We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned Grand Hotel with modern amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Old fashioned Grand Hotel with modern amenities”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The first time I saw when we arrived where thousands of crocuses growing at the square in front of the hotel. This was amazing. We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and it we were very satisfied. The room was big enough, it was a bit too dark for my taste and it was very clean. In the corner of the shower were some mildew stains, this is not good for a 5 star hotel. The beds are very comfortable, there was a tray with a Nespresso machine and a water boiler to brew some tea in the room. You got some white tea in the evening and 3 coffee capsules for 1 day. Two 0.5 liter water bottles were free for 1 day.
The rooms are very quiet, you have a nice view on the modern buildings of The Hague.

We had afternoon tea in the hotel, this was very very good. You had sandwiches and scones and cookies and cakes....... I could only eat a small dinner after having this at 16.00h.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The concierge reserved us a table in a fish restaurant nearby and she advised us what to do on a rainy Monday morning when the shops and most of the museums are closed.

The car parking is a little bit more than 35€ a day, but it is in front of the hotel entry, you have to go 10 steps. We did not have dinner and no breakfast in the hotel, we went to a small breakfast and lunch café nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Thessy,

Thank you for visiting Hotel Des Indes and for sharing your insights online. Great to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and we are delighted to see that you took the time to give some extra detailed information.

Our concierges are always willing to help in giving suggestions to any type of guest. They are just amazing in collecting the best tips from all over the city of The Hague.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    206
    68
    39
    14
See reviews for
109
425
74
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ascona, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had to spend one night in The Hague and we choose the Des Indes because it is central and it is old. It is now run by a modern chain (SPG) and we were a bit apprehensive. The newly done interior is a bit over the top but it is all of top quality. The staff is young but very helpful. They had put us in a 4th story room and when I asked them for a room at a lower floor they changed it immediately. Our room was a high ceiling classic with all the comforts that you might expect (and the rate was not outrageous). When we tried to book a table for the restaurant we were told that the restaurant was closed on sundays. But we could eat from the "small card" in the lounge if we wished. We were a bit disappointed but since we were tired we went for that option. And what a surprise!!! The dinner was actually excellent. Yes, the card was small but everything that was served was excellent (I am afraid that this is not the norm in The Hague). Great oysters, lovely turbot, nice sorbets and exceptional Dutch cheeses with a decent Pinot Grigio and that all for a more than decent price (dining out is expensive in the Netherlands). Good experience!!

Room Tip: I always go for the lower floors in old hotels (higher ceilings).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and for your lovely comments. It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we were delighted to be able to share them with our team.

Our brand, The Luxury Collection, always aims to provide restaurant and lounge menus that are authentic and that fit the property well. It is just great to see that you have experienced it as such.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

When in The Hague I stay at Des Indes. For many years now and for the first time I missed the grandeur and impeccable service and the warm welcome. It went wrong from the start. Entering the lobby my first experience was the heavy smoke of cigars. Nothing against cigars, I like one myself from time to time, but it's not something you want entering a hotel. Check-in was sloppy. Not greeted, no welcome back and not even acknowledged as a Gold SPG member. When I get to my floor I find my room is straight across from the elevator. Strange, in my SPG profile it's clearly marked I want to be as far away from an elevator as possible and on high floor. Actually, they did this to me already once before. A simple request for a change of room did result in a move to a room where the bedlights didn't work and where turndown service was clearly not available. I showered before my dinner meeting and found the room in exactly the same condition back when returning late in the evening. So morning shower was with the same ammenitites and towels as evening. My colleague did get a full service room at the same rate.
Dinner was good with fine wines. Breakfast was abundant and good. Check-out took 25 minutes (ok I also paid for a second room and the dinner; but still).
So all-in-all I left disappointed. It used to be different. I hope Des indes can get back to its grandeur of before. I'll certainly give it another try because it is worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Lars,

Thank you very much for your visit to Hotel Des Indes and for your valuable feedback. Please be informed that we will take on this feedback in order to avoid any of this from happening again.

We are however delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your dinner with us. Please be informed that we will sort out what happened during housekeeping service.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Positive:
Location is great, building is historical and beautiful.

Negative:
Doesn't feel like a 5 star hotel!

- Rooms are okay quality and cleanness, but not "polished".
- Stuff is generally friendly, but not confident with their English.
- Breakfast is expensive, but far from exciting.
- No walk-in shower, getting into the bath is difficult and dangerous.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_2014_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Victoria,

Thank you very much for your feedback with regards to your recent stay in Hotel Des Indes. A clear overview of what you really liked and what we can do better is always very helpful.

Please be advised that all of our rooms differ in size and set up, so it would be our pleasure to arrange you a room with separate shower during your next stay. Additionally, we would like to point out that all of our team members went to thorough screening before being hired, and the knowledge of English is one of the important measurements.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed at Hotel des Indes last week when I was in The Hague for work, it was highly recommended by colleagues, and I was not disappointed at all. Very friendly reception staff, I was given a great room with a two post bed, and the hotel is in a great and central location.

Had dinner at the restaurant, and the food was very nice, but not abundant so was a bit hungry when I left. Breakfast could also have used a few more options, and was not up to par with the great standard of this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Eric,

Thank you very much for your stay with us in January. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your experience with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a family get together, even dough it was only for 2 nights we have enjoyed every single second, the staff is amazing, and location is superb. Can only recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: club lounge rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Carl,

Thank you for visiting the Hague and for choosing Hotel Des Indes. You short but enthusiastic review is much appreciated and we'll share with our team.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Hotel Des Indes is an ornate and very comfortable, old world hotel in The Hague. The property is rich in the history of Holland with an eye to comfort of business and diplomatic travelers. The staff was friendly and attentive; my room was clean and well appointed; like other reviews, the rooms tend to to darker colors which tends to a more formal ambience. My room did have a full window within a high ceiling overlooking the street. Bathrooms were clean and well organized with a spacious shower; my room did not have a bathtub. The basic wifi was complementary and dependable. Queen size beds were sumptuous. There was some very slight background noise from street traffic on the first floor but it did not disturb a good night's sleep. The bar and central rotunda lounge are truly historical gems and are not to be missed. The Hotel Des Indes is the best place to stay in The Hague.

Room Tip: Every room is arranged slightly differently; ask the staff to explain the unique room design upon ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTravel4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for visiting Hotel Des Indes and for sharing your experience!
We are delighted to learn that you had a nice stay and that you appreciated the ambiance of our property. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
1,580 reviews
Paleis Hotel
#4 of 67 in The Hague
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#9 of 67 in The Hague
509 reviews
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
#3 of 67 in The Hague
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Lange Voorhout 54 /56, 2514 EG, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#5 Business Hotel in The Hague
#8 Family Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical grandeur and elaborate elegance, Hotel Des Indes is a haven of luxury in the heart of The Hague. This five star deluxe retreat already embraces you even before you enter with the yellow facade and features a 315-square-metre health club, exceptional restaurant and sophisticated meeting facilities. Each room blends contemporary amenities with iconic architectural statements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien The Hague
The Hague Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing