We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel in Europe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“A gem of a hotel in Europe”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Impeccable and memorable experience at this incredible hotel in The Hague. One could tell from the outside with the rich yellow and red exterior that the inside would be very special. Amazing guest rooms - sons felt like kings sleeping in their canopied beds. Our room was palatial in textures, fixtures and bedding. Highlight was certainly Afternoon Tea and Dinner, Hotel Des Indes style. Fabulous teas to choose from and all served very graciously and professionally. Truly a gem of a hotel in Europe. And The Hague was fabulous to explore - a very elegant, sophisticated city with style and flair. Thanks Hotel Des Indes for a truly exceptional hotel experience. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the park/art walk promenade is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yyzcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Des Indes and for taking the time to share your experiences online. We are delighted to learn that you had a great experience with us and have passed on those compliments to the team.

As you already mention, it is great to stay at the front site of Hotel Des Indes, to overlook the Lange Voorhout. The other sites are equally as interesting as you will experience the beautiful dutch image of tiny roof tops and in the far distance you can even see the sea.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    204
    66
    36
    14
See reviews for
107
414
70
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The Hague itself is well kept secret and only 30 minutes from Schiphol Airport. It is charming city
with a village feel which makes exploring the galleries,museums, parks and shops a pleasure.
One of the highlights of the city is the Hotel Des Indes which from the first step over the threshold transports you into a world of elegance from a bygone period. The staff are exceptional and are all obviously proud of the Hotel and their part in making a visit into a memorable experience.
We stayed for 10 days and this attentiveness never faltered.
The Bar & Restaurant are excellent and the Anna Pavlova cocktail has to be tried...and savoured
The Hotel is beautifully positioned only 15 minutes by foot from the station and in the tree lined
park opposite is a collection of modern sculptures which also boasts a Sunday antique market .
The location is perfect for meandering through the cobbled streets and squares admiring the many beautiful buildings,canals and Palaces.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting the Hague.
I cannot praise it highly enough to do it justice.

Room Tip: We had room 405 which boasts a terrace overlooking the trees with views to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Fraser,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about Hotel Des Indes. It truly was our pleasure to have you as our guest.

As you already mention, our entire team is very proud of working for our Hotel and we very much appreciate their effort in making all our guests happy and exceed expectation.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here for several weeks for recent business trip. Hotel is beautiful. Former royal family entertainment home. Rooms are small but nice. Staff is pros and attentive. Food in restaurant is very good but there are hundreds of places within walking distance. It sits next to a great tree covered park and next to several shopping areas. All the staff is multilingual a great benefit for a person with only one native tongue. There is a SMALL gym and pool with trainers and nice facilities. Also a spa, but I cannot comment as i did not use. Nice conference rooms, wifi.

Room Tip: High tea is a big deal here. Lots of locals and tourists come in to partake. Seems very nice..didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Des Indes and for taking the time to review your stay online. We really appreciate this.

As you already mention, we offer several facilities that are free to use for all of our guests, such as the health club. Also our restaurant and lounge are always open to all of our guests. We have recently introduced a new menu for the lounge and terrace that we very much recommend trying when you visit again.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is my first time stay in this traditional 'palace hotel' in the landmark of the Hague, the Netherlands. Honestly, I am not so satisfied in staying in the hotel. Team members are too much professional while friendliness perhaps, far away. Lift is old and slow. Room is not so specious (although I have been allotted a Club level + room) ! Team attention and services towards the guests are really disappointing. No Club Lounge as such for the Gold or Platinum Members. Breakfast is not included in the room rate. But, Lobby Lounge is great and gorgeous that looks a real 'Royal Palace'.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santi501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for your stay in Hotel Des Indes and for taking the time to share your experiences.

We are glad to read that you loved our building and we are very proud of this. We are however sorry to be informed that you also found some points of improvement.

Please be advised that we offer rates including and excluding breakfast so that you can pick exactly what you'd prefer. Also all rooms differ in size and lay out, so please share your preferences with us prior to arrival so that we can block the most convenient room for you.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here in june again. After getting a lovely room on the first floor i really wanted a room with a better view. So I payed for a upgrade and got a wonderfull room with a private terrace overlooking the city of The Hague. Great spacious room, excellent service of the staff. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who visit the City of The Hague. It`s a real experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view..on the Lange Voorhout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogan224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Hogan,

Thank you very much for your stay in Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel and for your time to write a review on you stay. We are glad to learn that you had another great stay with us, this is of course what we aim for!

As you already mention, the view over the Lange Voorhout is great, but the view over the city on the other site of the hotel is also worth trying. You will see the iconic roofs of the small houses and you can even see Scheveningen Beach in the distance.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel dates to the 1800s but has kept up both its ambience and its appearances. The room was immaculate. The room service was well-presented and appetizing. The spa service was delightful. The lobby is something from a Hemingway novel - hard to find these days. Location in downtown Hague also very good access to green space and town

Room Tip: Enjoy the spa, it should be worth it. Masseuse can be called in for your service on a few hours not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_J1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you for staying in Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel and for sharing a review online. We are delighted to read how great you describe our property and would almost like to use it for our next ad. It's great to read that you appreciated the ancient character of Hotel Des Indes.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
285 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This luxury and well located hotel is a real landmark. It is not just a hotel, but also a very historical place. Here politicians came and come to discuss Dutch and international politics. They came here in colonial times, but also ever since. The Royal family also frequently can be found here.
The interior of the hotel reflects this great importance. So does the beautiful Lange Voorhout where the hotel is located.
So staying here means you feel yourself somehow a part of Dutch history.
Don't forget to have their high tea which is great and very traditional.

Room Tip: If you can afford, have one if their juniorsuites. It is worth the money !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspar v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Caspar,

Thank you for your visit to The Hague and for choosing Hotel Des Indes.
Great to read that you appreciated the historical character of our hotel. As you already describe, Hotel Des Indes has a long history of famous guests and important events. If visiting the hotel, it is absolutely worth having a look at our "Rotonde" where Baron van Brienen welcomed his guests in the 19th century.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
1,566 reviews
Paleis Hotel
#4 of 67 in The Hague
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
#3 of 67 in The Hague
576 reviews
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#9 of 67 in The Hague
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Lange Voorhout 54 /56, 2514 EG, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#5 Business Hotel in The Hague
#8 Family Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical grandeur and elaborate elegance, Hotel Des Indes is a haven of luxury in the heart of The Hague. This five star deluxe retreat already embraces you even before you enter with the yellow facade and features a 315-square-metre health club, exceptional restaurant and sophisticated meeting facilities. Each room blends contemporary amenities with iconic architectural statements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien The Hague
The Hague Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing