We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Atlantic Den Haag
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Went to this nice hotel located on the beach for a short January getaway with the spouse. First impression of the hotel is maybe a bit dated but she is very clean and still in great shape.Take the upgrade for a room with a seaview, you won't be disappointed. Perfect location in the dunes for walks on the beach and in the dunes, Nice breakfast and dinner and great and friendly overall service. Only minus: we went to the (great) sauna/pool area of the hotel only to find that there were no towels available when we wanted to get back to the room...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Only stayed for a weekend but could so easily have stayed much much longer; friendly, professional reception, wonderful spacious, clean, warm room (sea view, room 415) with balcony. Fantastic bathroom. We made use of the swimming pool in the morning and also had sauna and steam room facilities.
The breakfast was superduper!! So much choice, fresh, consistently filled and a lovely area with great views where ever you decided to sit. Great walking options, right on the beach and The Hague, Scheveningen on your door stop. Also plenty of shopping, drinking and dining options along the Kijkduin boulevard. Can't wait to go back............. highly recommend it!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 415 with fabulous views over the beach and sea; it's one grade up from Standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

everything is so perfect, but if there is greater variety for breakfast. one thing is more important to emphasize, that the staff at the counter is so nice and friendly, this is what i had never met when i was in my mother country.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Junyi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Nice hotel, little out of date. Verry good location right on the beach. Public transport in front of hotel so The Hague is just 15 min. away. A long walk (9 km) trough the dunes gets you to Scheveningen harbour and beach. First class service, friendly staff nice food. Good promotion from Travelbird ( 66€ for 2 nights, 2 breakfasts and one diner) Also good parking free in front of hotel or pay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The NH Atlantic is a 4 star hotel right on the beach in Kijkduin in The Hague. More accurately I'd say the hotel was close to a 3 star.

The positives:
1. The room are nice and spacious with a little balcony.
2. The bathrooms are clean with plenty of hot water.
3. The restaurant is large and overlooks the beach.
4. They have a cosy bar in the corner.
5. Overall the staff are friendly though there is one young lady in the reception who has no idea what being in the service industry is all about. As another member reported, she is rude and decidedly unfriendly.
6. The beds are extremely comfortable and restful.
7. The hotel provides free wi-fi.
8. The hotel had a very nice oldies type 13 man jazz band playing in the weekend.

The Negatives:
1. If you are staying for a few days, be prepared to be bored by the breakfast. Though it is extensive, it does not change.
2. The cold cuts are never labelled, and it is annoying having to ask what is what very day.
3. The shower ran hot and cold in the middle of my shower on two different occasions which is not very pleasant.
4. Though the hotel does provide free wi-fi, it is pretty weak and intermittent. When you ask reception, they suggest you upgrade to a premium package which costs about 6€ a day. If you like staying connected then save yourself the aggravation and get the premium package.

There are dunes in front of the hotel and it is pleasant to walk through them. Dress warmly though.

Beside the hotel is a seafood restaurant. In front of the hotel is a boulevard with a bunch of restaurants, bars and souvenir shops. Mostly quiet, though it does get busy on Sunday.

Tip 1: There is no supermarket close by, so make sure you have what you want before you get to the hotel, unless you like paying mini bar prices. When you exit the hotel, turn left and walk down the road. Turn left at the first traffic light. A little ways down is a texaco petrol station with a Mimi mart.

Tip 2: If you want to avoid the real touristy bars and restaurants on the boulevard, then walk straight past the restaurant and there are 2 nice bars / cafe's on either side of the road. The one on the left is bigger and has a supermarket behind it.

Tip 3: Past the cafe on the right, there is a lane that turns right to the International School of The Hague. On the corner is a fantastic sandwich shop that sells all kinds of sandwiches and snacks. It's open quite late on the weekends as well.

Overall a very pleasant experience.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Binu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the NH Atlantic for 1 week, starting September 30th, low season for them. We lucked out with beautiful weather, which made for a busy hotel the last weekend we were there.
When you book, make sure to compare prices on several websites, we ended up booking through Expedia, $ 112 Can. per night including breakfast.
We will definitely go back, really liked the hotel and I am rather picky. But not to say it is going to be the same in high season.
Check-in was fast and got an upgrade to sea-view, which was absolutely great, had the balcony door open at night, so could hear the waves.
Breakfast was really good with lots of choices and the coffee was wonderful, even have some take out cups there. Would I pay $ 25 pp for that breakfast if I didn't have that included in the price...? probably not, not with all the great restaurants in the near vicinity.
Room was always clean and there is LOTS of storage space. Blow-dryer in the bathroom has to be quite ancient but it did the trick. No conditioner, only shampoo, showergel, soap, showercap and a sponge.
There are 3 negatives in this hotel and the most important one was the WiFi connection, every day it was a struggle to get in and stay in. You have to get a code and password at the reception and that is good for 24 hours, but I got booted so many times a day I would go through 4-6 codes a day. When I mentioned this to the reception, the receptionist told me it was because I used it too much. Half an hour in the morning and half an hour in the evening to stay in touch with my kids back home is too much...? When we checked out I made the comment again about the Internet and I was told the hotel hopes you upgrade to the Premium Internet package which is about 10 Euros a day. Money grab in my eyes!
Swimming pool can not be used Friday nights and Saturday mornings, because they have it rented out for swimming lessons, didn't bother me but could be for weekend guests that wanted to use it. Swimming pool, Sauna, Turkish Steam-bath were all very nice and clean, but I wished they had towels there for the guests.
Last negative is the dirty windows, we had sea-view and the day we arrived the windows were so dirty it was tough to look outside. We knew they had had storms and understand they cant clean them all right away. A week later that big window was still dirty and knowing how finicky Dutch people are about cleaning their windows, that was a surprise.
Beds were big, there were 2 and just shoved together but we were fine with that, comfortable and again...clean.
Bathrooms are big with a bath tub and separate shower, 2 sinks and lots of space for putting your toiletries away.
Great massage chairs in the hallways downstairs, for 2 Euros you get a great 5 minute massage.
Every floor has a shoe polish machine...nice touch.
Service was good everywhere, friendly staff in the breakfast room and willing to go that extra step.
When we checked out, they gave us a card for a free upgrade for the next time. The receptionist told me it had no expiry date, but when we got home and had a chance to look at it, it had a 6 month expiry date.

Overall a great stay and will definitely be back there if it is in low season.

Room Tip: We had room 317, end of the hall and had a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lamd98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Great location right on the beach!! Good friendly staff!! Nice balcony with a view! But the room was not up to date, and a bit dirty! Car necessary. The Hague is a great city....lots to see and do, for everyone :)

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne69Laren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
2.9 mi away
The Hague Marriott Hotel
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 68 in The Hague
683 reviews
4.3 mi away
Carlton Beach
Carlton Beach
#1 of 24 in Scheveningen
1,150 reviews
4.9 mi away
NH Den Haag
NH Den Haag
#7 of 68 in The Hague
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 68 in The Hague
1,737 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade
3.6 mi away
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
#2 of 68 in The Hague
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Atlantic Den Haag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Atlantic Den Haag

Address: Deltaplein 200, 2554 EJ, The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in The Hague
#11 Green Hotel in The Hague
#12 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range: £72 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Atlantic Den Haag 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the expansive rural dunes of Kijkduin, NH Atlantic Den Haag provides guests with a unique blend of coastal charm and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Atlantic Den Haag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Atlantic Den Haag Hotel The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing