We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat that location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't beat that location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Hampshire Babylon, formerly known as Eden, has changed hands a number of times over the last few years. It is all you need when you are travelling, but nothing luxurious. There is a fairly small and efficient entrance with friendly staff. Service is minimal (labour is expensive in Holland), but that isn't necessarily a bad thing: no bell boys or other people to carry your luggage. It is the way the Dutch usually like it. There is free wifi in the entire hotel. Worked fine for me.

Breakfast
The breakfast is sufficient, with mostly European style breads, cold cuts, boiled eggs, brioches, cheeses, yoghurt and a small corner with sausages, scrambled eggs and bacon. There is cappuccino and tea and orange juice. It is all you can eat so a hearty breakfast in the morning carries you through most of the day. Make sure you sit at the window and enjoy the steady stream of hundreds of cyclists cycling by, it is a sight to behold.

Rooms
The rooms were a tad small, but more than good enough if you plan to be outside most of the day. You don't come to The Hague to sit in your room anyway. My room had a window that opened, which I left open 24 hours a day (June). The rooms are somewhat dark, which means you have to have lights on all the time. I wish the hotel room had at least one bright 120 Watt light, I was straining my eyes all the time. I also never really figured out which light switches belonged to which lights. The bathroom has an odd shelf over the sink, which prevents you to splash your face with water or drink water from the tap (safe everywhere in the Netherlands). Very awkward design.

I arrived form overseas (red eye) and the staff was good enough to check me in at 9 am (which was a bit of luck as it was the only room available). I thought that was great and very much appreciated.

Location
The location is great. Next to the Central train station (connecting to Amsterdam-Schiphol airport in under an hour), you have to lug your luggage at the most 300 ft from the station to the hotel. The station connects you with the main network in the Netherlands (efficient) and the Randstad Rail (a combination of Light Rail and subway, that connects you to down town Rotterdam in 40 minutes. A real bonus. The hotel is also on a 10 minute pleasant walk to the mostly car free centre. Street cars shuttle you through The Hague and all the way to the beach in Scheveningen. No need to take taxis. There is a bike rental place underneath the train station I believe. You need a Publi Transport chipcard in public transport, which works in the entire (!) country. Search for "OV chipkaart" on line. There is very little reason to have a car in The Hague so save that money.

All in all, great location, clean rooms, (4th floor) , good breakfast, friendly helpful staff. Only downside are the darkish rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchmanCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the near future. “More Than Welcome”

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    682
    277
    84
    36
See reviews for
184
694
67
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent only one night in The Hague, coming by train from Amsterdam, and we wanted a hotel close to the Den Haag Centraal train station so we'd have more time to explore the city. We chose this hotel since it's literally right next to the station. The rooms were small, but very comfortable and had everything we needed. The bathroom was clean and spacious. You can easily catch a tram to the Scheveningen Beach, the station is 200 meters from the hotel. To go to the city center, you can either take a tram or walk for about 10 minutes. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vlad30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the near future. “More Than Welcome”

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Hotel in a great location and sadly lacking. Interior needs to be updated and really scrubbed. If you look close enough, things are grimy and not just the rooms. The elevators dirty and there are awful, ugly dusty plant like things in the lobbies. While the sheets were clean, the pillow shams and bed cover were definitely not cleaned prior to my visit. They smelled like body odor. The hotel is supposed to be non smoking; however, any non smoker will recognize immediately the property must have allowed smoking in the past since it's in the carpets, drapes, etc. The only way to stop the arctic a/c was for a hotel employee to pop a ceiling tile and disconnect the unit. Even at that, she could not stop the noisy fan. Views are magnificent and hotel staff all quite nice. I would definitely not stay here again nor would I recommend this location to colleagues, in fact, I plan to advise our corporate travel agency to remove the option or downgrade the rating. Lighting is incredibly poor and rooms dark. Overall very unimpressed and glad it was just for one night or I would have gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest,

We sincerely apologize for the discomfort you have experienced during your stay. It is certainly not our intention or our standard for guests to experience this type of service. Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with our team for their immediate attention. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I recommend to my friends to stay in Babylon hotol because of amazing location and friendly receptions. But unfortunately the light horrible we can not read or review our job in the room. Any way I think the hotel is one of the excellent hotels in The Hague.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank murtadha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please rest assured that we will forward your comments regarding the lighting to our technical department for their review.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Good hotel: centrally located, friendly staff, nice modern rooms with a proper desk and free WiFi.

Issues: allthough rooms have been refurbished they remain relatively small and water-pressure is low. Big downside is the fact that windows can not be opened and are completely locked. Air-conditioning works fine, but still I felt a bit gated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cammaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our service. Your comments with regards to the rooms have been forwarded to our Technical department for their review. We take your comments very serious, it is only because of caring guests like yourself that we are able to improve our services.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future. "More Than Welcome"

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for on night in the hotel. The stuff was more than friendly, the room was good, but could be renovated soon and the breakfast was also ok. The positioming of the hotel to the city is excellent, that everything can be done without a car. The billing was not correct-the price over the internet was different than the charged one, but that was no problem after showing the online reservation.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DanyKatzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with usn and hope to welcome you again in the near future. “More Than Welcome”

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangier, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

1- The service was good
2- The view offered an excellent view especially with this long balcony
3- The location is excellent.
4- What I liked the best is the location of the Hotel (Close to the Headquarters Company I visited #APM Terminals# & close also the Haag City Center).
What I liked least is the breakfast #Not enough choices#)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank abdelaziz_izmoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with usn and hope to welcome you again in the near future. “More Than Welcome”

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
NH Den Haag
#6 of 67 in The Hague
1,232 reviews
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
1,612 reviews
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#9 of 67 in The Hague
534 reviews
Ibis Den Haag City Centre
#11 of 67 in The Hague
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Address: Bezuidenhoutseweg 53, 2594 AC, The Hague, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in The Hague
#12 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag is situated next to the main train station, in the midst of the bustling city life, with across the street an oasis of peace in the beautiful Haagsche Park. This modern 4-star hotel has a prominent reputation for outstanding service and quality comfort. Bright and spacious rooms and a warmly decorated restaurant and lounge provide guests with inviting spaces to dine and unwind. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of town, Den Haag's main attractions are easily reached. With the station providing direct links to Schiphol and the beach just 10 minutes away, this is the ideal hotel for business and leisure travellers alike. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Babylon The Hague
The Hague Eden Babylon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing