We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Trenton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Enjoyed the hotel. Centrally located and close to restaurants. You can easily walk to all kinds of restaurants from there. The rooms are nice and the wi-fi works well. Breakfast is good. Only drawback is that you have to pay for parking. Otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel33364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel next time.

Yours sincerely,

Samantha S. Fulton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    365
    227
    139
    89
See reviews for
227
595
45
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our room had a view of the North Sea, but also the bass sounds from a disco located at the base of the hotel on the boardwalk.

The staff was vary friendly and efficient, the beds comfortable but the wifi was poor and slow. Dinner, wine and service were all very good in the restaurant.

Great breakfast - almost worth staying there just for the breakfast! The cost of the breakfast was included in our room price and not billed extra, as Booking.com had said.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for leaving you comment on Tripadvisor and what a shame to read that you have experienced noise from the outside restaurants and Bars. It is a shame that you have not contacted us during your stay, we would have been happy to give you a room move to an more quite room.

Yours sincerely,

Samantha S. Fulton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here (sadly) for just one night for a conference, arriving very early in the morning. Not a problem, the room was ready, allowing me to shower, change relax and do some work during the day.
Room was very well appointed, great bathroom, and the hotel itself is in great condition.
Valet parking outside, which was perfect, and it couldn't be located better on the sea front, with a huge choice of eating and drinking establishments and a great beach.

World class hotel and staff, might have to go again on vacation !

Room Tip: Sea view is probably worth the extra, my "City view" room (270) had a view of the sea, kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

We are pleased to read that your stay in the Steigenberger Kurhaus hotel was to your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you in the hotel again in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Samantha S. Fulton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had to wait a few weeks to reflect on my review for this supposedly 5* hotel. The actually experience of staying at the Kurhaus bears little resemblance to the 'values' promoted on the hotel website, and we have now stayed in numerous less prestigious, and cheaper hotels, in The Netherlands that are better and more efficiently managed. I suggest the hotel introduces some 'mystery shoppers' to the hotel on a busy period ( we stayed a Wednesday night) to get an accurate picture of the complete hotel experience, away from their obvious business and conference ( or the World Cup Hockey) visitors who probably don't pay the bill themselves anyway. Firstly trying to find the hotel by car is problematic. - you can see the domed roof, but have to access a tiny unmarked side road queuing 15 mins with others who are trying to use an unconnected underground car park. Eventually we did in fact get good on site free parking ( not the 30 plus Euros / day originally quoted) as I have a disabled blue badge, and was hardly able to walk that day. Then 20 mins wait to check in. A porter offered me a wheel chair, and offered to take our bags upto our room - it seems despite 5* rating this was not the norm. Room on second floor dated decor of 25 years ago, though comfy bed and expected facilities eg bath robes, slippers, mini bar, but old - fashioned TV, and non- working kettle ( odd electric tray that held tea making facilities and kettle in bathroom). Rang reception to get it changed - 15 mins later it was. Next morning breakfast in the large turn of the 19/20th century restaurant area was AWFUL: guests were ' signed in ' at a central area with about 12-15 people milling around in the middle waiting to be seated for 15 minutes plus. Visiting the buffet, for which one was charged 20 Euro per head, was even worse- the food was almost stripped bare, with empty serving plates, and cake stands giving some hint at missing choice. Plates, glasses, bowls etc were also problematic. We wanted milk to go in tea and serve with cereal, over a 15 minute period 3 members of staff were asked to top- up the dispenser - a fourth request direct to restaurant 'receptionist' made me even crosser as her smiles and platitudes were not appropriate. An offer to get me a glass of milk was not going to rectify other dinners' needs. The only other items to be replaced 1 hour 25 minutes after registering for the meal was one cake tier of two types of Danish pastries, and some Dutch ' doughnuts'; the few remaining baked beans for example had stuck to the dish with the burner. We came down to breakfast at 8.50 and left at 10.30 , but not put of leisurely choice. The only good thing I can say about the breakfast is the machine that makes fresh squeezed orange juice - I suggest you go to the beach cafés for breakfast instead and just admire the architecture by walking around the restaurant after 10.45. However even this was not delightful that morning - debris on the floor and old drink / snack containers still littered the bar area with the nice old photos of visiting stars/ performers ( other than the large photos in the foyer of the Rolling Stones in 1964). Signing out was again a 15 min queue at noon, as new visitors were registering in! Not worth the price or frayed temper, although well sited in the trendy beach area it might have been lovely once. Wifi connectivity would not work for our room for iPad! but did for notebook.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smallportions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and what a shame to read that the experience you have had with our hotel was unpleasant. We want to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and to you. Please contact our Executive Office via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl when you are planning to visit the Kurhaus Hotel in the near future and we will do something special for you.

Yours sincerely,
Samantha S. Fulton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these The Hague hotels

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
248 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What an amazing building. The façade is impressive and the inside even better. We had booked an executive room which I was surprised to find quite small, it didn't feel like an executive room. We did have a view of the sea but not a great one. Comfortable bed. As part of this deal we had free access to the minibar in the room which included wine and half a bottle of champagne. It is worth enjoying the pre-dinner canapés and free drink in the bar downstairs. Service was super, the canapés lovely and the young chap playing the piano was clearly enjoying his job! Breakfast is very good. Freshly squeezed orange juice, great selection of breads, cereals etc. The hot buffet was less impressive. The restaurant area is like a huge ballroom, well worth seeing, great atmosphere and sense of history. We were here as part of a cycle tour. It was the only hotel on the trip that charged (15 euros) to park a bike in their car park. We chose not to pay and so padlocked ours to the small bike rack at the front of the hotel which was in a very open area. The bikes were fine overnight but I was a little concerned that they were on such open view.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay in the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel!
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Samantha S. Fulton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I don't know, maybe I am turning into a fussy old git? Maybe I have been too spoilt by staying in too many good hotels? Maybe my car breaking down in downtown, dope-infested Amsters blackened my mood for the stay? Maybe my expectations were too high? First and foremost, the Kurhaus is not a five-star hotel. It is, at best, a three-star hotel which, taking into account its price, should not have surprised me and probably should have prepared me. In addition to this, I cannot say that the hotel was so awful as to ruin my stay. The staff, when available, were charming and the hotel manager fielded a complaint I had about my room with great professionalism, sorting out the problem quickly and efficiently. My room was shabby, the bathroom reminiscent of a student hostel a facility of which, courtesy of my son's continuing education, I am painfully aware. It was a hotel that tired quickly. The food was adequate, no more and the doors locked after 12 midnight - which gave even greater credence to my hostel theory. I don't know, every Dutch person I have ever met is utterly charming and totally wonderful so maybe I should just grin and bear it..........after all the Intercontinental in the aforementioned Dope Den is five-star bliss......

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James1962186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. This feedback helps us to improve our service. We offer you our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay in the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel.
Please be as kind to contact our Executive Office via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl when making your next reservation and we will make sure your next stay will be absolutely perfect.

Yours sincerely,

Samantha S. Fulton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is located at the perfect spot on Scheveningen. The building is quite glorious and has great views of the beach. The weather was perfect when we visited, which certainly helped. Would definitely revisit, and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PM93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this prefect score. We hope to welcome you back in the hotel in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Samantha S. Fulton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
0.4 mi away
Carlton Beach
Carlton Beach
#1 of 24 in Scheveningen
1,055 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
#4 of 24 in Scheveningen
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#5 of 24 in Scheveningen
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
910 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Address: Gevers Deynootplein 30, 2586 CK, The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in The Hague
#11 On the Beach Hotel in The Hague
#20 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is directly located at the North Sea and is the ideal place to enjoy Scheveningen, the sea, the beach and the 'Royal' city of The Hague. The Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague offers a selection of 253 elegant accomodations. Each of the rooms offer extra-long, comfortable bedding, a desk and free use of the minibar which is restocked daily. The private bathroom comes with a contemporary decor. The restaurant serves an extensive breakfast and features views over the North Sea. When the weather allows it, it is also possible to enjoy breakfast on the terrace of the hotel. Guests can have a high-tea, brunch or coffee while chatting in the conservatory. The restaurant serves classic French-style haute cuisine for dinner, with a slight focus on fish and seafood dishes. The usage of the Wi-Fi is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Kurhaus The Hague
Hotel Steigenberger Kurhaus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing