We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice and client friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Ranked #51 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice and client friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

very friendly staff, nice and clean trendy hotel in a nice area close to many restaurants in Zurenberg. rooms are stylish designed will local art and modern lay out.
It's again good to back in this hotel. I stayed here before, and will do so in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear,

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Sir Plantin and sharing your lovely feedback on TripAdvisor.

To stay informed about our various promotional offers, we propose you to check our website and our reservation service stays at your disposal for any further information.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at the Sir Plantin on your next stay in Antwerp.

Best Regards

VWim Van Respaille (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    345
    293
    137
    60
See reviews for
71
445
74
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel in the south-east of Antwerpen has some problems. The rooms are very dark, it is not possible to read a book. Also for the bath room, to dark to shave wet. On sunday morning there were a lot of guests, and there was one person in the breakfast room to clean the tables for other people who wants to eat.

Room Tip: It is better to park your car in the street behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huub50060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor,
We have follow up your comments concerning the breakfast and would like to apologize for the fact there was a staff shortage on that particular day.

We hope you will give us the chance to prove you that comments like yours are taken seriously and looking forward to welcome you back at the SIr Plantin Hotel Antwerp.

Best Regards,

Wim Van Respaille (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Both the lobby and our room were spacious and clean with "Flemish-Mod" decor. It was great fun! We appreciated the coffee to go and found the staff helpful. We had a bit of difficulty finding the hotel, so check the location carefully, but you can walk from the train station with luggage in 10-12 minutes. The location was good for walking and picking up the trams. The Antwerp train station is not to miss. What a wonderful way to arrive in Antwerp! All-in-all this is a good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naturelover60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Dear, Many thanks for your recent stay & sharing your valuable comments on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased you did have a most enjoyable stay and are looking forward to welcoming you again. Once again many thanks & best regards, Wim Van Respaille (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

This hotel is very weird... There is à hole in the bathroom door, there were hairs in the bathtub which they came to clean after I asked, i had the door knob of the garage in my hands, broken as well, the internet doesn't work properly.

The Great thing is the bed. It really sleeps super well!!! And the bed doesn't make any noice! And the personnel is very friendly

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Many thanks for your recent stay at the Sir Plantin. I'm pleased you find our team very friendly and would like to apologize about the fact your room wasn't cleaned and double checked following our quality standards. We have fully outsourced the housekeeping to a most reputable international company (ISS) and as each serviced room must be double checked by a ISS supervisor, I'm really astonished this mistake could happen.
Usually our highspeed Fibernet Wifi operates very well, so I will definitely follow up how come your connection wasn't good as usual. The door will be replaced asap.
I hope you give us a new change to prove we can offer great value for money.
Kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

Utrecht
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

A walk to the city center is an option although we only did it once. We took the tram/taxi the other times. The walk takes about 20 minutes (1,5 km) to reach Antwerp Central Station and 40 minutes (3 km) to reach the Grote Markt (center of old Antwerp)
Hotel is very clean/new and modern. Bathtub and bathroom isn't very big but sufficient.
Parking in the garage seems to be very limited due to amount of spaces. 15 euro a person breakfast is very good. Good price for entire package (247 euros for friday till sunday including breakfast for 2).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ase78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay & sharing your nice feedback !
I'm pleased you have enjoyed your stay...Would also like to recommend you to visit the most charming & vibrant Dageraadplaats at very close walking distance of our hotel during your next visit.
Look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

The Sir Plantin is a pretty hip hotel that focuses on good design, nice staff, and some good perks. The rooms are a decent size, with big bathroom with a deep soaking tub, huge beds. The whole hotel has a fun design to it. The staff wear suit and tie, and are super-friendly and accommodating. There's free wi-fi, good tv selection, a free coffee machine in the lobby that makes lattes, mochas, etc, and croissants in the morning. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the center of Antwerp, and the same distance from Central Station. It's in a good neighborhood with a grocery store very close.

Room Tip: My room faced a back courtyard and low building, instead of facing the busy street out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timpitts57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay & sharing your valuable feedback !
Obviously also very pleased you have enjoyed your stay & looking forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We spend one night in Antwerpen in August, it's a little difficult to get into the parking garage but the Hotel is cool from design and interior. Hosts were friendly and accommodating, The room was clean and had all comforts that we needed. Internet was a bit spotty on the wireless but it worked here and there. What I didn't like was that the personnel was smoking in the garage. I am from holland and I know people smoke more then here in the US but I thin that was not nice. Other then that the stay was nice and Antwerpen is still a great city I love. I live here years ago.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MG67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Many thanks for sharing your most valuable comments. Happy you did enjoy your stay and liked our hotel & services. I do agree that our staff should not smoke in the garage and I will personally do some spot checks to avoid this happening again. The (complimentary) high-speed Wifi Internet (Fibernet) is working fine again after some temporary technical problems last week. Look forward to welcoming you again !
Once again many thanks & kind regards, Wim Van Respaille (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.7 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#12 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
B-aparthotel Moretus
B-aparthotel Moretus
#32 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
#34 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eden Antwerp
Eden Antwerp
#27 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp

Property: TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Address: Plantin en Moretuslei 136 | 2018, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, where history meets a trendy lifestyle.TRYP Antwerp Hotel invites you to discover its world of charm, style and luxury. Our ideal location, in the centre of Antwerp, Belgium, between the Central Station and the motorway around Antwerp, gives you easy downtown access. TRYP Antwerp Hotel is the place to be to enjoy many restaurants in the charming district of Zurenborg and its magnificent “Belle Epoque” architecture.Best location in downtown Antwerp. Located in downtown Antwerp, between the Central Station and the motorway encircling the city Surrounded by the beautiful squares, restaurants, bars and shopping opportunities of Zurenborg, Antwerp’s famed Art Nouveau District Just 700 metres from the Central Station and 2 kilometres from the historical city centre 2.5 kilometres from Antwerp Airport Discover boutique luxury and seductive style in the heart of downtown Antwerp Belgium. The TRYP Antwerp Hotel would be honoured to welcome you as its esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing