We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
200 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had a suite room booked by my company, had a corner room that offered 3 views onto 'The Passage', very classical european shopping street that in enclosed. Service at the hotel was great, staff were pleasant and helpful. There was a little noise from the Passage, but it is closed later on and the noise stops, room was chilly due to all of the windows, but an extra electric heater was already available in the room. The room was very spacious with a couch, table and 2 chairs - and a big tub that I didnt use.

Room Tip: Suite is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novoteldenhaagcity, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to review our hotel. I will share your friendly comments with my employees. Hope to welcome you in The Hague again.

Kind regards,

Janine Kots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    343
    102
    18
    7
See reviews for
237
198
42
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selangor
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed for 8 nights, Linda was excellent in accommodate my needs at the check-in. The support from others like Vincent, Tom and the breakfast crew were great.

Great location, easy access to all places!

Strongly recommend to upgrade to junior suite for family or group of 3/4 travelers.

Room Tip: avoid room facing passage, could be a bit noisy at night or weekend noon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkh_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novoteldenhaagcity, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your kind and detailed review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in beautiful The Hague! We have published your review in our back office. All employees involved enjoyed your kind comments. Thank you!
Janine Kots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Luckily, I only spent one night in this hotel getting no sleep due to other hotel users stomping around in the rooms above - even up past 2am! Also, the room was freezing - fortunately, a member of staff brought in an old rickety radiator that took the edge off the cold but didn't add much warmth.

Staff were really good and very helpful.

Breakfast was okay - the continentals always struggle with the British idea of a hot breakfast, supplying poor quality scrambled egg and some very odd sausages. Bacon wasn't worth having being the usual hotel streaky bacon with more fat than meat. Coffee hot and strong and well needed after no sleep.

Being a regular visitor to the city I won't be a regular visitor to this hotel. I thought the Hotel Babylon near the station was bad but it's five star luxury compared to this. I can understand many enjoying the location and recommend the Fiddler pub nearby for beers, pub food and atmosphere, but for work the next day sleeping in the Centraal station would probably be quieter and warmer.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KeithTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novoteldenhaagcity, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Den Haag Center. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. During your stay there was a very large conference of Students in The Hague. Unfortunately they were quite noisy. I would appreciate if you would contact me on my mail address H1180-GM@ACCOR.COM when you visit The Hague in the near future. If you are willing to give us another change, I will make you a good offer.

Kind regards,
Janine Kots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Even though my 3 night stay was ok and I did not encounter any significant problems, the price for this hotel appears quite high relative to what is being offered.

Service by all staff was good, although cleaning of the bathroom and re-stocking of tea and coffee could have been better. The breakfast area at times appeared to be understaffed, especially because several large groups appeared to be staying at the hotel who all more or less turned up at the same time. Breakfast itself is good with a fair selection of food and drinks. It would be even better if some fresh juices were offered as well, such as freshly squeezed orange and grapefruit juice. Also a better selection of different sorts of bread would be appreciated. Other things such as choice of cereals, fruits and dairy products is good though.

The (standard) room was of a decent size and had good wifi connectivity. However, wifi did not work on my mobile phone even though it worked on my ipad and laptop. The furniture looks and feels a bit "basic", including the squeaky bed. Also bed linens are quite "basic" and do not give a luxury feel. Design of the room itself is ok, although I would prefer the toilet to not be separate from the bathroom. The main thing I did not like about the room was the combined bath/shower and I would have preferred just a shower instead. The bath/shower was difficult to get into and every time after a shower the whole bathroom floor ended up flooded. Since there is no floor-heating in the bathroom, a pair of slippers would have been good to compensate for that. Air in the room was very dry even with ventilation on and I ended up having to open the window to get some fresh air in.

The location of the hotel is excellent, right opposite the government building and still pretty quiet. The hotel is missing gym facilities though, or should at least offer complimentary gym facilities at a nearby gym.

When staying in this part of Den Haag again next time, I will probably choose the Mercure, which charges a similar price but offers better value for money in my opinion and has better rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peri&rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great location but this was an expensive hotel with effectively a camp bed that was noisy and uncomfortable. I'm not sure he this can be a 4 star hotel...no gym, no pool etc. There was a group of American students there and the restaurant clearly couldn't cope with breakfast. The coffee (machine) ran out in minutes and the buffet was hoovered up in seconds so. I have no idea what the breakfast was like. Understaffed in the restaurant and clearly not prepared even though the same happened two days in a row.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank twotarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
308 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel is right in the center of the city close to attractions, shopping, and public transportation. It is a business hotel ideal for individuals or couples visiting the Hague. It does not have much facilities for children. Their restaurant has good quality food but offers a menu with a rather small variety.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one day. The most advantage is definitely location. It is situated in the heart of Den Haag. Ask for the room with the street view, in other case you will be looking at passage (shop gallery). The disadvantages: no slippers in the room, no heating system (we were staying in winter and it was really cold!), breakfast is till 9 am, no heating floors in bathroom. So for one night is ok, but for several not!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Den Haag City Centre
#13 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Parkhotel Den Haag
#12 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Voorhout
Holiday Inn Express The Hague - Parliament
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre

Property: Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre
Address: Hofweg 5-7, 2511 AA, The Hague, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Zuidwal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in The Hague
#11 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#12 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#12 Business Hotel in The Hague
#12 Green Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Den Haag City Centre is a 4 star hotel in the monumental Haagse Passage shopping arcade in the very heart of The Hague.The hotel is located opposite the Binnenhof (The Dutch parliament) and within walking distance of museums and shopping streets.The central location makes it ideal for a business stay or weekend away. Our cosy rooms feature paid WiFi and complimentary high speed internet. The hotel also offers meeting rooms,a bar, restaurant and parking garage.The hotel is 100% non smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hotel The Hague
Novotel The Hague
The Hague Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing