We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to the value”
Review of Stayokay Den Haag

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stayokay Den Haag
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
144 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice to the value”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We had a family room with private bathroom in StayOkay Den Haag. The room is clean and spacious for staying 3 adults and 1 child. We've had a room facing the small river but there are noises from the street and the railway nearby. If you cannot sleep well at night, you'd better bring your ear plug with you.

The location of the hostel is quite OK and just beside the Den Haag HS station. There are tram 1 and tram 9 which connect the hostel to the city center and famous sights in Den Haag.

There are parking space just in front of the hostel and from 9 to 24, it's charged about 2 Euro per hour.

Generally, it's a quite good place for a family stay 1 night in Den Haag.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca_Luo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    69
    48
    11
    10
See reviews for
30
19
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This was my favorite Stayokay out of the three I visited: Den Haag, Rotterdam and Amsterdam. It was much more chill and low-key and quiet than the others. The people I met in the Den Haag hostel were also interested in art and architecture more so than at the others, which seemed to attract more of a partying crowd (ugh--no sleep). The staff was extremely nice and very helpful. The room I was in was nice and light and airy with a view of the canal. You can hear the train a little, but its not too loud, and not bothersome. There were no individual lockers, just a locked luggage room downstairs, but it felt safe enough... I definitely recommend renting bikes and biking to Delft, it was such a fun day! Breakfast was great. We tried eating at the hostel one night, I think Sunday night, and they didn''t have many fresh choices left, but other than that, it was wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkeleyites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Stayokay Den Haag is a simple hostel, but good enough if you just need to stay there for one night. The hostel is located near to a train station, which means that you can reach it well. The neighbourhood surrounding the hostel feels a bit unsafe though, but not so much that it poses a real problem.

If you have a reservation, checking in is easy. The rooms are simple, but good for the price you have to pay. There is noise from the public transport outside, and probably also from other rooms since a lot of adolescents stay there, but this didn't really bother me because it was limited.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRomeijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manaus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I have been in 2007 stay ok hostel and i had a good stay pritty cool place,next to holland spoor,well located from there any traveller can take a train go to rotterdan or amsterdam.


I paid about Eu15 stayed in dorms it was low season no many travellers by luck i have a big room only to me,at the hostel desk i book a tour to Binnenhof and the beach
Scheveningen,every thing was great.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManausManualencar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2009

From 3:00 A.M. until 5:30 A.M. on June 13, 2009, a group of extremely drunk men completely trashed the third floor of the Stayokay Den Haag and scared all the guests. Stayokay staff were nowhere to be seen. Coming out in the morning, we could see that the elevator was broken and unusable, the fire extinquisher had been sprayed all over, the contents of the trash can had been spilt out on the floor, and everything was just a mess. Of course that whole night had turned into a nightmare for all the terrorized guests. Stayokay Den Haag, for making our stay a living hell, I say, "GO TO HELL!" And to prospective guests, I say, take your chances sleeping on the street -- it's just as safe and a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdwitmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these The Hague hotels

England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2008

Stayokay Den Haag was a nice clean hostel. Rooms were on the small side but not uncomfortable. Fresh sheets are provided which is nice. Toilet was a little smelly but nothing drastic!! Shower was fine with enough room to get changed in as well. Breakfast was quite early but buffet style with a selection of cold meats and cheese also cereal. Location is great, out of the main hussle and bussle of the centre but an ok maximum 10 minute walk away. Only downside is the bar does not open until 4 so do not expect to get a drink before then!! The centre of the hague is not all that unless you want to shop. Me and my boyfriend found that the older part is a lot nicer.....friendly locals, good beer and very good food! Highly recommend a street called oude molestraat (Not named on some maps) but is just off Molestraat.
Overall a pleasant stay on a budget!

  • Liked — Cheap and good value for money
  • Disliked — Breakfast being so early
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick Upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

The Stayok hostel in Dan Haag is a converted factory near the centre of the city. It is a very nice ten minute walk into the centre of town. The hostel is situated on a canal side location. It has an outdoor area on the canal which is a fanastic sun trap, chill, read a book and have a beer or coffee from the hostel bar. The staff are all very friendly and helpful (A special thank you to Linda who was fantastic and really helped us out) The dorms are bright and clean with showers and toilets in each room. You are provided with fresh sheets, duvet covers and pillow cases which are so much nicer than the sheet sleeping bags normally provided in most hostels. Breakfast is buffet style with all you need for a good start to the day. All in all a great value for money place to stay in Dan Haag.

  • Liked — Excellent value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bkbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Hague hotels
The Student Hotel The Hague
#10 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Ibis Den Haag City Centre
#13 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Voorhout
easyHotel Den Haag City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jorplace
#33 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Den Haag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Den Haag

Property: Stayokay Den Haag
Address: Scheepmakersstraat 27, 2515 VA, The Hague, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Den Haag 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hague, lovely town behind the dunes. Visit the Binnenhof, the Peace Palace, the city’s numerous shops and sidewalk cafés, the palaces and museums or simply take in some fresh air on the beach in Scheveningen and wander through the dunes. Stayokay Den Haag will give a truly regal touch to your stay in The Hague. The hostel is housed in a beautifully restored building in the style of the Amsterdam School, located in the heart of the city at a five minutes’ walk from the Hollands Spoor railway station. In the hostel, modern-day comfort goes hand in hand with a historic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stayokay Den Haag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing