We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent price quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Ranked #51 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Level Contributor
149 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent price quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The very good
1. Nice lobby - friendly staff
2. Good bed - good shower
3. In house car park - direct access from the hotel (payable 20Eur/night)
4. Excellent supermarket (Delhaize) within 50 meters.
5. Restaurants and Breakfast cafes (Dageraadplaats) within 10 minutes wlaking
6. Price of room only.
The good
1. Rooms are clean and descent but small.
2. Rooms on the back side are quiet, avoid the street view rooms (very busy street).
3. Location - possible to walk to the city centre in 25 mins
The less good
1. Car park charged at 20 Eur per night.
2. Breakfast charged at 15Eur per person.
3. I had a small problem with the TV - the reception told me someone will assist "immediately". i am still waiting for that assistance.
All by all a very descent and affordable hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Choos the rooms on the back side. Floors 4 and up. Avoid street rooms. Take your breakfast (if no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rybremnazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear,

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay at the Sir Plantin Hotel.
It is fair and frank, the way we appreciate them!
I will ensure that your positive comments are passed on to all concerned. This will prove very motivating.
In turn, your critique will be taken seriously and reviewed with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Kind regards,

WIM Van Respaille - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    345
    293
    137
    60
See reviews for
71
445
74
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Looking back, I'm a bit surprised about the positive reviews. Our room on the fifth floor was noisy (traffic!), small and too warm. Small because the space left between the foot end of the bed and the wall would have been just enough to pass without the TV, but with the flat screen mounted, you could not pass inattentively. The shower was so small that you had too choose between a curtain sticked to your body or a wet floor. The breakfast was really very mediocre (no milk available, not much choice and for the rest relatively cheap products) and certainly not worth the 15 Euro's. The breakfast room was also not very intimate.
Finally, I really don't understand why hotels make it so difficult to get on their wifi. You have to go through a log-on with a long username and long password. Why not a password only?! The WiFi was free BTW, the hotel located close to both center and ring and the personnel very friendly, but that didn't make up.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kn0kki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for two nights on our recent trip to Antwerp. It is located away from the city centre but close to the interesting Zurenborg area and two other residential areas with a good selection of bars and restaurants nearby. Town was a shortish walk or quick tram ride away so it didn't feel too far out. The staff were all very friendly and, whilst I agree with other reviewers that some of rooms and common areas look tired, for the price we paid it offered excellent value especially with the free hot drinks in the lobby and water in the minibar.

Room Tip: It is on a busy road so you may get disturbed by traffic if you sleep at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank userid_unavailable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tooting, London, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here for one night, and I am glad we didn't stay longer.
The hotel is quite funky, but even though it is fairly new it looks quite old in places. In our room (310) there were water stains down the walls, both by the bed and by the interconnecting door. Don't know where it came from, but it didn't look good. The walls were also stained and quite a lot of the walls had chipped paint.
The room is extremely noisy at night as it was facing the front of the building. It felt like we were sleeping on a motorway!
The "free" minibar consisted of one small beer, one small fizzy orange and 4 small bottles of water - so don't think you get wine and spirits in it!
The shower is really annoying as you have no room to move as it has been placed at the narrow bit of the bath and not at the end, but it was powerful which was a plus.
If it wasn't for the brilliant deal we got on the price we would have stayed elsewhere, and I honestly don't think we will be returning as it just isn't worth more than what we paid and that sort of deal is not a one you come across very often.

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the hotel if you want to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Was there for 4 nights. Everything was fine and design of the property is awesome! The only problem for us was that the lobby bar is closed after midnight already.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IOPAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear,

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Sir Plantin and sharing your great feedback on TripAdvisor.

It's always a great pleasure for the Sir Plantin team if our esteemed guests appreciate their stay with us.

Once again many thanks & kind regards,

Wim Van Respaille - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I recently come back from a three night stay at the St Plantin with my girlfriend. The hotel is situated just outside the city centre on an incredibly unattractive main road! It is a 15 minute walk from Central Station and a to get into the historic city centre it is best to get a tram (last one back to the hotel is 12.30!). Whilst this could put a lot of people off the hotel it is a 5 minute walk away from the beautiful area of Zurenborg which has some cracking restaurants.

The hotel itself is incredibly funky. The reception area is decked out in black marble and has free hot drinks 24 hours a day and little croissants for free in the mornings, nice touch. Our check in was efficient if not overly friendly and we were shown to our room on the third floor. The rooms themselves are lovely, decorated to a high standard and with an immensely comfortable King Size bed. I found the bathrooms incredibly functionable and the pressure of the shower was awesome. A big deal was made about the free mini bar in the room. Whilst it sounds a dream the mini bar consisted of a beer (sad considering they knew two of us were in the room), a bottle of orange and two bottles of water.

The real reason the Sir Plantin only receives a 3/5 is due to the noise of the traffic. Our first night was horribly interrupted by trucks hurtling past and people shouting outside the hotel. When we brought this to the attention of the reception they brusquely said that they were fully booked and would see if they could move us the day after. I'm sure if we were prepared to pay the extra 20 euros for an upgraded room we could have moved! They eventually moved us after a sleepless night which soured our stay a little.

Some decent double glazing away from a brilliant find.

Room Tip: Stay at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feldy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear,

Many thanks for staying at the Sir Plantin. I'm pleased you were impressed with the 'look & feel' of our hotel. Our Plus Rooms (an upgrade cost only 20 € per night, whilst these rooms are offering a larger bathroom, additional guest supplies, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking station + VIP gift) are indeed located on the back of the hotel, but at the day of request all rooms on the back, thus including our Plus Rooms were all fully booked.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.

Always at your service !

Kind regards,

Wim Van Respaille - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Sir Plantin hotel is excellent. The rooms are very contempary, funky and instyle and yet very cosy. Our kingsize bed was heavenly. Great bathroom. Some people say that the room are small, but I think that they contained everything you need. We had a room at the backside of the hotel so we did not have any traffic disturbance. A real winner.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElDutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Many thanks for the fantastic feedback...we strive to offer great value for money at all times. Look very much forward to welcoming you back in not so distant future.
Kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille - G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.7 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#11 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
B-aparthotel Moretus
B-aparthotel Moretus
#32 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
Leonardo Hotel Antwerpen
#34 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eden Antwerp
Eden Antwerp
#27 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp

Property: TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Address: Plantin en Moretuslei 136 | 2018, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, where history meets a trendy lifestyle.TRYP Antwerp Hotel invites you to discover its world of charm, style and luxury. Our ideal location, in the centre of Antwerp, Belgium, between the Central Station and the motorway around Antwerp, gives you easy downtown access. TRYP Antwerp Hotel is the place to be to enjoy many restaurants in the charming district of Zurenborg and its magnificent “Belle Epoque” architecture.Best location in downtown Antwerp. Located in downtown Antwerp, between the Central Station and the motorway encircling the city Surrounded by the beautiful squares, restaurants, bars and shopping opportunities of Zurenborg, Antwerp’s famed Art Nouveau District Just 700 metres from the Central Station and 2 kilometres from the historical city centre 2.5 kilometres from Antwerp Airport Discover boutique luxury and seductive style in the heart of downtown Antwerp Belgium. The TRYP Antwerp Hotel would be honoured to welcome you as its esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing