We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peculiar but charming ex-convent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Residentie Elzenveld
Ranked #10 of 111 Antwerp B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Staff are very welcoming and helpful. The place is very well located and the price correct. Just outside there is a nice square where the locals meet for food and drinks, all of it quite nice. Since the Elzenveld was a convent just over 40 years ago, this is a special place. Slightly spooky statutes in the back garden give it a unique atmosphere. Facilities to accommodate conventions, symposiums etc

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Xevi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this nice hotel on May 5th for one night. We found it to be clean, modern, and comfortable. I asked for a room overlooking the gardens when I made my reservation (I read the reviews on here before reserving.). The only downside to this was the mosquitos that came in the open windows. We were bitten to death; the staff didn't realize the mosquitos were already a problem. They came around early this year and, had we known, there is a plug in for your room that repels the mosquitos (just ask for it at the front desk.). Other than that, the bathroom was modern with high end fixtures, all the linens were high quality, and the breakfast was perfect! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The nice man on the staff offered to open up the chapel for us to see; it was an amazingly beautiful and large chapel in what is the oldest hospital in Belgium. I really don't understand those who say this was a cloister or monastery previously. We were told the history and given a booklet about it. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pennywindfield2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Hotel Residentie Elzenveld - This hotel is in a beautiful and historic building with a great location. Enjoy that and do not expect too much more and all will be fine. The room is small and dated, the breakfast is minimal and the staff is not overly friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IBSTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A wonderful hotel in a wonderful place! The atmospheare with the cloister is wonderful. You can feel the priests who walked there years ago :-) It's quit, very cute, the rooms are very comfortable. Everything is very clean. The People working here, from the gardner to the CEO, all are very nice. Thank you very much to the People in the kitchen who every morning brought me sun for breakfast! The hotel is Close to a lot of good places to see in Antwerp. Yes, I recommend it, yes, I'll come next time I'll be in Antwerp!

Room Tip: I had the room 204. Lots of space, view on the front and backyard. Wonderful place during the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulienL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Central quiet location, great breakfast.

We booked a standard room and while the hotel was almost empty got a very small, almost claustrophobic double room (105). Small bathroom, no place to hang towels and with a very tight place on the toilet bowl. Two heating options : off but very cold or on and very hot … nothing in between.
No information at all in the room. Vintage phone set with no hints on how to call the reception.
They seem to change the password every day, so in the morning you could not use wi-fi anymore.

Room Tip: Avoid 105 and rooms next to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is a refreshing change from many soulless business type of hotels. One walks through a gate and a secluded garden passing a chapel to the hotel entrance. It is set in an attractive historical building and does have some old-world charm.

While the bathroom was modern the furniture in our (spacious) room was slightly worn and the upholstery of the armchairs downright shabby.

On the bright side again, we found the reception and breakfast staff helpful and charming and breakfast good.

Another plus point: Right across the street is a very inviting patisserie and tea room with good chocolates, cakes and beverages.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardMainz_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed here for one night only, and was glad of it. I had booked a 1 person room, but do not recommend this. The room was very small and basic. Although they say that the rooms are approximately 12m2, 4m2 of that is probably the bathroom leaving a room with just enough room to place a single bed and a small table. That is why i rated a 2 star for the rooms.

There are no amenities like coffee etc in the room. The rooms are however clean.

Breakfast is served in between 7 and 10 in the morning. A choice of cheese / hams, different types of bread and eggs made to order. So that is fine.

The location is very good, right in the center of Antwerp, but there is no parking so you have to find parking yourself.

The hotel is based in a old cloister, which gives it a great entrance and a nice look and feel. However, somehow it feels that there is much more they can do to the place

Room Tip: do not pick room 104.. very small 1p
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthijsvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.7 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#19 of 73 in Antwerp
520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#2 of 73 in Antwerp
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Theater Hotel
Theater Hotel
#23 of 73 in Antwerp
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residentie Elzenveld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residentie Elzenveld

Address: Lange Gasthuisstraat 45, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Price Range: £82 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residentie Elzenveld 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Residentie Elzenveld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing