customers.
You could see that the staff were just rushed off there feet, I even felt as if the staff were too scared to look up in case a customer asked for assistance. It seemed as if they wanted to just get to the end of there shift.

Overall the food was nothing special at all. It seemed they've got some junior staff in the kitchen who are just not trained to the correct standard and whoever is at the pass is just not bothered about the quality of the food that is going out.
I have seen what happens to restaurants that take these sorts of short cuts to make more profit. It doesn't end well.
I wouldn't eat here again, if a friend asked me where to eat, I would never recommend it.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank aroundtheworld000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

This place is located on one of the most beautiful parts of Rotterdam: Kop van Zuid. It is surrounded by water and has a great terrace. The food is reasonably priced and nothing fancy except for the extensive seafood platters. The atmosphere of Hotel New York is industrial and vintage. Only drawback is that it is a bit noisy due to the fact that it is a huge open space without much soft fabric.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Frankstertrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Food and service excellent as always. Had sushi starter which was divine, followed by steak which maybe was on the small side, although I was satisfied with meal. There were two sizes of steak, the other size was way too big. If you are having desserts, just ask from the cake counter, really great cake compared to what they had on menu.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank 450audrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I have dinners and lunches here a couple times a year. The food is always good and staff very nice. Their oysters are one of the best in the Netherlands. The food is not incredible special, but worth to the value of money you are paying - instead of the sashimi - thats overpriced. It's always busy, so do not forget to make a reservation. For sure I will come here. It's a lovely place, with a rich history.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank jaccov210
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hotel New York also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.