We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panorama Mesdag

Panorama Mesdag
Ranked #4 of 167 things to do in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A magnificent experience in time and space.
River Forest Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We visited the Hague for a day while in the Netherlands. We came here because it was "free" since we had a Museumkart. I had low expectations. It turns out that this was the biggest upside surprise of our week in the Netherlands. The Panorama painting was cool, the story of its refurbishment very interesting and the 3D art was spectacular. You should come here and then go the sea shore. I liked this better than the more popular Asher museum. It's easy to find and you will spend sixty to ninety minutes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mbpman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    413
    75
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful Illusion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had no expectation when I visited this museum. It is located nearby my friend's house in The Hague, so I decided to drop by. The 3D paintings on the ground floor are very smartly created. They leave us impression as if we're inside them and see them from various perspective. The views are different when we see them from different perspective. If we go upstair, we can see the 360-degree panorama painting. It feels real. In term of history, it also gives us idea about how Dutch people lived nearby Scheveningen area in the past.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank IchaMaisya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great place... Out of the past..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

It is history well preserved; easy to visit-not lots of time. Gives you a very different view of how Scheveningen used to look.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Over-rated Panorama”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This 360 degree painting inside a dome represented historical research of the area, and diligent application of paint. But, I found myself thinking "So what?". The sandy shore simulated in the foreground is a clever idea, but unconvincing because I can't imagine the Dutch would leave so much clutter on a beach or abandon useful articles . I believe the scenes depicted would interest people without knowledge of how things were many years ago, and also would be a worthy introduction to history for schoolchildren. Let's say I was interested to see it as a curiosity, but rather underwhelmed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank catti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wow! That says it all. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We did not know what we were going to see, but wow, we loved it! My husband and I thought we would drop in before the museum closed. Of course all the 3D art was very neat, but last and certainly not least, the panorama was fantastic. You really feel like you're looking at the landscape from the 1880s. You really need to see this!

Helpful?
Thank SandEseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panorama Mesdag also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Panorama Mesdag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing