We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Belgium (or maybe even in Europe)”
Review of Het Gebaar

Het Gebaar
Ranked #1 of 29 Dessert in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$78
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
137 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Belgium (or maybe even in Europe)”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

For my boyfriend's birthday, we had lunch at Het Gebaar in February 2012 (for some reason, I forgot to post this review before.)

This was truly our best restaurant experience EVER.

We knew Roger Van Damme from the Flemish tv channel 'Njam' and always loved watching his tv shows in which he makes the most incredible desserts.

What we didn't know, was that his starters and main courses are all just as great as his desserts. So our expectations were highly exceeded.

Every course you get looks like an artist's masterpiece. The plates are so beautifully decorated,it almost feels like it's a downright shame to eat them. But when you do eat them, they're like heaven on your tongue.

So if you go there, don't take just the dessert but try both: main course and dessert.
I think we paid around 70 EUR per person for an alcoholic drink, a fresh orange juice, a main course and a dessert (the desserts are around 20 EUR each but so much worth their money) so all in all not very expensive if you know that this restaurant is the only lunch restaurant (in Belgium) that has a Michelin star.

The only disadvantage is that you can not make reservations in advance on Saturdays (the restaurant itself, told me that - from their experience - they know they can serve more people on a Saturday if they don't take reservations)
So when you go there on a Saturday, you have to be lucky to get a table. We had to wait approx. 30 minutes before we got a table but it certainly was worth the wait.

The restaurant is located in Antwerp's botanical garden. Although the garden is very small, the restaurant's interior is really cosy and the service was very friendly.

I can not say 1 single negative thing about this restaurant. They simply have all the ingredients that a good restaurant should have.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    87
    22
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Every mouthful a different taste explosion”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Went here by chance, thinking that it was a tea room in the botanical gardens. That was our only mistake. I don't think that I have ever eaten food so carefully prepared and thought out. The accompaniments to the veal sweetbreads were astonishing,unsure what everything was, but truly astonishing. The chef specialised in desserts. We chose the one which looks like a garden. Mind blowing! Every mouthful a different texture and flavour, it really looked like a toy garden complete with a tree.
If you are in Antwerp, don't miss this. They are open for lunch not dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzyc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the cost, take your time to enjoy”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

A special experience well worth the high cost. Inside this charming brick cottage at the edge of the Botanic Garden, is an elegant interior with a truly special cuisine. It's a meal to be savored so be sure to allow plenty of time. The waitresses explain the dishes for the non- Flemish speaking, Every dish is individually prepared, and each is a work of art. No vegetarian meals on the menu, but there is a vegetarian option.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very cosy restaurant with excellent food !”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We went here for a meal on my daughters birthday and by her invitation !! it was a real experience !! The chef brought our lunch to our table and was very friendly ! it is a cosy restaurant, feels like in the living room of the chef ... I had the seabass, and it was really fantastic ! after that I didn't feel hungry no more, but we ordered a dessert as well. That was a real eye-catcher !! I had 'the Botanique', and it was like a little garden on your plate ... complete with a little hill of chocomousse, and a tree of chocolate standing right on top of it !! but it was too much for me, after the main course. staff is very friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monieksken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dessert restaurant with great main courses too...”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Het Gebaar is the restaurant of tv-chef Roger van Damme, who is specialized in desserts. When ordering your starter and main course, staff is asking also for your dessert selection. It takes some time to prepare these...

Food is excellent, with an eye for details. The interior is in a sophisticated cottage-style. Staff is helpful and welcoming. A lot of regular visitors around here.

They only take reservations for weekdays. In the weekends you have to be early or you have to cue. Definitely worth waiting though!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OCdR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Het Gebaar also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Het Gebaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing