We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tries to be an upmarket establishment but fails”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tries to be an upmarket establishment but fails”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. The rooms are excellent, as are the shared areas. The breakfast was good. We arrived at 9:30 on a Wednesday evening and the restaurant was not longer serving, we were advised to go to the bar. In the bar they said they'd have to phone the kitchen to see if they would still do bar snacks, which they did. The snacks were not good and frankly I expect better from a place that charges as much as this one does. The business centre of the hotel was a dusty room where you wouldn't want to work and the bedroom wifi was really slow. I got a quicker connection tethering to my phone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptzacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay regarding the internet and you experiences in our Bar.

Your opinion is very important to is, your feedback makes it possible for us to improve our service.
We hope to welcome you in the hotel again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    349
    201
    123
    75
See reviews for
204
559
43
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Possibly one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in. The building is unbelievable! The bedrooms are lovely. It is on the beach so you can go for an evening or morning walk by the sea. It is right next to a popular bar called Crazy Pianos if you are wanting a bit of a dance later on. And most impressive of all - the breakfast. I've been to a few hotels over the past year, but nothing compares to this. Everything fresh, everything top quality, and, well, everything! It has anything you could possibly want for breakfast and more - fresh bread, 20 cheeses, 20 hams, eggs three ways, cereal, fruit, fish, salad, everything!!!

What a place. Beautiful and full of character and class.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustylou63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding our Breakfast buffet.
We are indeed very proud of it! We hope to welcome you in our hotel again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
440 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was my first visit to to Scheveningen and to the Kurhaus. The hotel is perfectly located just in front of the sea. There are many good restaurants and bars in the hotel vicinity. The hotel itself is old ,but is very beatifull. The service is a little old fashioned and slow. The internet connection is unbearably slow!!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ocean are more expensive but the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanij60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear guest,

It is very nice to read that your stay in the Steigenberger Kurhaus hotel was to your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you in the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel again in the near future!

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at the Kurhaus Hotel in Scheveningen, The Netherlands for our 1 year wedding anniversary. Our stay was excellent, although the hotel is a bit pricey, the Kurhaus Zaal is an amazing place to have breakfast or dinner. We stayed for dinner in the hotel twice, the food is great, and the staff was very friendly and professional.

We had a room on the fourth floor, with sea view - definitely worth the extra money, you won't regret it.

If there is one negative thing to mention, I did have the feeling that the reception staff was a bit grumpy every now and then. They also forgot to give is new towels one day, which was later rectified by someone who came to check up on housekeeping.

Room Tip: Sea view executive rooms (fourth floor) with balcony are very nice - especially when having a romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvanberlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We would like to thank you as well for your feedback, this feedback helps us to improve our service.

Please be as kind to contact our Executive Office when planning another visit to Scheveningen via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl and we will make sure your stay will be absolutely perfect.

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and i booked that hotel which is supposed to be an institution in NETHERLANDS for a special occasion!!
We were quiet disappointed!! We were hardly welcomed at the reception. The room with so called beach view was ugly and tiny and the sink was blocked!!
Fortunetaly the restaurant was good!!
The reputation of this hotel is overated!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lekkerpollux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear guest,

Please be as kind to contact our Executive Office via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl so we can discuss the feedback of your stay with us together.

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilze
Level Contributor
147 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Kurhaus Hotel is an impressive building right on the Scheveningen beach. Although the building itself dates back from 1885, it is carefully modernized and the rooms are quite comfortable.
We stayed here using a Groupon discount for a seaview room and including a 3-course dinner.
As mentioned, the room was quite comfortable, not large but with splendid sea view.
The dining room is an impressive fin de siecle room; during dinner there was a pianist was playing and singing. The 3-course dinner was tasteful, the wine arrangement, however, was poorly arranged as only 1 one was served instead of 3. Ok, miscommunication between the waiters.
The next day, a buffet breakfast was served in the same impressive room.

Room Tip: The rooms with sea view have a great view but can be noisy in the evenings because of the take-away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akulon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay in the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel. We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your dinner in our Kurzaal restaurant regarding your wine arrangement. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Samantha s. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful and historic beach resort! Even though very busy, the Hotel staff remained extremely attentive from check in till check out. Breakfast had been served in a most stunning and breathtaking restaurant with an excellent choice, from fresh orange juice to the custom fit egg specialty prepared at the live cooking station. We went one night for dinner on the outside terrace, which just confirmed the excellent level of service – do not eat at the restaurants on the promenade with little value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much fory your positieve review! We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed our stay in the Kurhaus as wel as your visit to our Kurzaal Restaurant and Terrace.

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
0.4 mi away
Carlton Beach
Carlton Beach
#1 of 24 in Scheveningen
1,024 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#6 of 24 in Scheveningen
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
#5 of 24 in Scheveningen
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Address: Gevers Deynootplein 30, 2586 CK, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in The Hague
#10 Business Hotel in The Hague
#20 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is directly located at the North Sea and is the ideal place to enjoy Scheveningen, the sea, the beach and the 'Royal' city of The Hague. The Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague offers a selection of 253 elegant accomodations. Each of the rooms offer extra-long, comfortable bedding, a desk and free use of the minibar which is restocked daily. The private bathroom comes with a contemporary decor. The restaurant serves an extensive breakfast and features views over the North Sea. When the weather allows it, it is also possible to enjoy breakfast on the terrace of the hotel. Guests can have a high-tea, brunch or coffee while chatting in the conservatory. The restaurant serves classic French-style haute cuisine for dinner, with a slight focus on fish and seafood dishes. The usage of the Wi-Fi is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Kurhaus The Hague
Hotel Steigenberger Kurhaus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing