We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location + design + friendlyness”
Review of Banks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banks Hotel
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

very good experience !! rooms are small but well designed so you don t feel it that much, service is really nice and friendly,
free drinks + tapas every evening in a very cosy loby ! all for 120€ !! in the best location for anvers !! perfect for young couple wanting to enjoy the city, with a trendy twist !

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FabGaudriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Banks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

I gave the Banks a second chance and was not disappointed. The key is to request an executive room. It is definitely worth the extra 20 euros a night. The hotel is centrally located. Service is OK, though the one person taking care of everything seems a little overwhelmed at times.
The executive room was spacious (by Antwerp standards), modern, the bed was comfortable.
The only negative if any is the size of the TV. I will definitely stay at the Banks again next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mannyb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel is excellently located between the North and South part of Antwerp. The standard room is small and basic, with minimal privacy, but sporting some nice design touches (black & white furniture, with one colourful carpet -- at least in our room, 402) and a fine bed. Breakfast is attractively served on a single plate, coffee & tea is self service. The bonus is that drinks and tapas (between 16.00 and 20.00 hrs) are included in the price. The lobby, decorated with photographs, is a good place for lounging; in winter, it boasts the attraction of a fakey but convincing hearth.

As indicated in other reviews, the reception closes at 20.30, so you need to let yourself in with a key card. There is an elevator.

If you don't expect luxury and only need your room to sleep in, this hotel is definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

the room is basic, but comfortable enough
staff is very attentive and service-minded
the area is the nicest place in Antwerp
the room is basic, but comfortable enough
staff is very attentive and service-minded
the area is the nicest place in Antwerp

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Banks Hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to the restaurants, shops and attraction. The reception area is very modern with a great bar areas, where drinks and snacks are served every evening, which is a lovely touch.

The staff are friendly but the reception is not 24hours.

The rooms are spacious and very modern but the bathrooms are only separated by a glass wall and sheer curtain which is little awkward when travelling with others. Our room also did not have a door to even close off the bathroom (unlike our friends) so there is absolutely no privacy.

Great hotel in a brilliant location but just be warned about the lack of privacy

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britney_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed here for three nights over summer. It has a great location and upon entering the lobby you are filled with a night hope that this could be great hotel...but it turns out to be an OK hotel nothing special.

It tries to deliver on a Mama Shelter-esque vibe and aesthetic but unfortunately does not quite hit the mark. It is more of a 'posh' youth hostel.

The rooms are cold (in both senses of the word) and the spartan furniture does not deliver on the cool minimal look that I presume was the goal. The bathrooms/toilets are separated from the main room with frosted glass, which means minimal privacy.

The bed was comfortable so once under the duvet a good night's sleep in a good location is to be had.

OK as a place to get a night or two's sleep in the city but not one to plan a longer stay in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooterkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel is in a very quiet neighbourhood but at a very good location - 5 minutes walking from the The Cathedral of the Lady.

It is mainly done in white and orange with a very minimal feel in the rooms. The room had a comfortable double bed, seating couch, a decent size TV, a big lamp, small table, hair dryer, basic toiletries, had enough space to open 2 large suitcases. Also had a small balcony which was nice in good weather. The bathroom had a huge head shower and a handheld shower. The wash basin was outside the bathroom - that is, in the room. The bathroom essentially was a glass walled area. I was alone in the room so it was fine. The room area and the bathroom area could be separated with long curtains. Had basic cupboards with few racks and hangers and a sliding door. Enough plug points in the room for a short stay.Rooms lacked things like kettle, tissue box etc.

Rooms and the lobby was kept impeccably clean and housekeeping maintained the room well. The hotel lobby is interestingly done and is welcoming. The lady at the reception had kept ready our access keys when we arrived. It was quite nice and efficient! Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Did not try the breakfast. Had it at the Le Pain Quotidien just opposite the Hotel and it was very good.

The reception is closed from 7PM to 7AM and they provide an access card for automatic door entry. So you need to time yourself if you need anything. My room phone line was not working and I went downstairs to check at the reception but found no one. We were leaving everyday before 7AM and coming after 7PM so I was not able to get it fixed. However, next night when I reached the hotel, there was a lady who came up and fixed it. She was also very helpful in booking our airport taxi etc.

I do not mind staying here again. In fact, we stayed here on a friend's suggestion who has stayed here twice.

Room Tip: choose rooms on higher floors and enjoy the balcony during good weather
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelogger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#23 of 72 in Antwerp
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#16 of 72 in Antwerp
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#22 of 72 in Antwerp
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Sandt
Hotel 't Sandt
#14 of 72 in Antwerp
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Hotel

Address: Steenhouwersvest 55, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: £80 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BANKS, a wonderful hotel where you can find a Daytime Café and a Lazy Lounge. Located right in the middle of the most fashionable area in town. You will be charmed by the original and modern look of its interior design. Wood, glass and concrete were melted together to enhance a harmonious mix of design and tradition. The furniture has been selected with the utmost care and is completed by their owners creations. A display of exhibitions by young artists decorate the walls. The result is fresh, bright and invigorating. Lounge next to the open fire place or a stroll straight into town? Always feel welcome at BANKS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Banks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing