We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New concept: slow-food & self-service ;(” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Caroni

Casa Caroni
Ranked #127 of 1,223 Restaurants in The Hague
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Voorhout
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“New concept: slow-food & self-service ;(”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have reserved a table for a group dinner, and as soon as we arrived there something definitely went wrong. in the end we had to wait for our main course for more than 2 hours (!!!). During these two hours, when we ordered a bottle of wine, we did not get any glass, so had to go and get them ourselves, same story with the bread. Several visitors around us had to do the same when they needed a napkin or salt. When the main course finally arrived around 10 p.m. (we were there since 7.30 p.m.), the meat was served but not the side dish, it came only about 15 minutes later. Upon the whole - very disappointing. We were very careful in our choice of a restaurant, read all the reviews here and this actually was the main reason to pick this restaurant out of many, unfortunately it turned out to be wring choice. I definitely feel sorry for he staff and the owner too, but this is their responsibility to take care of the guests.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The perfect Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Simply perfect. The menu of my dreams. Everything that we ordered was top class. Very charming and a homey atmosphere.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChristineJHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We felt so lucky to have found Casa Caroni on our overnight stay in the Hague. The Owner and his daughter gave the wonderful little restaurant a really warm and comfortable feel. The food was also delicious, so I can't imagine a better overall experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmbkjeldsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Nice food, lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Casa Caroni has been consistent on preparing nice food with nice wine list.
Their decoration is intimate and very cozy. Ideal to eat with friends ans catching up.

Helpful?
Thank Vaquitalekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Never busy, but food is very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Hidden just off Denneweg, this restaurant doesn't get much foot-fall, which may explain why the restaurant is never that busy. This gives it a little bit of an awkward atmosphere.

The food however is excellent. The antipasti was very good, if not a little expensive for what it was (EUR 18). I had Veal Saltimboca which was very tasty (think was EUR 24) however the waiter failed to tell me that it didn't come with any side veg/potato - which left me hungry and disappointed with the service. My partners prawn/cream pasta dish was very good.

We left disappointed, as the potential was there: very nice decorated restaurant and good food- just let down by price, service and atmosphere! Suggest going to one of the other italian restaurants nearby (Impero Romano or Vino & Cucina) for a better experience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The86Robsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Caroni also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Casa Caroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing