We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice & hip, but small hotel.”
Review of Banks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banks Hotel
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Banks Hotel has a nice location, friendly staff and pretty design. When we arrived, we got free drinks at the bar and tapas, which was very nice.
The rooms have nice design, but are quiet small (the bathroom was so small, mini shower) and there is no fridge (I always like to have a fridge, especially because we got a bottle of champagne at our arrival, but had nothing to keep it cool in).
The breakfast was nice. There is no buffet, so they just bring you a plate with everything on it, but it was delicious!
Nice and hip hotel, but the bathroom was too small for me, and some essential stuff were missing, in my opinion.

Room Tip: we asked for a corner room, which was a bit bigger than the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

The best is the location. Nice atmosphere and the wellcome drinks. The bedroom was small but ok and cleaned. It's perfect for a short staying.
The service was very helpful.
The hall is very nicely decorated

Room Tip: Make sure you get a double bed¡¡¡
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I experienced the same poor service and quality as other reviewers - the rooms lack style and basic amenities, like double glazed windows to block out the street noise in the "superior" rooms, there are no in-room safes or coffee/tea service, the towels have seen better days and my room had a corner of the bathroom done up in silver electrical tape. Pushing the mediocrity into the insane, I returned from dinner one night at around 11:30, and my room key didn't work. Not a problem in most hotels, however at Banks, reception goes off line at 8 or 9 pm and there is no way to contact the night porter except by cell phone (there is a number taped to the door). Fortunately, my dinner companion came with me to use the toilet, and she was able to call. The night porter told me not to talk to him, talk to his boss, and doesn't everyone have a cell phone? The staff the next day were more sympathetic, but weren't jumping up to do much about it, and they also chastised me for not super gluing my cell phone to my chest.
Oh, and at 0830 on a Sunday morning, there was no one around who could print my bill.
The afternoon happy hour and nice lounge would indeed be a differentiator, if they got the basic hotel stuff right. If you still insist on staying at Banks, skip the pricey and uninspiring "healthy" breakfast.
I was also a bit put off by the up front billing, but I can see why now with the minimalist reception service and I would have tried to check out early if I was staying longer than 2 nights.
I wouldn't recommend Banks to anyone and wish that I had read the other reviewer comments before I booked - they are spot on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Super location but this hotel does not quite cut it. It wants to be a boutique hotel and the design does suggest it is, but it falls short in many respects.
Services are at best mediocre; staff is nice/pleasant but it is run in a rather disorganised way which left me waiting at the reception (desk) for minutes .....before I had to walk in to the breakfast room to find someone.
Also, I had booked and paid for breakfast (late, at checkin) but apparently their system was set up in such a way that the breakfast crew could not easily see that I had in fact paid. So I was 'refused' breakfast despite my 'let me just eat my breakfast already, wilst you sort out your system issues'.

We booked a suite as we had read that other rooms were 11m2 with an open shower. That suite was OK in size ....but not much bigger than I would expect any normal room to be. It also did not have a real feel of 'luxury'; ceilings that I could touch (I'm 6foot); cheap thin towels, basic basic beds. A bottle of cava does not make up for that.

Shower was lovely with lots of waterpressure.

Add quite a lot of noise from other rooms, unusual noise from the drains and a lot of noise from the street and you get a far from perfect experience.
Would I sleep there again? Sure as hotels can get far worse ...but I simply would not pay the prices asked. This hotel is charging rates for a luxury boutique hotel which it just is not. .... on any level ....... including -come to think of it- their nice trendy design .......as I still have to find the first REAL design classic in this hotel (like the 'arco' by Castiglione).

Room Tip: If you want less noise perhaps ask for a room that is top floor and does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dekdroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Pro's:
- location
- reception with cava and appetizers
- bed

Con's:
- small rooms
- too expensive for what you get
- bathroom is a 'wet room', not convenient, water everywhere
- did not like the atmosphere of the room, although I love modern hotels the room we had had a basement feel, dark, ...

not a bad choice, but there are better choices in Antwerp

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

During a business trip, I stayed in this hotel for just two days and it was really an awesome experience. I loved every bit of my stay. Décor of the building is unique and rooms are well appointed. All the luxurious amenities needed for a great stay were there. The hospitality of all staff goes beyond description. They all are very polite and caring. They really helped us a lot. Food was amazing and I tried all the meals. Coffee served in the late night hours was,really mind blowing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Received a warm welcome with cold cava on our arrival for a 3 night stay, the rooms were clean and modern, comfy bed, daily room service. The free drinks and nibbles in the afternoon, situated in the chilled out, funky hotel bar / lobby is a lovely touch. The reception was closed after c.18:00hrs so access was via a side security door, not a problem but sometimes better to have the personal touch and a human guarding the hotel! Although pricier than some of the cheaper hotels in the old town, it's worth the extra cost, especially if you make the most of the complimentary drinks and nibbles. We will stay again on next years visit to Antwerp.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lefunkymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#15 of 73 in Antwerp
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#23 of 73 in Antwerp
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#27 of 73 in Antwerp
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.8 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#7 of 73 in Antwerp
838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Witte Lelie Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Hotel

Address: Steenhouwersvest 55, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: £79 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BANKS, a wonderful hotel where you can find a Daytime Café and a Lazy Lounge. Located right in the middle of the most fashionable area in town. You will be charmed by the original and modern look of its interior design. Wood, glass and concrete were melted together to enhance a harmonious mix of design and tradition. The furniture has been selected with the utmost care and is completed by their owners creations. A display of exhibitions by young artists decorate the walls. The result is fresh, bright and invigorating. Lounge next to the open fire place or a stroll straight into town? Always feel welcome at BANKS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Banks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing