We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by appearances”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Docklands
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed 6 November 2012

A weekend stay with a mix of business and pleasure. Wasn't sure what to expect never having:
a: Stayed in Belgium before or
b: Stayed in a Best Western before.
Going by the UK adverts, this experience was somewhat different to UK expectations. Turned up in what looked like a bit of a, dare I use the term, dodgy area and there was the hotel nestled amid the cobbled streets. The hotel, once through the front doors, is a very modern, clean, efficient and friendly place to stay. Not modelled on the UK 'personality' basis, the staff (there are only a couple of them about) were friendly and efficient and willing to help with any queries.
The double room was on the 5th floor and, offered an interesting view from its balcony, across the skyline especially at night. The room was clean, comfortable and had a lovely en suite shower/toilet. As is the 'continental way' there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room but, a very quick dash, just to the end of the corridor, was rewarded by a nice cup of coffeee from the free machine situated there.
Breakfast - substantial with a good selection of food and drink. My only regret was that a nice restaurant like that should have been able to offer food at night possibly?
Anyway, the only thing I could criticise about the hotel was the bewildering roadworks surrounding the access routes nearby - illegal U Turns seemed to be 'de rigeur' in accessing this little haven in the metropolis of Antwerp. Give it a try, its definately worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms which have balconies for those of you who smoke - ashtrays are provided and it saves a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A3B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

I picked this hotel because we were visitng clients in the area and the price was right. I must say, however, that this was one of the most interesting hotels at which I have ever stayed. I came to Antwerp from the Brussels Airport by the train service recently extended to the airport. It is a very convenient way to reach all points in Belgium once arriving. Since this was my first time to Antwerp city center, I found the train station to make a nice first impression. I was able to get a taxi and the driver knew the hotel. it was late at night when we arrived, however, and the area was somewhat disconcerting. It is an old warehouse district that seemed to have only sparse activity at night. Any number of horror movies come to mind when you step out of the cab as it was a bit forboding. But when you stop to realize where you are (in a city in Europe, not Chicago, Miami or Detroit), as creepy as it might feel, you know in your mind nothing is likely to happen. The taxi driver walked me to the front to give me some instructions. It turned out that the lobby was closed. There is a number you have to call get instructions to unlock the box with your key (make sure you have your mobile phone with you as there was no phone outside!). It was a bit convoluted but the system worked. I got my key and made it to my room even if check-in felt a little awkwardly skewed toward self-service compared to the norm. It was an interesting hotel as it was readily apparent it was a reonvated warehouse of some sort. The room was a bit different with high ceilings, a small work area and a very small bathroom. I had a corner room so there were windows on two sides making it seem less claustrophobic. It was definitely one of the smallest hotel rooms I have ever had. In spite of no one being at the desk, I was able to receive a call from home, which was a defiinite positive. The bed was comfortable and I was able to get a good night's sleep. The morning breakfast was not elaborate but better than I was expecting. The person at the front desk in the morning was very friendly, helpful and checked me out very quickly and efficiently. My colleague coming from Breda, Netherlands found the hotel without any problem and managed to find parking long enough to meet me in the lobby when picking me up the next morning. I could imagine parking to be a general difficulty in this area. As I mentioned, the price on the hotel made it well worth the stay as it was a good value. There were not many amenities but it was indeed comfortable and adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The Best Western Hotel Docklands is a modern, pretty well maintained hotel in Antwerp. The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern. The breakfast buffet is good. Also the employees of the hotel are friendly, helpful and always servicing the guests.

All in all a good value for the money at this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I stayed again in this hotel during my visit to Antwerp. It is very conveniently located close to restaurants and bars, about 15 minutes walk from the center of the city. Parking is free next to the hotel. Staff is friendly and efficient, rooms and bathrooms are clean and comfortable. There is no bath, which is no problem for me as I only use the shower anyway.
I had a room on the 5th floor, which also comes with a roofterrace, nice to sit outside in the sun enjoying a drink.
Breakfast is plentiful and good.
There are many good restaurants close by, and bars and terraces for an after-dinner drink. The only thing missing in this hotel is a bar, but drinks can be bought from the reception.
A good hotel for a business visit to Antwerp!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel has no airco and that's a problem in summer. It's hotter inside than outside. Temperature aside, the hotel is great. Impressive breakfast. Nice rooms, Modern, clean.
The locations is great with public transport nearby and close to city center. Free parking.
Walk to MAS and watch Antwerp from the roof top.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on a top floor in summer. No airco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I've stayed in this hotel for 1 night while on business trip and in general the hotel is just fine- the rooms are basic but neat, beds are good and breakfast simply decent. Unfortunately I've stayed there during the summer period and that day temperature reached over 25 degrees. None of the rooms has air-conditioning which made sleep at night simply impossible. If you open the window the street is quite noise since early in the morning. Price of the hotel is very attractive and usually the temperatures are not that high in Antwerp but still the lack of air-conditioning is a big con for this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Just stayed last Saturday, Aweful. Paid €140 (all in).
(-)
Takes ages to check-in, key card didn´t work, unhelpful reception, internet code didn´t work. Breakfast okay but very basic. Parking is on the street. Staff attitude is terrible.
(+)
Nice large room. Interesting area and good base for cycle touring Antwerpen.

Avoid this hotel, forget that it is a ´chain´ hotel and get something in town. Unfortunately Antwerp isn´t really attuned to good service at its hotels!

Room Tip: Don´t use this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BierMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North
2.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Antwerpen Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
B-aparthotel Moretus
B-aparthotel Moretus
#46 of 73 in Antwerp
123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antwerp Inn hotel
Antwerp Inn hotel
#44 of 73 in Antwerp
20 reviews
1.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#17 of 73 in Antwerp
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Docklands

Address: Kempischdok-Westkaai 84-90, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range: £70 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the northern part of Antwerp, Hotel Docklands offers modern rooms 3 km from the historical centre with the Town Square and City Hall. It offers free WiFi. Londenstraat Tram Stop gives guests direct access to the centre at 100 m from the hotel. The rooms at Best Western Hotel Docklands all feature a flat-screen TV, a telephone and a desk. Some of the rooms come with harbour views. Each room has a private bathroom with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Tea, chocolate milk and coffee are offered free of charge on each floor. Guests can enjoy an extensive buffet breakfast daily or make use of the packed lunch service when going sightseeing for the day. Public transport is available at 100 m from Best Western Docklands, offering easy access to Antwerp Zoo, Central Station and the centre. The MAS museum is less than a 10-minute walk away. Antwerp District is a great choice for travellers interested in beer, restaurants and museums. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing