We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, location is just excellent for the summer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, location is just excellent for the summer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Nice place to stay at, high-class Hotel right AT the beach, literally. Wonderfull for runners or just for a nice walk (weather permitting). The Rooms are great and breakfast is incredible. A place to coma back to, but a bit pricey depending on season.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miglozoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Samantha F. Fulton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    320
    178
    100
    64
See reviews for
183
503
40
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband was attending a conference in The Hague and we wanted to stay in a hotel in an area where there was movement and colour. You cannot take where the hotel location too seriously as it is like many coastal/seaside locations but the hotel itself is impressive and there is a lot going on in the location unlike the conference hotels. It is also an easy tram trip to the centre of town,
We had a balcony room with seaviews and on our first day toasted our stay with very nice French champagne on the balcony and was greeted by a well fed and large seagull.
As we made several day trips in Amsterdam the staff were very helpful with directions and finding restaurants. The conference dinner was held here with excellent food, wine and service.

Room Tip: I booked online and took a top of the range room with sea views and, therefore, breakfast, minibar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneyelectra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us.
It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay!

Yours sincerely,

Samantha S. Fulton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Great stay in this nice and historic hotel. Located near the beach, boardwalk and surrounded with good restaurants at short distance. The staff was very courteous, helpful and polite. Room was comfortable with everything we need. Breakfast too pricy, and my only negative point due to a flat rate price of 25 euros, 20 euros if you prepay. Expensive breakfast for a croissant, fruit and a coffee.

Room Tip: My room was facing the entrance, and very noisy at 1am with people yelling on the street, a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It gives a great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed staying with us.

Yours sincerely,

Samantha S. Fulton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Spent 3 nights with our 2 daughters in this marvelous Hotel !
The service is fantastic !
The Food is wonderful !
The only comment is the bathroom : new and modern cranes but not suitable ! After washing up you have to clean up the bathroom from spoiling unnecessary water !

Room Tip: rooms with a seaview are preferrable !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannes0473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay!
We hope to welcome you in our hotel again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Many years ago I visited Scheveningen for the first time and the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel was by far the best you could get. Now, 20 + years later, it is by no means a 5 star hotel anymore (just because they offer the required amenities it doesn't mean they also deserve a fifth star), but rather max. 4 stars. Upon check-in you can somewhat guess what to expect and to which clients this hotel now caters to: many undisciplined children of Arab origin, a corresponding background noise, people in clothes totally unbecoming for this standard, and against which no one does anything. The staff at the reception itself acts only mechanically, without personal touch, and you feel more 'passed through' than really welcomed.

Granted, the atmosphere at the Kursaal is phenomenal, so is the breakfast buffet but that was about it. Many rooms have not been renovated for several years and also the room service itself is not taken as seriously as it would befit a hotel of this category. Lots of dust, dirt, dander, mold or crumbs, not to mention the dirty windows. What use is an overpriced room with a sea view when I can not see it? ALso, the rooms are not any better or worse then any room at any given business or city hotel with 3 stars.

Most startling is the fact that this once beautiful house is complete obstructed and surrounded with snack bars, nightclubs, beach bars and other architectural blunders, what a shame that the city let this happen. Don't be fooled by the nice photos online, it does not look like that!

I will most likely not come back to Scheveningen, and if I do, then I'd rather stay in the Carlton Beach next door, at least you have your own beach and it is only half the price for better and newer accommodations and better service.

Room Tip: Avoid sea view rooms in the lower floors, they are loud and you will get all kinds of kitchen- or wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay .

Your opinion is very important to is, your feedback makes it possible for us to improve our service. Should you decide to come back to Scheveningen in the future please contact us via Executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl so we can make sure your stay will be absolutely perfect.

Yours sincerely,

Samantha S. Fulton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. The rooms are excellent, as are the shared areas. The breakfast was good. We arrived at 9:30 on a Wednesday evening and the restaurant was not longer serving, we were advised to go to the bar. In the bar they said they'd have to phone the kitchen to see if they would still do bar snacks, which they did. The snacks were not good and frankly I expect better from a place that charges as much as this one does. The business centre of the hotel was a dusty room where you wouldn't want to work and the bedroom wifi was really slow. I got a quicker connection tethering to my phone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptzacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay regarding the internet and you experiences in our Bar.

Your opinion is very important to is, your feedback makes it possible for us to improve our service.
We hope to welcome you in the hotel again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Possibly one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in. The building is unbelievable! The bedrooms are lovely. It is on the beach so you can go for an evening or morning walk by the sea. It is right next to a popular bar called Crazy Pianos if you are wanting a bit of a dance later on. And most impressive of all - the breakfast. I've been to a few hotels over the past year, but nothing compares to this. Everything fresh, everything top quality, and, well, everything! It has anything you could possibly want for breakfast and more - fresh bread, 20 cheeses, 20 hams, eggs three ways, cereal, fruit, fish, salad, everything!!!

What a place. Beautiful and full of character and class.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustylou63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding our Breakfast buffet.
We are indeed very proud of it! We hope to welcome you in our hotel again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Samantha S. Fulton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
0.4 mi away
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen
2.4 mi away
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hague Marriott Hotel
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#6 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Address: Gevers Deynootplein 30, 2586 CK, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in The Hague
#10 Business Hotel in The Hague
#19 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is directly located at the North Sea and is the ideal place to enjoy Scheveningen, the sea, the beach and the 'Royal' city of The Hague. The Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague offers a selection of 253 elegant accomodations. Each of the rooms offer extra-long, comfortable bedding, a desk and free use of the minibar which is restocked daily. The private bathroom comes with a contemporary decor. The restaurant serves an extensive breakfast and features views over the North Sea. When the weather allows it, it is also possible to enjoy breakfast on the terrace of the hotel. Guests can have a high-tea, brunch or coffee while chatting in the conservatory. The restaurant serves classic French-style haute cuisine for dinner, with a slight focus on fish and seafood dishes. The usage of the Wi-Fi is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Kurhaus The Hague
Hotel Steigenberger Kurhaus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing