We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serendipity - **loved** it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Residentie Elzenveld
Ranked #15 of 110 Antwerp B&B and Inns
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Serendipity - **loved** it!”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Elzenveld Hotel is actually based partly in a 16th century monestary and it has a serendipity charm to it - right in the middle of Antwerpen!

There are various types of rooms available and although I normally stay in more economical rooms, you can do yourself the favour to stay in one of the four suites in the actual monastery wing - the wife and I had a wonderful romantic weekend away there a few years ago.

When alone I prefer the VIP room which has a business approach with desk, free internet, etc. The room is well decorated, modern and with very nice bathroom. The room was clean and fresh when I arrived.

The setting of the hotel is not your normal hotel approach and has a B&B feel to it, but I loved it! The tranquil central garden was also very nice. I personally think that this hotel may not be for everyone - it does not look like a normal hotel and you will love it if you look for something different or creative.

I will however definitely use Elzenveld in Antwerpen again!

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms with a view to the central garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    84
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
16
51
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Hotel (do not ask me why it is under B&B) is very well located in a central area of Antwerp. Not too far away from the center (10-15 min.) The botanical garden is some steps away, the central park some minutes away and the Railway station also 10-15 min. away. It has two entries, on on the gasthuisstraat (guest haus street because originally was Guest house, later more). the other on the Hospital (leopold-straat) with parking posibility. As in every modern city parking is a hassle but if you arrive with your car, do not worry there is a parking house close enoung and only for 7 € /day, ask at the reception they will give you a map.

The Hotel and conference center is located in a former Cloister where the nuns which took care of the sick used to live (we are talking 1500's). There is a marvelous Chappel (1622) with a barock pipe organ, only ask at the reception and they will let you in. Of course the whole complex has been renovated but the exteriors are so marvelous, the garden is simply like a post cart idyll (but some times there are some annoying moskitos).

The room (a suite?) had a nice living room with sofas, a desk, a tube TV and a frige (if you need something to fill buy outside or ask in the reception). There is a big bathroom with WC and a bath Tub on a second floor (above the bath) there is a Queen size bed (in reality two single bed). Without the Air Conditioner I think the room would have been too hot because we were at the second (an last floor); I was very happy that the A/C worked too. The bed was Ok, pillows also OK. The internet connection worked well (we did not used extensively).
>>The first warning: to get there you need to climb a steep spiral ladder so if you are not sure on your feets or have vertigo be sure to mention it, perhaps they have other rooms.
>>The second warning: the railing dividing the living room and the second floor is low and not safe for small children.
>>The third warning: yes the moskitos sometimes visit you, the Hotel included the typical raid insecticide in the room.
The breakfast was very good and of excellent quality. It is not as big but everything taste good. A nice coffee machine coupled with an excellent service left no open wishes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

WARNING! Do not stay in this hotel unless you first receive a confirmatory letter or email confirming your booking, otherwise you may experience what happened to me and a friend when we stayed at the hotel on 14th April 2012.

On 5th April, I telephoned the hotel directly and booked rooms (at €76 each) and then sent an email confirming the booking. They did not confirm the booking (although they said on the phone that they would) and I foolishly forgot to chase up the confirmation they promised.

When we checked-in at the hotel on 14th April, their receptionist said they had never received my booking or email and said they only had available two much more expensive rooms on a take-it-or-leave-it-basis. As it was late in the evening we had no option but to commit ourselves to the greater expenditure. Interestingly, the following morning when we were checking out, there was a gentleman who had made a previous booking for himself and his wife and he had emailed the hotel in good time beforehand to say that unfortunately his wife was not able to attend with him. The hotel denied that they had received the email and made him pay for his wife as well!

Upon returning to the UK, I emailed the hotel twice asking for an explanation but again I did not receive any response: so I took this matter up with the Antwerp Tourist Board and they followed this up with various emails to the Hotel Elzenveld but they also did not receive any reply!

As far as the hotel itself is concerned, it is well situated and has a pleasant garden. The rooms are reasonable but the facilities are minimal. I shall never stay there again due to this bad experience.

D S Baber
Amersham
U.K.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the world
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel. The hotel itself is in a very nice setting, within an old hospital, and next to the botanic gardens. The location is good, it is right next to the theatresplein which is full of market stalls on the weekend, and from here you can follow the pedestrianised shopping streets to the main market square (10 mins). Our room was very spacious, and clean. It is not modern, but instead the decor is in keeping with the style of the hotel and its surrounds. The continental breakfast was good, and served in a modern breakfast room. The hotel is very secure and in a safe area.

Room Tip: We asked for a non smoking floor, with veiws of the garden. We were granted these requests, and sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzgirlontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Have just spent two nights at the Hotel Residentie Elzenveld and can't rate it highly enough! It's not like an average corporate hotel since it is a well-converted 16th century building with great atmosphere and quirky charm. It's simple but absolutely spotless and the staff are friendly, helpful and polite.It does not have some of things some travellers expect such as a bar and pool but there is lots of storage space, a hairdryer and toiletries in the bathroom and the rooms are cosy and warm. The main advantage is the absolute peace and quiet to be found there, even though the hotel is within walking distance of all the sights. This was important to us since Antwerp seems to be a party town with bars and restaurants full to bursting, It was so quiet we thought we were the only guests and it was only at breakfast that we realised that there were lots of other people there. Unusually there were no slamming doors and no plumbing noises and although this place might not suit those who want a lively atmosphere, for us, it was sheer bliss.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purple glaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here twice now. It's a good location, about 5-10 minutes walk from the centre. This conference centre and hotel is in a coverted monastery, and the buildings and grounds have a very peaceful feel. The first time I stayed in a single room - it was very small but had everything I needed. The second time I stayed in a suite, and it was lovely. The room was on two levels, with the bedroom upstairs and living room, small kitchen and bathroom downstairs. The accommodation was very comfortable and the view from the window over the grounds was lovely.

Breakfast was very good - a buffet with eggs to order. Plus a range of teas and coffees to order.

I think the hotel is very well suited to business travel - I probably wouldn't choose it for a romantic trip away. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wapenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COVENTRY
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights from 1st Jan to 3rd Jan. The hotel was very quiet which was a welcome break after partying in Amsterdam on New Year's Eve! Beautiful buildings and setting and only a 10 min walk into centre.
It does feel a little more like a conference centre than a hotel and despite the loevly old building, inside it felt quite impersonal and business like, certainly on the ground floor. There was only a small communal area and no bar.
We had a single and 'comfort' double room for our party - the single room was small but recently refurbished and of a good standard, our room was very large and though pleasant I think needed a little updating.
Breakfast was lovely - buffet but scrambled eggs etc on request.
Overall, good location, a change from a 'normal' hotel but could do with a bit more 'warmth' in the reception/communal areas.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRLeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.5 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 72 in Antwerp
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 72 in Antwerp
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residentie Elzenveld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residentie Elzenveld

Property: Hotel Residentie Elzenveld
Address: Lange Gasthuisstraat 45, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residentie Elzenveld 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Residentie Elzenveld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing