We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately lady, proud of her bearing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stately lady, proud of her bearing”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Spent a torrid weekend at this hotel, service was warm, friendly and professional.
Room was clean, well equipped, with a great bright bathroom.
I would highly recommend the place.
Small but thoughtful touch, was offered free coffee whilst waiting for a cab on a rainy day...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Extropian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your amazing review! Sharing your experiences bij letting the Tripadvisor readers know that the Carlton Ambassador is the place to stay in The Hague is a huge compliment for our team. I really appreciate your compliment about the small touch offered by one of our staff members whilst you were waiting for a cab on a rainy day. We are very much looking forward to your next visit to The Hague.

With best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    190
    43
    7
    7
See reviews for
66
274
26
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for 4 nights for leisure. Weather was really hot but aircon was great and kept room lovely and cool throughout. Staff were all pleasant and willing to help with anything I needed. Great breakfast. Good fast free wifi in the room. My room contained everything I would expect to find - all well maintained and very clean.

On a really quiet street but just two minutes walk to tram/bus stop to take you direct to city centre or the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Archie,

We are so pleased that our team helped to create such a comfortable stay for you. Good to hear that the air conditioning kept your room cool and that you were able to enjoy the fantastic weather in our city during your four nights stay. Our new breakfast Chef Jimmy loves your great comments about the quality of breakfast and looks forward to prepare your eggs again soon!
Thanks for taking the time to write such a beautiful review.

With best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A beautiful small hotel in a beautiful part of The Hague. Staff very helpful and knowledgable about the area and local transport, they even had tramtickets for us and printed out routes to take from the hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and clean with coffee and tea facilities and bathrooms spotless. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the centre of town with its government departments and also very close to the Peace Palace. Restaurant and terrace pleasant and food and service excellent. Train station not far for direct access to the Amsterdam Airport. Marianne v

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Marianne,

Thank you for your fantastic review, you have given us a superb description of Carlton Ambassador. It is always a pleasure to receive great reviews and recommendations from our guests. Our Chef (Edward Kreuger) and Food & Beverage Manager (Jules Blanken) are more than happy with your compliments about the quality of the food and service. They are looking forward to serve you again on our sunny terrace!

With kind regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menemsha, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

On a recent trip through France, Belgium, Holland, and Iceland this is the hotel about which we will have the longest good memories. Tired of a long road trip that had us going astray a couple times we arrived exhausted, but our spirits were quickly revived by the genuine warmth and helpfulness of the staff from the moment we arrived. And that genuinely warm spirit of hospitality was evident throughout or two-day stay. We have stayed in very good hotels in Asia and Europe but can unreservedly this one as among the best as an overall experience. One more note: we also loved the location. It is in a quiet neighborhood yet within walking distance of the city center.

Room Tip: The newly renovated rooms are comfortable and tastefully done. Be sure to get a room facing the (qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJD633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear guest,

It is a huge compliment to read such glowing feedback, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with the world. Fantastic to hear that, during a trip through several countries, you will have the longest good memories of Carlton Ambassador. We love to offer the ambience you describe! You might skip one country next time to stay longer at the Ambassador, we are looking forward to that moment.

With warm regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It was a business trip, but would recommend everyone. I stayed in The Hague for 6 days and it was a great experience. The hotel is very well located, within a walk of the main points of interest of the city. Very nice and comfortable room & bathroom (both - bath and shower !), very clean. Thought breakfast was not the same level of the hotel, but was OK. Very friendly staff. If I will have chance to visit Hague again I'll choose this hotel with great pleasure

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guja,

We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations, to hear that you loved so much about the hotel is incredibly rewarding. Please do come back to see us again soon and let us know about any specific item you would like to have for breakfast. Thank you for being our guest for six days!

With best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

--to excellent
The hotel was in a quiet ,but convenient, leafy road. A very good place to stay if you want to explore the area either by foot or by the tram system.
There were some very minor irritations but overall a comfortable hotel with very "want to please " staff

Room Tip: The location is quiet so all rooms should be OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Eric,

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that the Ambassador's central location was perfect for all your needs. We do like to make your next visit even more enjoyable, so - if you are able - please let me know the very minor improvements you mention to apaulides@ambassador.carlton.nl Next time we would like to go for excellent instead of close to....Thanks again!

With kind regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I was absolutely delighted to have stayed at this hotel. It is very close to downtown and other local hot spots to visit in The Hague. The hotel and rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished. The cleaning staff always do an immaculate job. Breakfast was always deliciously prepared. The hotel staff went the extra step to make my 9 day stay incredible. I will be only staying at this hotel when I am in the Hague or surroundings.
2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Marcin,

Wow, that is a great title to start with reading your fantastic review! The biggest compliment is that you experienced our team really went the extra step to make your stay incredible. That is what we always strive for, thank you! Besides this, your beautiful words about the decoration and furnishing of our rooms, the cleaning staff and the delicious breakfast are very much appreciated by all of us. You really made our day, don't forget to come back soon again!

Best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
1,606 reviews
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#9 of 67 in The Hague
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paleis Hotel
#4 of 67 in The Hague
454 reviews
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
NH Den Haag
#6 of 67 in The Hague
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Ambassador Hotel

Property: Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Address: Sophialaan 2, 2514 JP, The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in The Hague
#3 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#8 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming boutique hotel located in the city centre of The Hague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Ambassador
Carlton Ambassador The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing