We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in a traditional old palace with modern amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stay in a traditional old palace with modern amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is my first time stay in this traditional 'palace hotel' in the landmark of the Hague, the Netherlands. Honestly, I am not so satisfied in staying in the hotel. Team members are too much professional while friendliness perhaps, far away. Lift is old and slow. Room is not so specious (although I have been allotted a Club level + room) ! Team attention and services towards the guests are really disappointing. No Club Lounge as such for the Gold or Platinum Members. Breakfast is not included in the room rate. But, Lobby Lounge is great and gorgeous that looks a real 'Royal Palace'.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Santi501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for your stay in Hotel Des Indes and for taking the time to share your experiences.

We are glad to read that you loved our building and we are very proud of this. We are however sorry to be informed that you also found some points of improvement.

Please be advised that we offer rates including and excluding breakfast so that you can pick exactly what you'd prefer. Also all rooms differ in size and lay out, so please share your preferences with us prior to arrival so that we can block the most convenient room for you.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    193
    60
    35
    14
See reviews for
97
381
65
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here in june again. After getting a lovely room on the first floor i really wanted a room with a better view. So I payed for a upgrade and got a wonderfull room with a private terrace overlooking the city of The Hague. Great spacious room, excellent service of the staff. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who visit the City of The Hague. It`s a real experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view..on the Lange Voorhout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogan224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Hogan,

Thank you very much for your stay in Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel and for your time to write a review on you stay. We are glad to learn that you had another great stay with us, this is of course what we aim for!

As you already mention, the view over the Lange Voorhout is great, but the view over the city on the other site of the hotel is also worth trying. You will see the iconic roofs of the small houses and you can even see Scheveningen Beach in the distance.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel dates to the 1800s but has kept up both its ambience and its appearances. The room was immaculate. The room service was well-presented and appetizing. The spa service was delightful. The lobby is something from a Hemingway novel - hard to find these days. Location in downtown Hague also very good access to green space and town

Room Tip: Enjoy the spa, it should be worth it. Masseuse can be called in for your service on a few hours not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_J1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you for staying in Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel and for sharing a review online. We are delighted to read how great you describe our property and would almost like to use it for our next ad. It's great to read that you appreciated the ancient character of Hotel Des Indes.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
277 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This luxury and well located hotel is a real landmark. It is not just a hotel, but also a very historical place. Here politicians came and come to discuss Dutch and international politics. They came here in colonial times, but also ever since. The Royal family also frequently can be found here.
The interior of the hotel reflects this great importance. So does the beautiful Lange Voorhout where the hotel is located.
So staying here means you feel yourself somehow a part of Dutch history.
Don't forget to have their high tea which is great and very traditional.

Room Tip: If you can afford, have one if their juniorsuites. It is worth the money !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspar v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Caspar,

Thank you for your visit to The Hague and for choosing Hotel Des Indes.
Great to read that you appreciated the historical character of our hotel. As you already describe, Hotel Des Indes has a long history of famous guests and important events. If visiting the hotel, it is absolutely worth having a look at our "Rotonde" where Baron van Brienen welcomed his guests in the 19th century.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Very disappointing service , totally understaffed. Rooms opulent but lack a good finish for this hotel standard. Reception extremely poor service and long waiting time. Restaurant and high tea - again staff was not trained and did take an unacceptable long time serving us,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toversti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your experiences online. We are very sorry to read that we were unable to meet your expectations and would very much like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Please be informed that we take your feedback as action points and will sort out what happened during the experience you had with us. As you will understand, Hotel Des Indes strives to deliver the best service possible and the experience you describe does not fit our level of expertise.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for two nights in July/2013. The hotel is located in the center of the city, and all sites/transportation options are easy to get to. The service quality in the hotel is outstanding, and the room upgrade we received was great (a spacious studio with lounge chairs). I highly recommend having at least one drink in the lobby – the atmosphere is old world and beautiful. The wifi is strong and the clientele is mostly business professionals, meaning: quiet, well-dressed, and expect (and receive) high quality services. The only drawback was the breakfast: the cold meats/cereals were fine, but the hot food options lacked any taste. Also know that in the Netherlands, the coffee options (cappuccino, etc.) are not as good. At this hotel (for breakfast), they came out of automatic machines.

Room Tip: Cash-in on suite upgrades (if you have them) - the room was outstanding and comfortable. It is one r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidtheConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear David,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about Hotel Des Indes and for sharing those on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and to deliver the service that we are famous for.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with regards to the breakfast. We will dive into that and see where to improve even more. With regards to the coffee options we offer, please note that anything is possible. Our entire restaurant team is trained to make the most beautiful coffee creations fresh and by hand. So you are free to offer anything you like and we can deliver it exactly as you like.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is by far the most beautiful hotel experience I have had in my 20+ year! One issue - you can not order anything to eat in the bar after 10pm which I think is ridiculous for such an outstanding hotel. The waiter even explained where to buy a hamburger at Burger King which I could eat in the lobby. Ordering food in the room was ok for the whole night so very weird.... BUT I must admit that took my complaint very serious and fixed it meanwhile by offering a High Tea for compensation.

Still thé best hotel in the Netherlands in my view if you seek an authentic top class hotel that has a soul.

Room Tip: All rooms are outstanding to what I can tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and for sharing your experiences. Once again our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in the evening.

Referring to our post-stay email communication I would like to point out that what happened that evening is not according to our company policy and that we do serve food later in the evening. Your feedback was shared with our team and this should not happen ever again. To Hotel Des Indes, deliver great service is of great importance and we are very thankful that you did point out where we could improve.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Paleis Hotel
#4 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#7 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
#2 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Lange Voorhout 54 /56, 2514 EG, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#5 Business Hotel in The Hague
#8 Family Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical grandeur and elaborate elegance, Hotel Des Indes is a haven of luxury in the heart of The Hague. This five star deluxe retreat already embraces you even before you enter with the yellow facade and features a 315-square-metre health club, exceptional restaurant and sophisticated meeting facilities. Each room blends contemporary amenities with iconic architectural statements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien The Hague
The Hague Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing