We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Atlantic Den Haag
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed here from December 29, 2012 until January 1, 2013. Following months of renovations to our house and other mayhem it proved to be the perfect place to wind down and recharge our batteries. I will not repeat what SlothBristol_UK wrote below, because I fully agree.

A perk during our stay: our top floor view of the fireworks over The Hague, which started in the morning of December 31st and lasted well into the night. Those Dutch guys really love their fireworks!

What I also appreciate in any NH Hotel is the fact that breakfast is served until noon on Sundays and that all dishes are replenished, so you can sleep in. Oh, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Els76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    480
    161
    46
    18
See reviews for
241
545
47
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Obviously this hotel is on the coast (although its the North Sea rather than the Atlantic!) so no good if you want to be closer to the city centre. I've stayed there twice now for business and found it very comfortable with a very spacious and clean room and good service all round. There a number of good places to eat along the sea front and the breakfast in the hotel itself was excellent. Last time I was there I hired a bike from the hotel and had a great ride along the cycle paths in both directions along the coast. Good for walking too.
There is a frequent bus service (14, I think) into town from right outside the hotel - it takes about 30 minutes to get to the centre. The bus also goes to the Central Station which could save about 35/40 Euros for a taxi on arrival and departure.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea-view although this may require an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SlothBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
487 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We booked a standard room but at the arrival we have decided to use they offer and upgrade for 12,50 EUR per room to the next cathegory. The room we got was large, the bathroom was huge and looked brand new with separate shower, toilet and large bathtub comfortable for two people.

The beds were again two beds pushed together (seems the be the thing in Europe) but very comfortable. Fridge, tea facilities, balcony and very good heating (which is not always the case in those beach hotels). Big plus is the free WIFI.

The breakfast was decent. Not very exciting selection of hot stuff but overall good selection for breakfast.

There is 7 EUR per room per night charge of local tax, which is the highest I have ever seen, but nothing the hotel can do about it. The parking lot is 12 EUR per night, so you might as well park outside on the street.

Overall very good experience.

Room Tip: Sfeer is a restaurant nearby that offers good selection of fondue. The prices are quite good. The fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dafne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

After we had parked the car on the site for € 12 p / n. , we were pleasant welcomed at the reception. We had a room which you can expect as a standard room in a 4 star hotel. Big beds, super sleep. The room was clean and well furnished, bathroom ditto. Anno 2012 you may be expect a flat tv screen and free WIFI in a 4 star hotel, to our regret, this was not the case.
In the room there was an ironing board and trouser press, clearly present (who needs this?). From the balcony on the dune side we had a nice view of the dunes and a side view of the North Sea. In the distance we saw the center of Scheveningen and the skyline of The Hague. The breakfast was what you can expect from a 4 star hotel, but unfortunately nothing extra. From the hotel you walk directly into the dunes, the beach or the small Kijkduin boulevard.
Both to Scheveningen-beach and the citycenter of The Hague is 7 km from the Hotel
Great and relaxing stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bartho0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel for business, I didn't like the outside, it needs a renovation, but inside is all neat and shinny.
The staff is very friendly and professional, the rooms are great size and very well equipped (hence the old TV, but who wants to watch TV with a sight like that?)
Very good value for money, perfect for a weekend getaway, the beach is quiet, the dunes invite to have a morning jog. Yet the city of The Hague is just a few minutes away by bus or taxi.
The only thing I would improve is the waiting time at the reception.
Oh, yes, and have a swim in the sea, the swimming pool is tiny.

Room Tip: Definitely a sea view is the price difference worth!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gravitania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The NH Atlantic hotel is located in Kijkduin, a lovely suburb of the Hague, and right at the Beach which is always great. One of the big advantages of this area is that parking is without any charges. Something that is quite unique in the Netherlands. However, if you want to be sure of a parking spot, the hotel is offering it for €12 per night. I opted for this because it was very busy with daytrip tourists during our stay and I did not want to walk a mile to reach the hotel (with our three months old little baby girl).

For years the Atlantic is very popular with Germans, but many guests are also from the Netherlands. Do not expect young hipsters, more likely you will meet the 40-50+ segment and some families with children. The hotel rates do reflect this because you can expect to pay around €100-120 per night excluding breakfast.

The breakfast buffet is reasonably good, but a bit overpriced though at around €19 per person. Therefore please try to find a touroperator deal which has breakfast included. You should be able to get a deal around €90 (or less) per room with them without spending too much searching time in the net.

The standard room we booked was quite okay. It was clean, had a nice bathroom with a bath, hairdryer and the usual NH toilet items (soap bar, shampoo, conditioner). An iron board, fridge and electronic save (although too small to store a laptop, but fine for a tablet) and coffee & tea making facilities are also offered. The Philips TV is a rather old fashioned model, but worked fine for us. Besides, who want to see television while the lovely Kijkduin beach is just steps away? A really nice touch is the balcony that each room has. Always wonderful to spend some time there in the morning or watching sunset. Anyone who is complaining about the rooms is in my opinion only used to stay at the Hilton or Hyatt top range proporties...

Wi-fi is free of charge, but too slow to be hounest. The hotel should really upgrade their connections to attract and keep younger guests. Both in the Business and Leisure segment. By the way all rooms are equiped with plenty power outlets, ideal for recharging all your electronic devices!

If you are looking for a relaxed and comfortable beach stay in the Netherlands, than the NH Atlantic hotel is your place to be. Do you like more action and fun, maybe you should seek a hotel in the Scheveningen area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flightpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mondsee, Austria
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We went here for a weekend in Den Haag and were lucky enough to have good weather to go to the beach as well. The location is good for this, a bus stops in front of the door that takes you to the city center in 20 minutes and the beach is right in front of the hotel.
The rooms are clean and a good size but not very modern. The rest of the hotel follows suit, it's certainly not the nicest looking but everything is fine as long as you don't plan on spending whole days inside the hotel.

The breakfast is overpriced but it's a nice buffet with good choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomHK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
4.3 mi away
Carlton Beach
Carlton Beach
#1 of 24 in Scheveningen
1,024 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
4.9 mi away
NH Den Haag
NH Den Haag
#7 of 67 in The Hague
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
1,566 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Hague Marriott Hotel
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#9 of 67 in The Hague
478 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Atlantic Den Haag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Atlantic Den Haag

Property: NH Atlantic Den Haag
Address: Deltaplein 200, 2554 EJ, The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in The Hague
#11 Green Hotel in The Hague
#11 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Atlantic Den Haag 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the expansive rural dunes of Kijkduin, NH Atlantic Den Haag provides guests with a unique blend of coastal charm and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Atlantic Den Haag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Atlantic Den Haag Hotel The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing