We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Residentie Elzenveld
Ranked #8 of 112 Antwerp B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights from 1st Jan to 3rd Jan. The hotel was very quiet which was a welcome break after partying in Amsterdam on New Year's Eve! Beautiful buildings and setting and only a 10 min walk into centre.
It does feel a little more like a conference centre than a hotel and despite the loevly old building, inside it felt quite impersonal and business like, certainly on the ground floor. There was only a small communal area and no bar.
We had a single and 'comfort' double room for our party - the single room was small but recently refurbished and of a good standard, our room was very large and though pleasant I think needed a little updating.
Breakfast was lovely - buffet but scrambled eggs etc on request.
Overall, good location, a change from a 'normal' hotel but could do with a bit more 'warmth' in the reception/communal areas.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRLeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

This place is centrally located in a big old complex, probably dating from the middle ages. There is a congress centre, and probably more facilities and the accommodation is part of it. The building is very atmospheric. The receptionist was very friendly. I had a single room which was good size, but otherwise unremarkable. It was certainly quiet. Breakfast was served from the buffet, with eggs to order. Location is relatively central with a good choice of bars and restaurants around, and also a late night shop. My bicycle could go into a storage room. Free WiFi was available but did not work in my room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpenbewohner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Spent four nights in this very old but well kept hotel. Property is a restored 11th century monastery which in modern times is a hotel and conference center. We had a very clean room which overlooked a very quite and serene courtyard. This place is chock full of history and we were very happy to stay here. The breakfast buffet was included in our room rate and was well served and quite sufficient for our tastes, and the common area had coffee and tea available. The hotel lack some modern amenities but therein lies its runic charm. The staff was extraordinarily helpful but very laid back. We also loved spending meditative time in the courtyard which had comfortable tables and chairs. If you want an off the beaten track, non-touristy hotel that is still very close to the city center this is worth a try.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zingland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This is a lovely hotel in a very unique historical setting. It was one of the major highlights of my stay in Belgium. I'm wary of writing too good a review, lest it get overrun with tourists who won't appreciate it.

The staff were excellent - helpful and friendly. The breakfast is just right: freshly squeezed orange juice and they will even cook an egg to order. (I could live without the pop music in the breakfast room, however, as it disturbs the overall tranquility of the hotel. But that's a minor issue.)

The rooms have all been recently renovated. The sheets were crisp. The bathroom was immaculate. (I felt guilty messing it up!) Looking out your window into the courtyard sculpture garden, you would never know that you are in the heart of a major city.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelissaDennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Very near the main attractions. Had difficulty finding it at first because the name of the hotel is not found outside or along the street. You have to walk through a courtyard to get access to the hotel. The locals are not aware that the hotel exist. However, once you get past that minor hitch, everything would be great.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyemdManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

The hotel is away from the main tourist area, and a fair distance (a 20-minute walk) from the main railway station, but the disadvantages are made up for by the character of the place. You approach it through a walled garden as if entering a monastery or ancient University quadrangle. Very peaceful. Once inside, the modern refurbishment has been done sympathetically and unostentatiously.

My room was a small even for a single, but the decor was elegant and the room quiet and comfortable. Breakfast is in a light & airy pair of rooms, and they've gone for quality rather than quantity in the buffet (though of course you an go back for seconds as much as you like). Een the coffee is very good - not something that's usually true of buffet breakfasts.

Pricey, but par for the course in Belgium, and good value.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trainsifpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

This is truly one of the nicest hotels I ever stayed in: the room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a great view over the garden of the old monastry. Staff were friendly and we enjoyed a nice breakfast listening to classical music. The town center can be reached by tram or by walking, in just a few minutes. The Central Station is 15 minutes walking.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidoffski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.7 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.5 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#17 of 73 in Antwerp
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#23 of 73 in Antwerp
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 73 in Antwerp
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#7 of 73 in Antwerp
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residentie Elzenveld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residentie Elzenveld

Address: Lange Gasthuisstraat 45, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Price Range: £81 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residentie Elzenveld 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Residentie Elzenveld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing