We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian restaurant in Antwerp!!”
Review of Il gallo nero - CLOSED

Il gallo nero
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant in Antwerp!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have had dinner there a few times already and every time was perfect. The atmosphere is very romantic and personal (ideal for couples). The host is great, always very welcoming and very friendly. The service is great and it is certainly not fast food. The food is of a very high quality, the portions are not huge but certainly enough.

It is a perfect restaurant for couples, do not go with large groups. It is a small and cosy restaurant, which makes it perfect for a romantic evening. Highly recommended!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Antwerp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
antwerp
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Antwerp”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Without doubt this is the finest food in Antwerp, forget the negative reviews, really, this is food that other places can only dream about, Pasta Perfect, Filet Pur Fantastic, Wine Wonderful, a true dining experience that for me will not be the last one. Please ignore the nonesense about Fawlty Towers, i imagine thats written by people that dont get out so much or expect the waiter to stand next to them all night translating the menu into Flemish (oh its good idea to either be able to speak French or Italian), this is an informal family run restaurant that serves delightful food, Gorgonzola, Scrambled eggs with chickory, amazing !!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntwerpPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
““I felt like being in a Fawlty Towers episode”part 2”
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

We were there with Marco &Co. = No exxageration. We had a big laughter no 'big' meal. Embarrassing for the guests. Never again :-(

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Mie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

i went there with my husband, and for me, it was uncomfortable from top to the end. Food was good, but for the rest, nothing was ok. i even couldn't enjoy talking with my husband there, because many people in such a small place. i don't think they need to do this business, because they didn't seem serious about what they do.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank smallpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I felt like being in a Fawlty Towers episode”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We booked a table for 7 and when we arrived they had it organized over 2 different tables....are you serious??? so we shifted both tables together to avoid a dinner like being on a wedding party.
The reception was very friendly but I got the immediate impression of being in a amateur restaurant. These people are not running a restaurant but playing restaurant.
We arrived at 8pm and got our appetizer at 9h45pm. Main dish arrived at close to 11pm...
We were also asked to make the orders not too complicated so take as much as possible the same entrees and appetizers. We did so but then the problem was again that they were sold out of half of the items on the menu. The owner was running back and forward as the only one in the restaurant (his wife apparently is the cook) and we could see him become more drunk after every run back and forward to the kitchen. It felt like seeing Manuel from Fawlty towers but without the moustache :-)
The food itself was not bad at all but not something worth the wait and frustration. As a local living in Antwerp, for this money you can find a lot better restaurants in every aspect of it.
It was an experience though but I have a feeling this place will not be around for much longer if they keep up this modus operandi.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcoH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il gallo nero also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing