We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing experience”
Review of Banks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banks Hotel
Ranked #35 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Antwerp
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“disappointing experience”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I heard good things about this hotel but it was not a satisfying experience. The welcome part failed hard already, the receptionist (woman) did not want to check me in because I refused to give my credit card for the following reason: this room was booked on my partner's credit card (company) and whilst he was still on his way to Antwerp, I wanted to check in and wait for him in the hotel. She said it was not an option as I had to pay the room in advance (this was new to me, as when booked online, the credit card of the company had already been submitted). I started to make a fuzz, she asked her colleague and he immediately said, 'no problem at all, you can check in', She then checked me in and in a script manner started explaining about breakfast etc. The room itself I found really disappointing, it may be hip and trendy to build the hotel in an industrial design kind of way, but having your sink in the bedroom, really?? They obviously tried very hard fitting in rooms in a small space. The bathroom itself is then just the toilet room and a bath, nothing special, such a small area that I refused to take a shower there. The breakfast was OK but offered by demotivated personnel, no one I saw seem to really enjoy working there. The only thing good about the hotel is the location, at the 'vrijdagmarkt', so very central (Nationalestraat, Groenplaats).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronique_Axelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    162
    105
    61
    41
See reviews for
33
201
10
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Probably 3 1/2 stars really. Room is tiny but functional enough. They have the peculiar choice of glass door toilet which isn't ideal for anyone sharing.

However snacks and drinks in the big and comfortable chill out area gives this a nice touch. Also have outside area which is a luxury when you are in the heart of Antwerp.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We paid a smashing Euro 130,-- (nov 2012) for a room in this so called 4-star hotel. That is without breakfast. But what is 4 stars on this?

The reception is closed (!) after 20:30 hours (yes, the first four-star hotel without 24-hour service). There is no minibar in the room. Holes of 1cm in the bedding. All towels were shabby and threadbare. The Led-TV wasn't working. The leftside night light didn't work. The rightside nightlight went on spontaneously during the night, several times (it is a touch-me lamp). We therefore hadn't such a nice night in the so-called 4-star hotel.

There is no airconditioning in the room (not needed in november, but in summer... ). The doors are made of triplex and therefore you can hear everything on the hallway (especially the cleaning ladies at 7:30 am, who are quite loud talking to eachother). The hotel is located on a calm street, but you can hear street noise as soon as the city wakes up around 8:00 o'clock. The radio-station of the constructionworkers across the street wasn't really my music-taste... not mentioning the horns of the car that couldn't pass in this narrow street.

After 20:30 hours, there is a night access door that can be opened with your magnetic card... (if you didn't hold it next to your phone as that might erase the information..... )

After our night out, we arrived back around 23:00 hours and figured out that the TV wasn't working. We dialed '9' for reception but it wasn't answered. The desk of the 'guard' looked very abandoned. The next day the reception told us we had to dial the emergency number... (although we don't consider a broken TV as emergency)

Complaints at the reception (next day) resulted in: "Sorry, I can't do anything". There wasn't a manager in the hotel available as he would only be in from 13 o'clock. He would email us, answering our complaints (but so far we didn't receive anything).

We really can't understand who ever rated this hotel as 4-star. We would even not give this 3-stars as there is NOTHING of service on this hotel. We also can't confirm any of the positive reviews here on Tripadvisor.

Seriously, I've been in many hotels, both business and pleasure, but this is the first one with such bad service and such an extreme high price.

Room Tip: Better choose a different hotel. Breakfast is cheaper in Caffé Noir in the same street (Steenhouwers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We booked this hotel for June but we had to cancel. We wrote to them two days in advance and they forfeit the entire price (i.e. we had to pay even if we never go). They said that we cancelled too late and they referred to a confirmation email that we had never received. Even according to the policy that was attached to this confirmation email that we had not received, we cancelled the hotel in time. We do not understand why the entire price has been forfeited. Advise: book another hotel if you have even the doubt that you might need to cancel.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank FrancyG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level Contributor
330 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We went back to this well situated hotel, close to the historic heart of the city and shops. The hotel is also close to a lot of restaurants (any type pf cuisine and all possible prices).
We had a room without a view (not on the street side), the advantage is that you are not disturbed by the street noise (although it tents to be quite in this neighborhood).
The beds are very comfortable and you get real down comforters and enough pillows to get comfy.
The bathroom is small but easily accessible and the shower is big enough and the hot water arrives almost instantaneously.
We did not get the breakfast at the hotel since we believe that their are cheaper and more local alternatives close by.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival, you get a glass of bubbles and you can get some free tapas as well in the bar.

Room Tip: A sfor a room away from the elevator which is at the beginning of the landing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenaipas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariakerke, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I booked two nights in the Junior Suite of Banks hotel for a weekend out with my girlfriend. We were welcomed with a glass of cava by the very friendly gentleman at the reception. Our room was beautiful, clean, very spacious and comfortable. The bed and bedlinnen in particular, were exceptional!
The room was very bright because of the three big windows in every wall (the suite is in the corner of the building). Although on the street side, we heard very little outside noise and slept very well. The only downside was that our gas fireplace didn't work. The staff tried their best to fix it, but were unable to. Pity...
It's true that the reception is closed after 8h30, but you can easily get in/out through the side entrance, and there are plenty of great bars and restaurants in the area, so this was absolutely no problem!
The open bar with fingerfood is truly wonderful and a great asset of this hotel. You can get any drink you want (beer, wine, cava) along with some great tapas and enjoy them in the fantastic lounge area near the fireplace. We enjoyed this immensely!
We skipped the Banks breakfast, as there are many great places in Antwerp where you can get breakfast, for far less money.
All in all we had a great stay at Banks, for a very reasonable price. I can't comment on the other rooms, but the junior suite is definately recommended!

Room Tip: The junior suite is very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We chose this hotel on a whim and were delighted with it. It was easy to find and in a very convenient location. The front desk staff were pleasant. We were given glasses of champagne on arrival. Our room was small but very chic. The shower was lovely. Our room was quiet and the bed and linens were terrific. They have a daily happy hour that includes some terrific finger foods and drinks. Needless to say, we didn't have to go to dinner that evening. The dining room was very nice. My only complaint about this hotel was that one of the girls at the desk gave us some crappy advice about boat tours rather than just tell us she didn't know. Other than that, we were very delighted with this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We look a less expensive room and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#22 of 72 in Antwerp
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#25 of 72 in Antwerp
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#8 of 72 in Antwerp
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#24 of 72 in Antwerp
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Sandt
Hotel 't Sandt
#15 of 72 in Antwerp
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Hotel

Property: Banks Hotel
Address: Steenhouwersvest 55, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BANKS, a wonderful hotel where you can find a Daytime Café and a Lazy Lounge. Located right in the middle of the most fashionable area in town. You will be charmed by the original and modern look of its interior design. Wood, glass and concrete were melted together to enhance a harmonious mix of design and tradition. The furniture has been selected with the utmost care and is completed by their owners creations. A display of exhibitions by young artists decorate the walls. The result is fresh, bright and invigorating. Lounge next to the open fire place or a stroll straight into town? Always feel welcome at BANKS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Banks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing