We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Bamberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

During several trips to The Hague in the past months I’ve stayed in different rooms at the top (executive) floor of the Kurhaus hotel. The rooms are regular European four star standard - maybe a bit outdated and overpriced. Some of them offer a nice sea-view, though.

Here’s what really turned my last stay into a bad experience:

To my great surprise, the hotel imposed a smoking-fine of 150 Euros even though I’ve never smoked in the room. My request for an explanation was answered by the manager on duty. In his response he states that he has two witnesses and -I quote- that’s all the evidence he needs.

Without any further information I don’t know who these witnesses are - all I know is that they are wrong (if they ever existed) because I know for a fact that I never smoked smoked in the room.

I don’t like to be called a liar and I don’t like to be taken advantage of, so -obviously- I won’t spend another night in that place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Keyser S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for this situation. It is a real shame that you have experienced the Kurhaus in this way, this is absolutely not the standard we uphold.

Please be as kind to contact us via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl in order to find a solution together.

Yours sincerely,

Samantha S. Fulton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    320
    178
    99
    64
See reviews for
183
502
40
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grevenmacher
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed here on a business trip in March 2013.
Rooms were nice enough in the new part, although one colleague had a dingy un-renovated room. Only oddity was the door to the bathroom: glass, as is fashionable, but with a hole for a door handle, making sure any noise travels even better. Do you really want to stay here if you are a couple? My view of the beach was obstructed by a huge billboard.
We waited nearly 45 minutes in the bar for an order of soup. Most impressive and not cheap.
Found out very abruptly in the morning that my room had a (locked) communicating door to the next room when the neighbour turned the TV on full blast well before 7 am. Lovely.
I then forgot my phone charger, which the hotel wanted nearly EUR 30 to send within Europe, half of it "admin charges". They were totally unapologetic, referring to "policy".
Good bureaucrats, but not what I expect from a wanna-be top hotel.
Don't forget anything there if you do stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucretius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear guest,
What a shame to read that your stay was not truly to your satisfaction.
Please be as kind to contact our Executive Office via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl so we can make sure your next stay with us will be absolutely perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We booked two rooms 170 Euro per nightper room (breakfast not included) and were looking forward to a few quiet nights in the historic hotel. The first night was a bit of a disappointment, as we we put in one of the 'traditional rooms' or in other words, rooms they dump you in first and see whether you settle on it or not. Those rooms had a furniture from about 20 years ago and (non flat) TV that was probably even older than that. After my chat with the reception next morning, we we quickly relocated to the modern wing where everything was tip top, as expected. Certainly an interesting learning about behaviours of hotel, no matter ow luxurious!!!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank caledonian_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank your very much for leaving a comment on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed the room which we have moved you to.
Please contact us when making your next reservation and we will make sure your next stay will be perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed overnight in this hotel because we went to see Sister Act in the Circus theatre. The hotel is very comfortable, great location amidst restaurants and across from the Casino. Rooms are very comfortable, you need a key card to operate the elevator to your floor so security is good. I found the free wifi slow and you had to continuously log in, but it was no huge issue.
Breakfast was excellent for 25 Euros and all staff was very friendly. So all in all recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smookToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Two years ago, I lived for several months in the Kurhaus Hotel and I spend several times a weekend during the last 2 years in this hotel. The staff really made me feel at home. The approach is very personal and of a very high standard. The rooms are spacious and nice and cleanly decorated.

The breakfast is superb, the restaurant serves food at a very good price/quality ratio and the bartenders are the greatest

The hotel is perfectly located, nearby the beach with excellent parking service. I cannot wait to have a new project in the Netherlands and go live there again.

Room Tip: Rooms 411 and 311 are a bit bigger than the others, try to get an upgrade to the fifth floor (nice w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Please contact us when you would like to make another reservation in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Classic, impressive hotel. We received a complimentary upgrade and stayed in a corner room at the executive floor. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The breakfast buffet offered a variety of choices. The elevators were old, small and very slow. They should upgrade them.The hotel's proximity to the beach was great. Other than the beach, the location doesn't offer much entertainment. You should go to The Hague for nice shops and restaurants. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to our elevatord, we are currently investigating several solutions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

The hotel is really big and fascinating. The breakfast hall is amazing, all the rest of the hotel simply fantastic. It is really a 5-star hotel. The position is almost perfect, on the beach, two steps from the Crazy Pianos and in front of the Holland Casino. Breakfast includes whatever you can imagine and more. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Sea side for the landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flight S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
0.4 mi away
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen
2.4 mi away
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hague Marriott Hotel
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#6 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Address: Gevers Deynootplein 30, 2586 CK, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in The Hague
#10 Business Hotel in The Hague
#19 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is directly located at the North Sea and is the ideal place to enjoy Scheveningen, the sea, the beach and the 'Royal' city of The Hague. The Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague offers a selection of 253 elegant accomodations. Each of the rooms offer extra-long, comfortable bedding, a desk and free use of the minibar which is restocked daily. The private bathroom comes with a contemporary decor. The restaurant serves an extensive breakfast and features views over the North Sea. When the weather allows it, it is also possible to enjoy breakfast on the terrace of the hotel. Guests can have a high-tea, brunch or coffee while chatting in the conservatory. The restaurant serves classic French-style haute cuisine for dinner, with a slight focus on fish and seafood dishes. The usage of the Wi-Fi is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Kurhaus The Hague
Hotel Steigenberger Kurhaus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing