We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

When in The Hague I stay at Des Indes. For many years now and for the first time I missed the grandeur and impeccable service and the warm welcome. It went wrong from the start. Entering the lobby my first experience was the heavy smoke of cigars. Nothing against cigars, I like one myself from time to time, but it's not something you want entering a hotel. Check-in was sloppy. Not greeted, no welcome back and not even acknowledged as a Gold SPG member. When I get to my floor I find my room is straight across from the elevator. Strange, in my SPG profile it's clearly marked I want to be as far away from an elevator as possible and on high floor. Actually, they did this to me already once before. A simple request for a change of room did result in a move to a room where the bedlights didn't work and where turndown service was clearly not available. I showered before my dinner meeting and found the room in exactly the same condition back when returning late in the evening. So morning shower was with the same ammenitites and towels as evening. My colleague did get a full service room at the same rate.
Dinner was good with fine wines. Breakfast was abundant and good. Check-out took 25 minutes (ok I also paid for a second room and the dinner; but still).
So all-in-all I left disappointed. It used to be different. I hope Des indes can get back to its grandeur of before. I'll certainly give it another try because it is worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Lars,

Thank you very much for your visit to Hotel Des Indes and for your valuable feedback. Please be informed that we will take on this feedback in order to avoid any of this from happening again.

We are however delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your dinner with us. Please be informed that we will sort out what happened during housekeeping service.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Positive:
Location is great, building is historical and beautiful.

Negative:
Doesn't feel like a 5 star hotel!

- Rooms are okay quality and cleanness, but not "polished".
- Stuff is generally friendly, but not confident with their English.
- Breakfast is expensive, but far from exciting.
- No walk-in shower, getting into the bath is difficult and dangerous.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria_2014_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Victoria,

Thank you very much for your feedback with regards to your recent stay in Hotel Des Indes. A clear overview of what you really liked and what we can do better is always very helpful.

Please be advised that all of our rooms differ in size and set up, so it would be our pleasure to arrange you a room with separate shower during your next stay. Additionally, we would like to point out that all of our team members went to thorough screening before being hired, and the knowledge of English is one of the important measurements.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed at Hotel des Indes last week when I was in The Hague for work, it was highly recommended by colleagues, and I was not disappointed at all. Very friendly reception staff, I was given a great room with a two post bed, and the hotel is in a great and central location.

Had dinner at the restaurant, and the food was very nice, but not abundant so was a bit hungry when I left. Breakfast could also have used a few more options, and was not up to par with the great standard of this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Eric_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Eric,

Thank you very much for your stay with us in January. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your experience with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a family get together, even dough it was only for 2 nights we have enjoyed every single second, the staff is amazing, and location is superb. Can only recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: club lounge rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Carl,

Thank you for visiting the Hague and for choosing Hotel Des Indes. You short but enthusiastic review is much appreciated and we'll share with our team.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Hotel Des Indes is an ornate and very comfortable, old world hotel in The Hague. The property is rich in the history of Holland with an eye to comfort of business and diplomatic travelers. The staff was friendly and attentive; my room was clean and well appointed; like other reviews, the rooms tend to to darker colors which tends to a more formal ambience. My room did have a full window within a high ceiling overlooking the street. Bathrooms were clean and well organized with a spacious shower; my room did not have a bathtub. The basic wifi was complementary and dependable. Queen size beds were sumptuous. There was some very slight background noise from street traffic on the first floor but it did not disturb a good night's sleep. The bar and central rotunda lounge are truly historical gems and are not to be missed. The Hotel Des Indes is the best place to stay in The Hague.

Room Tip: Every room is arranged slightly differently; ask the staff to explain the unique room design upon ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTravel4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for visiting Hotel Des Indes and for sharing your experience!
We are delighted to learn that you had a nice stay and that you appreciated the ambiance of our property. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My mother was originally from Den Haag and many events in her family were celebrated at this hotel. I have stayed here three times over the years and have always left feeling happy with the choice. It is a compact property with a very cosy feel to it. I rather like the interiors - heavy colours indeed but they seem to suit. I have always been allocated a room at the front of the hotel, overlooking the small square, which affords a very quant view. Staff and service are consistently good and the foyer lounge excellent. This is my choice in Den Haag.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Ashley,

Thank you very much for you wonderful words and for taking the time to share those.
We are delighted to learn that you are a frequent visitor and that we were able to treat you with an unforgettable stay every time. It's just great to be part of such an important family tradition.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent a few days in this hotel. Our feelings are mixed. Decoration, building and room were fine. But we slept very badly because of outside noise from delivery trucks and garbage trucks early in the morning. In addition, the Argentine restaurant just below, poured its full bins bottles at midnight every night, which was not the best to fall asleep.
The room cleaning was not perfect and not the same every day. The service and breakfast were perfect. Finally, sauna, steam room and pool are really not up to the place. (cold pool, showers, steam room cleaning and more than doubtful).
Nevertheless, we spent an excellent night for the nea year eve that was just one of the best we ever had! To conclude, this is a good hotel that needs to make some efforts in few points

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richvirgfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Des Indes recently and for sharing the story of your stay online.
Let is just start by writing you that we were delighted to read that you had a great new year with us!

We do however also like to point out that you mentioned some other points of a less enthusiastic note. Please do note that hygiene and perfection are of great importance to us, and that we will therefore take on your feedback as action points in order to avoid this from happening again.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 68 in The Hague
1,732 reviews
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 68 in The Hague
665 reviews
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
#3 of 68 in The Hague
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paleis Hotel
#5 of 68 in The Hague
490 reviews
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Lange Voorhout 54 /56, 2514 EG, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#5 Business Hotel in The Hague
Price Range: £131 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical grandeur and elaborate elegance, Hotel Des Indes is a haven of luxury in the heart of The Hague. This five star deluxe retreat already embraces you even before you enter with the yellow facade and features a 315-square-metre health club, exceptional restaurant and sophisticated meeting facilities. Each room blends contemporary amenities with iconic architectural statements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien The Hague
The Hague Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing