We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had plans to spend one night at this hotel, It was the cheapest one in Hague. Since it was close to my birthday we got a free upgrade bonus points for excellent service. And it did not stop there, the staff was really helpful and friendly and we ended up staying another night. Booked the same room we had, still not expensive at all.

Hotel was clean, quiet and relaxing. A good view of the city, a nice park outside and close to the train station. But you did not even notice since it was quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. "More Than Welcome" is not only our slogan but something we strive for every day and we are happy to hear that you have noticed this. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    668
    274
    84
    36
See reviews for
173
682
66
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

...and I will go back again. The staff couldn't be more helpful, the hotel is clean and modern. Breakfast could be a little more expansive in range but certainly enough to set me up for the day. Located next to the rail station, although I couldn't hear it. Don't do what I did on my first visit and try to take a cab to the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ineedagoodroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. "More Than Welcome" is not only our slogan but something we strive for every day and we are happy to hear that you have noticed this. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel new Babylon

It is renovated or new hotel, and its external look is nice. Good location near den haag central station, convenient for public transport.
One strange odd thing: no hotel access was properly planned to arrive directly in the shopping centre below, also new.

Inside the hotel decoration is rather standard. And nothing particular. The hotel rooms are standard too. Clean, ok.

Even new small maintenance has to be better tracked: toilet paper support not well fixed, hole in the toilet wall, no bed lamp bulbs working... Some moisture and dirts at the bottom of the shower glass panel.

Slippery shower. The shower is inside a bathtub. And therefore it has a slippery floor...

We were at level 9 and had a nice view over the city.

The aircon was not possible to be stopped. Big noise ongoing in the ventilation system during all our stay: very annoying. That can be heard in the room and toilet. So take your earplugs... Nothing to be done according reception.

TV system: hotel interface outdated, no smartTV ( impossible to connect your USB drive), no international channels such as French or Italian or Arabic or Russian... No CNN, nor international movie channel (eg hbo)... Good point with 2 Chinese channels. However, no high resolution TV, nor large screen. Older generation. A pity, since a new or renovated hotel.

Wifi ok

In the room, we hear people in the corridor, not enough sound proof.

Housecleaning is very annoying, its management need to be clearly improved: when we came back at 14:45, during two days, the room was not done... Even though we mentioned at reception that our room was free to be done... Not professional.

Service: rather basic, not smily enough, rather neutral. Not listening properly to customers. No particular welcome.

When we asked a late check out on Sunday, it was first given as a paid service!

No spa, no sauna, no hotel fitness. For fitness, you could pay an extra and go in the shopping mall fitness centre. Why not included for hotel guests?

The last day, we received a questionnaire... In Dutch. So we could not answer...

No major loyalty program...

Why this hotel is a 4* is a mystery... For us, it is clearly and simply a 3* one. A good 3 star Well located.





Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank camok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Camok,

Thank you for taking the time in writing down your experience with our hotel. We will use your comments in order te improve our services.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

It's really good if you are planing to spend sometime in the city and a little far from the coast also it's next of the train station where you can travel and find some food and stuff at night because the station is equipped by a lot of shops and restaurants

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kasem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your helpfull suggestion for fellow travellers. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the near future. “More Than Welcome”

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel is located right next to Den Haag Centraal train station. Rooms are clean and modern style, but quite dark. I missed complimentary water, which comes handy if you return to the room in the middle of the night. Bathroom was clean.

Staff is friendly and compliant. Breakfast is good and there's decent selection of foods.

Overall good hotel, but not outstanding. Good value and great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rok M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been forwarded to our team for their review. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. “More Than Welcome”

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Location is good, staff is incompetent and rude.
I have requested an invoice ad had to wait over 3 weeks for it, after several calls I got one with the wrong recipient and each time I have tried to explain that 1- I need the invoice 2- I need it in such recipient I got rude and irritated answers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Livia N,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a response. I apologise for the fact that we were not able to give you the right recipient in the first place. I will discuss this matter with our front office staff.

I hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Hampshire Babylon, formerly known as Eden, has changed hands a number of times over the last few years. It is all you need when you are travelling, but nothing luxurious. There is a fairly small and efficient entrance with friendly staff. Service is minimal (labour is expensive in Holland), but that isn't necessarily a bad thing: no bell boys or other people to carry your luggage. It is the way the Dutch usually like it. There is free wifi in the entire hotel. Worked fine for me.

Breakfast
The breakfast is sufficient, with mostly European style breads, cold cuts, boiled eggs, brioches, cheeses, yoghurt and a small corner with sausages, scrambled eggs and bacon. There is cappuccino and tea and orange juice. It is all you can eat so a hearty breakfast in the morning carries you through most of the day. Make sure you sit at the window and enjoy the steady stream of hundreds of cyclists cycling by, it is a sight to behold.

Rooms
The rooms were a tad small, but more than good enough if you plan to be outside most of the day. You don't come to The Hague to sit in your room anyway. My room had a window that opened, which I left open 24 hours a day (June). The rooms are somewhat dark, which means you have to have lights on all the time. I wish the hotel room had at least one bright 120 Watt light, I was straining my eyes all the time. I also never really figured out which light switches belonged to which lights. The bathroom has an odd shelf over the sink, which prevents you to splash your face with water or drink water from the tap (safe everywhere in the Netherlands). Very awkward design.

I arrived form overseas (red eye) and the staff was good enough to check me in at 9 am (which was a bit of luck as it was the only room available). I thought that was great and very much appreciated.

Location
The location is great. Next to the Central train station (connecting to Amsterdam-Schiphol airport in under an hour), you have to lug your luggage at the most 300 ft from the station to the hotel. The station connects you with the main network in the Netherlands (efficient) and the Randstad Rail (a combination of Light Rail and subway, that connects you to down town Rotterdam in 40 minutes. A real bonus. The hotel is also on a 10 minute pleasant walk to the mostly car free centre. Street cars shuttle you through The Hague and all the way to the beach in Scheveningen. No need to take taxis. There is a bike rental place underneath the train station I believe. You need a Publi Transport chipcard in public transport, which works in the entire (!) country. Search for "OV chipkaart" on line. There is very little reason to have a car in The Hague so save that money.

All in all, great location, clean rooms, (4th floor) , good breakfast, friendly helpful staff. Only downside are the darkish rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchmanCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the near future. “More Than Welcome”

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
NH Den Haag
#6 of 67 in The Hague
1,187 reviews
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#9 of 67 in The Hague
509 reviews
Ibis Den Haag City Centre
#11 of 67 in The Hague
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Address: Bezuidenhoutseweg 53, 2594 AC, The Hague, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in The Hague
#14 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag is situated next to the main train station, in the midst of the bustling city life, with across the street an oasis of peace in the beautiful Haagsche Park. This modern 4-star hotel has a prominent reputation for outstanding service and quality comfort. Bright and spacious rooms and a warmly decorated restaurant and lounge provide guests with inviting spaces to dine and unwind. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of town, Den Haag's main attractions are easily reached. With the station providing direct links to Schiphol and the beach just 10 minutes away, this is the ideal hotel for business and leisure travellers alike. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Babylon The Hague
The Hague Eden Babylon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing