We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lam & Yin

Lam & Yin
Ranked #57 of 1,396 Restaurants in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The food was very good, and the staff both friendly and attentive.

Beware that the menus do not have any English in them, but the staff speak English very good so that makes it easy to ask for explanations.

Be sure to make a reservation, as there are only about 28 seats in this small, cozy place.

Helpful?
Thank Jan-Helge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    65
    15
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
163 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food, service/timing a little below 1* restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

+ good food, affordable for one star michelin restaurant, 5 starters + 5 mains + 2 deserts (I like a short menu), big portions for a michelin star place
- seats without back support (personal dislike), staff a little below a 1* restaurant imho

Pro tip 1; be a little early as they work in 'shifts' (and doesn't really seem possible to dine at your pace exactly), the first ones to order receive their starters first, then everyone in the restaurant has their starters, then you have the first main course and so on
Pro tip 2; order the best main, even if it's the most expensive, it is still cheap for a 1*

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of the Best Chinese Meal in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have been almost the whole of Europe and being Chinese whenever I am in Europe I always make it a point to have some Chinese food because honestly Chinese cuisine is one of the best and intricate. Lam and Yin is one of the best I have tasted in Europe. The food is simple but the taste is really authentic. One should try the steam sea bass fish. It is truly authentic Chinese way of cooking. The service level is good as well. One however have to book few weeks in advance to ensure that there is a table available. It is always full. The chef is from Hong Kong. I really enjoyed it. This restaurant is also a Michelin star restaurant but the price is ok.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp Province, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Chinese ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I am not a big fan of Chinese food but this restaurant was just to good. It's a fusion not your typical Chinese.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was really nice and cosy. The food was even better. Appetizers were really good. The squid(calamari) was one of the best I ever tried. The shrimp and asparagus was tasty to. We orderd a bunch of dishes and shared. We tried duck, young pigeon, wagyu beef, spicy lamb- they are all delicious. Each dish had its own unique taste.

Definitely recommend this place either for a date, business or with friends!

Helpful?
Thank MJ-traveler1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Cozy, memorable Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This restaurant is about a one mile walk from the train station, past the main shopping area of the Meir. I did not have a reservation and was able to get in at the 06h00 seating as a party of one, but I would recommend getting reservations as the place looked as if it seated less than 30. I had calamari, duck, and the green tea dessert and all were paired well with wine recommendation of the friendly staff. The calamari was exceptional, duck and dessert were very good. I will go back again. Price was reasonable for a restaurant with a Michelin star. The dim sum looked great. Best Chinese food I've had in Europe so far. It was so nice to have a good wine pairing being a party of one that evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MulberryCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lam & Yin also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Lam & Yin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing