We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Elevator!!!”
Review of Delta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Delta Hotel
Ranked #58 of 68 Hotels in The Hague
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Think it twice before staying there, the hotel- hostal has no elevator. I stayed in the forth floor of it and imagine carring my two heavy suitcases through the small stairs. The breakfast is ok and is the only thing that i liked it. Better to pay a little bit more for any other place.
Internet? You can't count on it.
By the way, do not think about asking for 2 keys even if there are more than 1 person by room.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2007

Location is perfect and that about it
Rooms not clean at all
The remote control was broken , water stocked in bathroom, breakfast was ok, to be short , NOT CLEAN WITH GOOD LOCATION.
Look like a motel in USA

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2007

I stayed at The Delta Hotel for two weeks during December 2006 including being there for Christmas. I thought the hotel was great. The staff were friendly and helpful with whatever questions I had. Breakfast was very nice every day. My room was cleaned every day. The small refrigerator with drinks and snacks was a nice touch as well. The hotel is located a short walk from many of the major art galleries such as the M.C. Escher and the Mauritshuis. The Peace Palace is also about 5 minutes walk. Too many great restaurants and shops to mention that are nearby. If I return to Den Haag I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank laoutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2006

Having read the previous review posted here for this hotel, I booked with some trepidation. However, my fears were entirely unfounded. This is an excellent 2 star hotel - one of the best 2 star hotels I have stayed in in Europe in a major city. It is small, family-run, and friendly (this goes both ways, I have found in life generally that if you are nice to people they will be nice to you). The location on Anna Paulownastraat is excellent as it is equidistant between the centre of town (5 minutes away down the lively Noordeinde street (plenty of shops/cafes etc), or Princesstraat), and the spectacular Vredespaleis in the other direction. You can even get a tram to the seaside resort of Sheveningen, or walk (a brisk 40 mins). The hotel itself is lovely - small but perfectly formed with 11 cosy rooms. I loved the fresh white bed linen and the understated decoration - no garish colours here! I was in room 11 in the eaves which is one of the smallest, but was lovely.
The wetroom is eccentric, but one gets used to it. If you make sure you close the looseat while showering, you can then simply lift it up again and there is no water on the seat. There are electric points in most hotel bathrooms, and it is not at all dangerous.
In any case, the rooms are cleaned every day to a very high standard, so any residual water on the floor of the wetroom gets cleared away. The television was a state of the art flat screen with a number of satellite channels (they even have British TV channels BBC 1 and BBC 2 if you're feeling homesick).
The metallic staircase is admittedly odd, but as long as your neighbours are not too noisy, it won't bother you. I spent six nights here, so had plenty of time to appreciate the hotel's finer qualities, and frankly the location as I say was really excellent.
The breakfast was another highlight: delicious and copious.
For the money, this is excellent value, and lives up to all expectations of a two-star hotel in a major city. The Hague itself is a very interesting and beautiful city with very friendly inhabitants and plenty to do and visit. I recommend both it and the Delta Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank emica32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2006

Where to begin? I relied on Frommer's review of this hotel which gave this hotel a three stars rating - which is unsubstantiated and unjustified. I will no longer be relying on Frommer's for anything relating to Holland. The "hotel" was a far cry from the description given. When you read the review on Frommer, it sounds like a really nice place to stay (boutique hotel with cool art work in a nice neighborhood with cafes and restaurants) Either it is a case of mistaken identity, someone did not visit this hotel or there was bribery involved. I can't figure out which.
First, this alleged boutique hotel is nothing of a boutique hotel. It's more like an overpriced dormitory. It's not soundproofed, so you can hear your neighbours come about (at various hours of the night, getting about in the morning) as well as the traffic outside. Secondly, serious lack of amenities that make this more a hostel than a hotel. Contrary to the website description, no mini-bar in the room and more importantly no ac - a three-stars hotel MUST have ac especially during the summer heat wave. Moreover, I had my doubts about the cleanliness of the duvet (in the middle of heat wave, this is considered to be suffocation) - I doubt that it's been washed between occupants. North American travellers be wary. You've heard about how small European washrooms can be, Delta brings this notion to a new level by economising on space by putting the sink and toilet right in the shower. So when you step in the "bathroom" in fact you step into the shower. After you take a shower, the floor is flooded, with the result that you have to step in water if you need to tinkle afterwards. There was no thought in putting the hairdryer in the bathroom given that you usually dry your hair after taking a shower, and after a shower, the bathroom floor is flooded with water. If you were dry your hair, PLEASE be sensible and don't dry it standing in the "bathroom". Water and electricity are not meant to be together. Clearly this hotel has a death wish for its "guests". Furthermore, the staff is rude, surly and unhelpful. They are absolutely inconsiderate (well, unless you appreciate being awaken by their bustling and so forth early in the morning?) Are you a guest or a pest? There does not seem to be any distinction. Anything you inquire about seems like such an arduous task and you're asking the moon and the stars. The description of the neighborhood as one of the nicest with restaurants and bars is a bit mystifying because first, the notion of the location of the hotel being in the nicest neighborhood is absolutely subjective. One can appreciate that particular neighborhood but there is clearly nicer (and more posher ones) in Den Haag. Secondly, the description makes it appear that the hotel is located at some close proximity of multiple bars and restaurants when in fact, you can count them on the fingers of one hand. In my mind, good selection means more than five.
While Frommers found that this hotel did not have a stiff price tag, given its lack of comfort and poor customer service, you do feel stiffed. There is no lack of selection of hotels in Den Haag, including the pleasant Novotel which is not only appropriately equipped but their staff is absolute delight. If you choose to stay at the Delta, I ask you, do you have masochist tendacies? would you pay for someone to mistreat you?
Giving this "hotel" even a "terrible" rating is a waste of one star and I'd RUN RUN RUN RUN away from this place and would never ever stay here even if it were the last hotel on earth.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lottie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Volgende keer ander hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PatrikVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nooit dit hotel boeken!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ka v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sebel
Hotel Sebel
#33 of 68 in The Hague
143 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
#6 of 24 in Scheveningen
440 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Leidschendam-Den Haag
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Carlton Beach
Carlton Beach
#1 of 24 in Scheveningen
1,098 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#4 of 24 in Scheveningen
196 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#3 of 24 in Scheveningen
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotel

Address: Anna Paulownastraat 8, 2518 BE, The Hague, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 68 Hotels in The Hague
Hotel Class:2 star — Delta Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Delta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Hotel The Hague
Delta The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing