We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION, VALUE AND ATMOSPHERE!!”
Review of Jorplace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jorplace
Ranked #34 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“GREAT LOCATION, VALUE AND ATMOSPHERE!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hostel has a unique layout and is in a great location just 150metres from the beach. a great place for all ages. staff are welcoming and friendly. rooms are spacious and well mantained. gets two thumbs up from where im sitting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdawg187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    58
    22
    15
    27
See reviews for
3
24
64
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here at Jorplace. Just a stones throw away from the beach and with the lovely weather we had plenty of time to go surfing etc. The hostel was always lively and the staff were very helpful!

Room Tip: Book early because rooms seem to go quickly!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I really liked the vibe in this hostel. It is really the place to be. It is almost near the beach and by bus/tram you will be within 10 minutes in the city center. The bathroom was always clean and the beds were good to sleep at. The sheets were also clean!!! Sometimes they organize a party and there are nice people you will meet. The breakfast was also good. I highly recommend this hostel!

Will be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

On my first night in Jorplace, I was using the wifi when I tried to read an article on a popular lesbian website. The website was blocked by the network administrator for "Gay and Lesbian Content". This block is clearly discriminatory; it's not as though the website was mistaken for porn, the message that popped up instead of my article specifically cited "Gay and Lesbian Content" as the reason I wasn't allowed to read it. I was disturbed and offended, but I didn't feel comfortable mentioning the block after reading several reviews that mentioned the owner's drug use and tendency towards anger. I was afraid I might get kicked out of the hostel.
If not for this incident I might have forgiven the other faults of the property: there are signs everywhere threatening guests that their security deposit will be taken for various offenses, the showers are less than ideal, and security is not a top priority.
I did manage to have a nice time: my room was comfortable and clean, the staff were very helpful, and the bar was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cordelia93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Really cool place, friendly staff and nice rooms. set up to accommodate people of any age although it is mainly directed at younger people. had loads of fun there. would reccommend it to anyone. they have a pool and football table, nice smoking area and even a cool van transformed into a room for people to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I found my stay very nice and pleasant. The hostel is not too big but the atmosphere inside is very welcoming with a nice common area/bar with table football, pool, an old free arcade machine and a fireplace where you are allowed to smoke. On the walls vintage posters, surf boards, vespas, and a T1 volkswagen (useable as a room) makes the whole place original.
The kitchen has a big fridge and lots of pots and pans. A supermarket is just next to it and the sea is 5 minutes away. The city centre is 20 minutes away with trolley bus number 1.
Rooms are not too big with 2/3 floors beds and showers are not too many, although I never had problem finding an empty one.
Staff always available and smiling.
Very suggested ++++

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfrankyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We found this hostal welcoming and comfortable. Rooms are bright and clean. Showers are washed three times a day and this is great!
The bar (common area) is stylish and cool with a fireplace where you can smoke and a separate area with several tables to have comfortable lunches, a football table, a pool, a retro arcade console a big screen! Perfect to enjoy your night with friends!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elisabetta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Voorhout
easyHotel Den Haag City Centre
The Student Hotel The Hague
#10 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Hotel Mimosa
#3 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Badhotel Scheveningen
#31 of 67 in The Hague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Ibis Den Haag City Centre
#13 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Andante Hotel
#12 of 24 in Scheveningen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jorplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorplace

Property: Jorplace
Address: Keizerstraat 296 | 2584 BN, 2584 BN, The Hague, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jorplace 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Searching an affordable & relax place to stay in Scheveningen? Welcome at the first & only Beach Hostel in Scheveningen, Jorplace! We offer beds from € 11,- p.P.P.N. Jorplace offers more than just a bed: Eat, Drink, Sleep & Fun! Fully equipped and no time to get bored! We offer private 2-persons room up to 24-persons bunk rooms. We are located just a 2 minute walk from the beach in a street with a loads of shops and bars & restaurants. We also have our own bar inside the hostel, a professional kitchen, a lounge, a garden with fireplace to relax and a kitchen to make your own food and great staff to answer all your questions! Looking for something to do? We can help you with kitesurfing/surfing/SUP lessons, yoga, longboarding etc! So what are you waiting for... See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Jorplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing