We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat and hang out like a local, good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bierhandel De Pijp

Bierhandel De Pijp
Ranked #54 of 999 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$37
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Oude Westen
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Eat and hang out like a local, good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was taken here by a colleague who is a regular. The restaurant-bar is like secret hole in the wall, it looks scary from the outside, and probably doesn't attract a lot of tourist walk-ins.
It's a kind of spit and saw-dust atmosphere, where you have peanuts served, and then you're expected to throw the shells on the floor - but oddly with a formally dressed waiter serving like a pro!

Food is hearty - think steaks, and other meats served with vegetables and potatoes, and desserts are pancakes served with a selection of Dutch toppings. All of excellent quality, served with lots of beer and wines as you please. Friendly service too! Definitely a place to go!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PG_Cumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    74
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Best food and atmosphere in Rotterdam.
The menu is available in English, but the staff are more than happy to help.
The open kitchen is great entertainment

Helpful?
Thank Phil1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting and nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I almost missed this place and hesitated to walk in initially, because it certainly didn't look like a restaurant from outside. But the staff were friendly and their authentic Dutch food was great. I had an enjoyable dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhon008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were here for dinner with my girlfriend and the place is authentic indeed. However, authentic for a Dutch pub means nothing special. We liked the raw peanuts which you throw on the ground and the service, but everything else was quite average, including the food. When the bill came in the end and we saw the price for this experience, we thought that a much better place can be found around Rotterdam for a similar or lower price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nzlatev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just 'must see' as one of the most authentic places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Group of us were passing Rotterdam and decided to have lunch. Picked up the place's address from Tripadvisor, found the place and parking space for cars easily. But almost walked by the pub as it looks like abandoned place from outside. Sign is faded out, window covered with bottles and dust. I was ready to leave, but colleagues decided to try, is the door open. It was. When stepping in, it felt like trip back in time. You can feel the history and story of the place with your every cell. Amazing open kitchen with plenty of local food - haven't tasted so good liver for long long time. Service was excellent and even the place may look for someones a bit dark and crappy, it was the best experience we had during that trip to Holland and Belgium. It is a 'must see' if you like authentic pubs.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bierhandel De Pijp also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Bierhandel De Pijp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing