We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Carlton
Ranked #56 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Basic”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Below average accommodation, with rooms facing the very busy road near the Auction building and soft mattresses. Room is dated, boring and run down. Cracks in the wall and burnt cigarette holes in the curtain. Location is the only advantage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csarga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    13
    26
    19
    8
See reviews for
5
39
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

we booked a triple room, which we good a great deal for our money, room was big and clean. Breakfast was enough (but not really 4 star)
but the parking big enough.
Good with own transport, to go to rotterdam, Den hague and other places.
Did not eat at the restaurant as prices are quite high but in the near town are plenty of restaurants to choose from, we ended up in a greek restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank slofty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel doesn't deserve any star rating.
My wife and I have just returned from a 4 day stay in this hotel and it was an experience that we would not wish to repeat.
As mentioned by another contributor to this page,the whole place is in need of a complete refurbishment.
We were on a coach tour of the bulbfields and as such were treated like second class citizens.we were consigned to a drab,conference room for breakfasts and evening meals,the breakfasts consisted of,cereals,sliced bread,soft rolls,cheese?ham?scrambled egg,questionable,sausages and the usual tea coffee etc ,every day the same.
The evening meals varied, only by differend kinds of meat(of which we allowed only one ,small peice)
the rest was always,peas, carrots,rice all mixed up, plus french beans but we never saw a potato (apart from soggy chips the first evening)there was never enough food for the whole 46 of us.
On opening up the room(101,very apt!)the first thing I noticed was the disgusting state of the wash basin ,in the bathroom, which looked as though it had been vandalised with a Stanley knife and then badly stained.The room was never adequately cleaned for the duration of our stay.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44Viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these The Hague hotels

Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Now this Hotel used to be a wonderful chique hotel when it first opened its doors so many years ago. It think it is build like 20 years ago.

Problem is that they really did not do any refurbishment. So you think your back in 1990. Only problem is that the furniture and carpet are still there today! (and is really worn out).

Well this hotel is indeed next to the Flora Holland Flower Auction and this is why I I have very often slept in this hotel.

I have seen so many rooms in this hotel. Most of the rooms are (well what should I say), really really worn out. Only the top (floor 4) floor has (finally!) new wooden flooring, the other three floors have old carpets with so many stains, very dirty.
The Suite rooms are not that big ore special at all, with very old small bathrooms. The only 'good' room is the 'luxery room' on the top floor. A bit bigger and yes yes (believe it or not) a bathroom that looks a bit like a decent bathroom with a whirlpool bath. Downsite on this room is that it is next to the elevators so you hear them all the time.

The restaurant is a big plus. Good food and friendly staff.

The only reason why I keep returning to this hotel is because of the location and so friendly staff! And because of the staff I give it 3 stars, if you have a normal room on the 1st ,2nd or 3th floor is is really not a 3 star hotel (its a ripoff...).

If you will spend a holiday, please go somewhere else, wait untill they finaly have repaired the hotel.

Well I really don't know why they don't give this hotel a very good renovation, it used to be so good!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank I_Like_Gooood_Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uchaud, France
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

A charming hotel which may have fallen a little behind the times and has past its glory days. Comfortable and offers all the necessities, but it fails to impress. The staff are super friendly and it has a good atmosphere. However, I do find that it is well overpriced for what it offers.

If travelling in summer, be warned that there is no air-conditioning in the hotel. You then have to leave the windows open and enjoy the sounds of the traffic on the streets below!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Just across of Flora Holland.
Perfect situated.
Ask for rooms on top and you get a big beautifull view as bonus to a modern room!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msn5800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night and were appointed room 201.
The hotel looks nice and has an old modern classy look. The staff was friendly and the elevator music was amusing.
The room looked and smelled like no one had cleaned the room for months. On the table and bedside there was a thick layer of dust.
But I only noticed it the next morning after waking up and the sunlight pointed it out clearly to me.
Not a very comfy idea before hand knowing you have to sleep in a dust covered room but thank god I did not notice it before.
The mattress/bed is as soft as air, so be prepared for no support what so ever.
The bathroom looked used and some places showed moulding the shower how ever was a big plus point. Strong rays of water and nice and warm for plenty of time. You are standing in a bathtub so it’s a little cramp but doable.
The hotel is located next a busy Provincial road and when we came in we heard the noise of passing traffic loudly, when I suggested a room must be open, and checked it appeared not to be so, and with opening a window it was even hard to hear the TV. At night it does not really bother so much, as you can also close the windows, but it takes some getting used to if you are not used to it.
There was a fridge in the room but it was broken and all the good were presented on a table, so no bottles of cool water.

So overall I would say the room is average at least, definitely not a 3-star rating, a good 2-star but it surely does need a couple touch ups and cleaning attention.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Hague
Fletcher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Naaldwijk
100 reviews
The Hague Teleport Hotel
#23 of 67 in The Hague
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Voorhout
easyHotel Den Haag City Centre
The Student Hotel The Hague
#10 of 67 in The Hague
272 reviews
Jorplace
#34 of 67 in The Hague
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Carlton

Property: Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Carlton
Address: Tiendweg 20, 2671 SB, The Hague, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-start Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Carlton in Naaldwijk is centrally located and easily reached. This luxury hotel is close to the historic city center of Delft, The Hague and Rotterdam and barely six kilometers from the beach at Hook of Holland. The spacious rooms a equipped with a bathroom with bath and shower. Every day you can enjoy an extensive breakfast, lunch or dinner in our a la carte restaurant Leonor Fini. Have a drink at the cozy bar or patio and enjoy the sun. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing