We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El bife

El bife
Ranked #89 of 1,396 Restaurants in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were attracted to El Bife because of the positive tripadvisor reviews that it had and to which we are going to contribute.

The menu was in Dutch, but the waiter saw us trying to translate it on our smartphones and went to the effort of translating the whole menu for us.

The food and wine was nice and the quality of the meat was very good. I'd definitely recommend dining here if in Antwerp.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    64
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant a must in Antwerp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I found this restaurant via trip advisor app as I always use when I am out travelling.
We where three colleagues out eating and had a lovely meal here.
We all ate the 250g grilled tenderloin accompanied by local beer.
Food and atmosphere was really nice and I must say that the bbq made this beef very special.
Highly recommendable and I will definitely go again when I am in Antwerp.
A must

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Consistent quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have eaten at El Bife many times and whenever we are in Antwerp we go there. It specialises in quality meat and the steaks are superb as are the lamb dishes. They cook to order and they always deliver the meat cooked exactly as one orders. There is not a wide range of vegetables but the accompanying salads are always fresh and varied. The frites match up to the demanding standards of Belgian frys and the jacket potatoes are large enough for the hungriest.
A nice touch is the tray of spicy and other dips which is presented before the main course along with generous quantities of fresh bread. There s a small but decent wine list although we are usually very happy with the house wine from Chile. The restaurant is a long room and one does not feel to be on top of other people. The proprietors make one feel at home and the service is quietly efficient. English, French, Spanish and of course Flemish are spoken. One leaves El Bife feeling very satisfied.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This is one of the few restaurants in town we regularly return to. They serve delicious steaks perfectly grilled on the main grill in the restaurant. They are served on a sizzling hot iron plate with a standard salad and sauce/ potatoes of your choice. The waiters are friendly and all from South America! The atmosphere can be very busy but that doesn't disturb us because the food is great!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CTH1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our favourite Argentinian steakhouse in Antwerp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This restaurant remains to be our favourite Argentinian steakhouse in Antwerp and we regularly return here to eat a big steak. The Argentinian owners/staff are very friendly and nice. They also speak English, which is not always a rule in Antwerp. The meat has always been the first quality, also salads and french fries, includin a nice food arrangement. The restaurant is always very clean and the prices are reasonable (there are other steakhouses in Antwerp which offer low quality for higher price than El bife). The only disadvantage is that the place is closed on Wednesday and we tento to forget about it :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrena937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El bife also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to El bife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing