We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in silence on business needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
1 review
“Excellent place to stay in silence on business needs”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Nice lobby with very friendly personnel, so no chance not to give a smile every time you deal with. Room was clean and big enough with some furniture for spending a time not sleeping only mode. BTW, sleeping there on wide bed with very comfy pillows was something about awesome. My toom was a little bit dark, but this mostly caused by close location to the near one tall building.
Breakfast plates range is more then enough to vary and dinner hall with glass panels to the awakening city center gives you a very relaxed feeling at morning. Location of the Hotel is nearly perfect in terms of both wlaking within the city center or traveling by trams/trains around the region.

I'd book this Hotel once again definitely once I back to Den Hague.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artyom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the near future “More Than Welcome”.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    682
    277
    84
    36
See reviews for
184
694
67
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was one of the hotels my conference recommended, and it is worth staying at if you need to be close to Leiden University, or just the Central Station in general. Both are less than a minute away. Rates could be a bit lower, though...
The room on the top floor (9th) is large, with a good view over parts of the city. The smog is pretty dire, though, so not much to look at out the window. The bed is large and great - quite firm mattress the way I like it. Bathroom has a tub, plus shower of course. The water pressure is disappointingly low - might be a problem particular to the top floor(s)...
Service - very friendly, but a little intrusive. No need to greet me every time I cross the lobby, folks!
The only slight downside to the place so far is the rather tacky decor, featuring poor art, burgundy pillow cases and weird glowing cauldrons on the landings. Babylon revisited, I guess...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i12bent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have forwarded your suggestions to the appropriate departments for their attention. We hope to welcome you again in the near future “More Than Welcome”.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Traveling to Zoetermeer on an important business meeting, I stayed one night in Hampshire Hotel.
Got a (real) non smoking room, great king bed, marvelous set of pillows.
At arrival all was perfect, room temperature also.
Got out to business dinner and afterwards the so waited rest.
And what a great night it was!
Woke up for a shower, the shower head was not so efficacy... although it made it OK at the end.
Good generous breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice.
On my next trip to headquarters I will definitely "demand" this hotel!
Thank you Hampshire team for a great job done here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main avenue, it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future "More Than Welcome".

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

the rooms are neat and clean. hotel is located near the centrum so everything is close by. the price is fair however breakfast is NOT INCLUDED! it costs about 13 or 18 euros which is tooo much. walk to the "coffee Company" nearby to have some good breakfast at a reasonable price.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank yaztradamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future "More Than Welcome".

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

First, the lobby... Oh my! How ancient it looked. It felt a little bit like we'd gotten into some shady 1980's hotel. It's dark and not welcoming.
Then the room: the room in its generality, was nice. It felt cosy and somewhat luxurious but then if you started to look around (or to the floor for that matter), you'd start noticing a few flaws. Stains on the carpet and the likes.
The bathroom was clean and modern but:
- the tap of the sink would not give us cold water. We could get some cold water out of it at some point but then it started leaking at the back and splash the mirror
- the shower hose once stayed in my hand, instead of in the wall and was a bit tricky to put back on
- the door to the bathroom was a shabby sliding door that hardly served any use (not the most comfortable when it is your first night in a hotel in a new relationship)

Now to the bed... Oh the bed!
It featured the best pillows you could ever get: thick, fluffy, comfy. It was like resting your head on a cloud. I have since then decided that I need THOSE pillows at home in place of what now feels like stone under my head.

And finally, when it comes to the location, THAT was perfect. It's so close to the station that you could almost think they're part of the same building. From there, the centre is only a few hundred meters away.

I don't think I would go back due to all the little flaws that made the stay not as comfortable as it could have been. Except maybe for the pillows...

Room Tip: Depending on your preference, I guess you should try and make sure get one type of room or the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilRedFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. It is only because of feedback from our guests that we are able to improve our services. We have forwarded your comments to our Technical Department.

We are happy to inform you that we have completed a full renovation of our lobby. A photo of our new lobby can be found on our Facebook page.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future in our new lobby.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Location is perfect. Just behind Den Haag Central station and 10 minutes walk to the city. Professional staff. First they couldn't find my reservation, but luckily they found it. I always ask for a room in a higher floor. This time I got the room, but the noise from the street was unbearable. I couldn't sleep until 3 am. The bathroom was good with a bath and Rituals toiletries. I only got half toilet paper. Housekeeping should do a little bit more dusting. That's the only issue. Overall this hotel has a great location and very nice front desk staff. I would definitely go back and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the other side of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leandro987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. It is only because of feedback from our guests that we are able to improve our services. We have forwarded your comments to our Housekeeping department for their immediate attention. We hope to welcome you again in the near future "More Than Welcome".

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here on business for roughly a week. The hotel has all the amenities you expect when traveling on business. The breakfast is OK although the selection was a bit sparse. It's located right next to the central station (literally), so it's easy to get around in Den Haag. There is a lot of good restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. At nighttime it was quite noisy due to ongoing construction work in the square outside the hotel. The hotel can't be blamed for this, although they could have made guest aware - some are lighter sleepers than others...

-H

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the square or main road which is generally noisier outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henrikr529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. “More Than Welcome”

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
NH Den Haag
#6 of 67 in The Hague
1,232 reviews
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
1,612 reviews
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#9 of 67 in The Hague
534 reviews
Ibis Den Haag City Centre
#11 of 67 in The Hague
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Address: Bezuidenhoutseweg 53, 2594 AC, The Hague, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in The Hague
#12 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag is situated next to the main train station, in the midst of the bustling city life, with across the street an oasis of peace in the beautiful Haagsche Park. This modern 4-star hotel has a prominent reputation for outstanding service and quality comfort. Bright and spacious rooms and a warmly decorated restaurant and lounge provide guests with inviting spaces to dine and unwind. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of town, Den Haag's main attractions are easily reached. With the station providing direct links to Schiphol and the beach just 10 minutes away, this is the ideal hotel for business and leisure travellers alike. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Babylon The Hague
The Hague Eden Babylon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing